Close this message

Matthew Daddona

Matthew Daddona - Editor

New York, NY, United States

Book editor specializing in memoir, biography, and general narrative (sports, music, culture). Also reviewer and writer. Ah, stories...

Overview

I'm a nonfiction book editor who specializes in biography, memoir, pop culture, and general narrative nonfiction. I'm also a poet, fiction writer, and reviewer who lends a hand to several literary mastheads (Slice Magazine and The Scofield) and who has read prose at over twenty venues across Brooklyn and Manhattan. Happy to assist with developmental editing, copy-editing, and proofreading. Let me know what you're working on!

Services
Languages
English (US)
Fiction
Humor & Comedy Literature Poetry
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Entertainment Music Sports & outdoor recreation

Work experience

Associate Editor

Dey Street Books/HarperCollins

September, 2015 – Present (over 1 year)

My current and forthcoming Dey Street titles include: The Trump Survival Guide by Gene Stone; Snake: The Legendary Life of Ken Stabler by Mike Freeman, the first biographical account of the legendary Oakland Raiders quarterback; The Close Encounters Man by Mark O’Connell, a narrative biography of Dr. J. Allen Hynek, an astronomer recruited by the United States Air Force to help disprove UFO sightings (only to believe in them himself); Head in the Game by Brandon Sneed, an exploration of mental engineering of the world’s greatest athletes; The Art of Archer, a visual behind-the-scenes look at the hit FX show Archer; Revolution for Dummies, the "Egyptian Jon Stewart" Bassem Youssef's hilarious, yet poignant distillation of the Arab Spring and the Egyptian uprising; Charlton Heston, the first biography of the former actor and NRA head by film critic Marc Eliot; and Twilight of the Gods, music critic Steven Hyden's cultural look at the decline of classic rock as a marketing tool and genre; Guts: The Anatomy of The Walking Dead by Paul Vigna, the first narrative account of the hit TV show's success and cult following.

Assistant Editor

Plume Books/Penguin Random House

February, 2014 – September, 2015 (over 1 year)

In March 2014 I acquired Byers Shaw, MD.'s narrative memoir about organ transplant surgery; in May 2014 I acquired comedian Josh Gondelman and journalist Joe Berkowitz' You Blew It!, an irreverent and humorous look at faux pas in America; in October 2014 I acquired Ryan Britt's Luke Skywalker Can't Read, a collection of essays about pop culture and science fiction; In April 2015 I acquired a short story collection and novel by Ohio State MFA-grad Nick White.

Portfolio (9 selected works)

18 Holes with Bing: Golf, Life, and Lessons from Dad

Nathaniel Crosby, John Strege

In this love letter to his father, former professional golfer Nathaniel Crosby shares memories of Bing Crosby on the golf course, and the lessons he taught him about the game and about life. With a Foreword by Jack Nicklaus.“Bing Crosby was a great ambassador for our game, as well as a great man,” hails longtime friend and golf partner, Jack Nicklaus. The beloved singer and star was also an ex... read more

In this love letter to his father, former professional golfer Nathaniel Crosby shares memories of Bing Crosby on the golf course, and the lessons he taught him about the game and about life. With a Foreword by Jack Nicklaus.“Bing Crosby was a great ambassador for our game, as well as a great man,” hails longtime friend and golf partner, Jack Nicklaus. The beloved singer and star was also an ex... read more

Snake: The Legendary Life of Ken Stabler

Mike Freeman

The first in-depth biography of one of the most talented and infamous legends to play in the National Football League—the life and times of pro football’s first bad boy, famed Oakland Raiders quarterback Ken Stabler.Ken "The Snake" Stabler was the embodiment of the original Men in Black—the freewheeling, hard-hitting Oakland Raiders. The league’s first swashbuckling pass thrower, the mythical ... read more

The first in-depth biography of one of the most talented and infamous legends to play in the National Football League—the life and times of pro football’s first bad boy, famed Oakland Raiders quarterback Ken Stabler.Ken "The Snake" Stabler was the embodiment of the original Men in Black—the freewheeling, hard-hitting Oakland Raiders. The league’s first swashbuckling pass thrower, the mythical ... read more

