Sara Magness

Sara Magness – Editor

Meticulous editor and proofreader, with a decade of freelance and in-house experience.

Overview

From the outside, the publishing process can seem impenetrable. Producing a high-quality book is often a long journey, spanning editing, typesetting, proofreading and printing – until finally we arrive at the finished product. This can be daunting for authors, who after all need to focus on their expertise: the written word.

Whether you’re self-producing or working with a publishing house, I can help. I have extensive experience in editing and proofreading, and relish using my meticulous eye to guide texts into shape. My services range from initial editorial assessments to final pre-press checks, and my portfolio spans across all kinds of books. I’ve worked on commercial fiction, children’s/YA, non-fiction for the general reader, specialised academic monographs, illustrated books, and educational material. Alongside many satisfied Reedsy authors, my clients include Allison & Busby, Bloomsbury, Chicken House and Oxford University Press.

I'm a great believer in the power of the written word, and I love to help all kinds of authors achieve their best work. My mission is to make sure every text is published to the highest quality – clearing the way for you to immerse and engage your readers.

---
TESTIMONIALS
---

‘Sara is a fantastic proofreader; thorough, diligent and eminently competent, she is definitely a safe pair of hands. She has adapted to our working styles and editorial standards with ease, and is always on schedule. We can't fault her.

– Laura Myers, Publishing Manager, Chicken House


‘Sara is such a joy to work with: knowledgeable, experienced, thorough and sensitive. She always works to schedule and is communicative at every step. A brilliant copyeditor – I'm so pleased to be working with her on the Allison & Busby list.
– Claire Browne, Editor, Allison & Busby
Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs History Middle Eastern & Islamic Studies Political Science & Current Affairs
Fiction
Children's Historical Fiction Literary Fiction Young Adult
Languages
English (UK) English (US)
Certifications
  • BA English Literature, First Class Honours
  • Editing in Word, The Publishing Training Centre

Work experience

Macmillan Education

Jan, 2020 — Apr, 2021 (about 1 year)

Unbound

Sep, 2018 — Jul, 2019 (10 months)

I.B.Tauris

May, 2014 — Jul, 2018 (about 4 years)

Self-employed

Sep, 2013 — Present

Allison & Busby

Jun, 2011 — Aug, 2013 (about 2 years)

Portfolio

The Islamic State movement (ISIS/ISIL/IS) burst onto the world stage in 2014. From its heartland in Syria, where it arose from the chaos of the Syrian Revolt, the organisation has expanded in ideology and membership and now poses a significant threat to the re... read more
The Porcelain Doll

Kristen Loesch

'A masterful debut' - Ellen Alpsten, author of TsarinaIn a faraway kingdom, in a long-ago land .... Rosie's only inheritance from her reclusive mother is a notebook full of handwritten fairy tales. But another story is lurking between the lines.Desperate for a... read more
The Fire Portrait

Barbara Mutch

I've taken risks in my life. Some have been physical ones, but some have been bolder and required more of myself. When Englishwoman Frances McDonald sets up home in a remote South African hamlet in the shadow of the Hex River Mountains, she is regarded with su... read more
Aarti & the Blue Gods

Jasbinder Bilan

From the author of the Costa Award-winning Asha & the Spirit Bird and Tamarind & the Star of Ishta comes a atmospheric, magical adventure with a stunning twist ...Aarti has lived on the island with Aunt for as long as she can remember.Like the weather, Aunt ru... read more
'A vivid tale of a woman born for the stage, stardom and scandal' - Holly Kyte, author of Roaring Girls: The Forgotten Feminists of British History'One of the most irrepressible women I've come across'- Jane Robinson, author of Ladies Can't Climb Ladders'I rod... read more
From the revered British illustrator, a modern fable for all ages that explores life’s universal lessons, featuring 100 color and black-and-white drawings.“What do you want to be when you grow up?” asked the mole.“Kind,” said the boy.Charlie Mackesy offers ins... read more
This is the first book-length examination of the notion of gendered politics in Sophocles' Trachiniae. Making use of feminist theory and tackling the political nature of the categories of identity, culture and sexuality, Seferiadi brings the interpretation of ... read more
1414º

Carr, Paul Bradley

Generation M

Shelina Janmohamed

What does it mean to be young and Muslim today? There is a segment of the world's 1.6 billion Muslims that is more influential than any other, and will shape not just the future of Muslims, but also the world around them: meet 'Generation M'.From fashion magaz... read more
The Land of the Green Man

Carolyne Larrington

Beyond its housing estates and identikit high streets there is another Britain. This is the Britain of mist-drenched forests and unpredictable sea-frets: of wraith-like fog banks, druidic mistletoe and peculiar creatures that lurk, half-unseen, in the undergro... read more
A Treason of Thorns

Laura E Weymouth

Dark, gripping, and utterly unique, this atmospheric historical fantasy from critically acclaimed author Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood and Caraval.Violet Sterling has spent the last seven years in exile, longing to return to Burleigh ... read more
Magical, spooky and mysterious: welcome to the House on Hoarder Hill ...When Hedy and Spencer start receiving messages on dusty picture frames, Christmas at their grandfather's spooky house turns into a mission to solve the mystery of their grandmother's disap... read more
Pompeii

Paul Wilkinson

The resonant ruins of Pompeii are perhaps the most direct route back to the living, breathing world of the ancient Romans. Two million visitors annually now walk the paved streets which re-emerged, miraculously preserved, from their layers of volcanic ash. Yet... read more
A unique and visionary generation of young Chinese artists are coming to prominence in the art world - just as China cements its place as the second largest art market on the planet. Building on the new frontiers opened up by the Chinese artists of the late 19... read more
China is now the most powerful country on earth. Its manufacturing underpins the world's economy; its military is growing at the fastest rate of any nation and its leader - Xi Jinping - is to set the pace and tone of world affairs for decades.In 2017 Xi Jinpin... read more
Turkey stands at the crossroads of the Middle East--caught between the West and ISIS, Syria and Russia, and governed by an increasingly forceful leader. Acclaimed writer Kaya Genc has been covering his country for the past decade. In Under the Shadow he meets ... read more
Unladylike

Heather Von Bandenburg

Forget what you think you know about wrestling.In the world of Heather Honeybadger, aka Rana Venenosa, there are no steroids, no tans, no million-dollar contracts – there is only lycra, a sweaty underground club and an unbreakable resilience. From the day that... read more
Mao

Philip Short

One of the great figures of the twentieth century, Chairman Mao looms irrepressibly over the economic rise of China. Mao Zedong was the leader of a revolution, a communist who lifted hundreds of millions out of poverty, an aggressive and distrustful leader, an... read more
Daylighters

Rachel Caine

Includes a brand new and exclusive Morganville short story.Something drastic has happened in Morganville while Claire Danvers and her friends were away. The town looks cleaner and happier than they’ve ever seen it before, but when their incoming group is arres... read more

Sara has 29 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Tim H.

Tim H.

Jul, 2023

Sara provided excellent support and steered things in a good direction providing what my book really needed at that point in time. I found her very professional and she kept to agreed timetables. It was a valuable and enjoyable collaboration.
Sean J.

Sean J.

Mar, 2023

Sara was very friendly and highly professional throughout our collaboration, as well as very accommodating regarding my requirements. Her copyedit was clearly of a high quality and I won't hesitate to use her services again.
karen E.

karen E.

Oct, 2022

I had a lot of confidence that Sara would do a fantastic job and she did not disappoint on any level. Delivered on time and was so thorough! Her work helped me immensely.
Maisie K.

Maisie K.

Oct, 2022

Sara has been a pleasure to work with. She completed my edits on time and has given me lots of feedback to work through. I'd highly recommend her to anyone looking for a professional editor.
Maziar B.

Maziar B.

Aug, 2022

She was just great, thank you Sara.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Sara and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Sara

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Susan McGrath

Susan M.

Experienced copyeditor and proofreader specializing in contemporary, literary, historical, and women's fiction, crime/mystery, nonfiction.

Raleigh, NC, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Sara Kelly

Sara K.

Flexible, fierce, efficient editor with decades of experience in editing everything from horror to science fiction to literary fiction.

Nashua, NH, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Rhodri Owen

Rhodri O.

Friendly copy editor/proofreader/editorial assessor who enjoys working with fellow writers to help unlock their book's potential.

Cowbridge, UK

100% reply rate

View profile