Head in the Game: The Mental Engineering of the World's Greatest Athletes

Brandon Sneed

The next frontier of sports training doesn't rest with the body, but with the mind. For years, common wisdom has held that athletic performance is rooted in genetics and peak physical enhancement of the body. But journalist Brandon Sneed has another idea: that mental engineering -- training the cognitive process of the brain -- presents yet a new level of sports performance, and that athletes,... read more

The next frontier of sports training doesn't rest with the body, but with the mind. For years, common wisdom has held that athletic performance is rooted in genetics and peak physical enhancement of the body. But journalist Brandon Sneed has another idea: that mental engineering -- training the cognitive process of the brain -- presents yet a new level of sports performance, and that athletes,... read more

Charlton Heston: Hollywood's Last Icon

Marc Eliot

This is the definitive biography of one of the most iconic, complex and enduring legends of Hollywood’s golden age, whose major presence in American film, radio, television, stage and theater lasted beyond the second half of the 20th Century, and whose classic films are known throughout the world. Written by New York Times bestselling, prize-winning author Marc Eliot - Cary Grant, Walt Disney,... read more

This is the definitive biography of one of the most iconic, complex and enduring legends of Hollywood’s golden age, whose major presence in American film, radio, television, stage and theater lasted beyond the second half of the 20th Century, and whose classic films are known throughout the world. Written by New York Times bestselling, prize-winning author Marc Eliot - Cary Grant, Walt Disney,... read more

The Trump Survival Guide: Everything You Need to Know About Living Through What You Hoped Would Never Happen

Gene Stone

Don’t despair. Don’t retreat. Fight back.The stunning election of Donald J. Trump rocked an already divided America and left scores of citizens, including the nearly sixty-five million voters who supported Hillary Clinton, feeling bereft and powerless. Now, Gene Stone, author of The Bush Survival Bible, offers invaluable guidance and concrete solutions they can use to make a difference in this... read more

Don’t despair. Don’t retreat. Fight back.The stunning election of Donald J. Trump rocked an already divided America and left scores of citizens, including the nearly sixty-five million voters who supported Hillary Clinton, feeling bereft and powerless. Now, Gene Stone, author of The Bush Survival Bible, offers invaluable guidance and concrete solutions they can use to make a difference in this... read more

Why Are You So Sad?: A Novel

Jason Porter

"Jason Porter could find a place on the shelf beside Richard Brautigan, George Saunders, and David Sedaris. This is a quick, odd, wonderful book, one that pinned me back on my heels and made me laugh."–Colum McCann, author of Let the Great World SpinHave we all sunken into a species-wide bout of clinical depression? Porter’s uproarious, intelligent debut centers on Raymond Champs, an illustrat... read more

"Jason Porter could find a place on the shelf beside Richard Brautigan, George Saunders, and David Sedaris. This is a quick, odd, wonderful book, one that pinned me back on my heels and made me laugh."–Colum McCann, author of Let the Great World SpinHave we all sunken into a species-wide bout of clinical depression? Porter’s uproarious, intelligent debut centers on Raymond Champs, an illustrat... read more

Last Night in the OR: A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey

Bud Shaw

For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better -- a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery’s most demanding fields The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr.... read more

For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better -- a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery’s most demanding fields The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr.... read more

You Blew It!: An Awkward Look at the Many Ways in Which You've Already Ruined Your Life

Josh Gondelman, Joe Berkowitz

A hilarious examination of faux pas for readers of Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half and Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened Humankind is doomed. Especially you. It’s already too late. From overstaying your welcome at a party, to leaving passive-aggressive post-its on your roommate’s belongings, to letting your date know the extent of the internet reconnaissance you did on them—y... read more

A hilarious examination of faux pas for readers of Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half and Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened Humankind is doomed. Especially you. It’s already too late. From overstaying your welcome at a party, to leaving passive-aggressive post-its on your roommate’s belongings, to letting your date know the extent of the internet reconnaissance you did on them—y... read more

Luke Skywalker Can't Read: And Other Geeky Truths

Ryan Britt

“Ryan Britt is . . . the Virgil you want to guide you through the inferno of geekery.” —Lev Grossman, author of the bestselling Magician's trilogy Pop Culture and sci-fi guru Ryan Britt has never met a monster, alien, wizard, or superhero that didn’t need further analysis. Essayist Ryan Britt got a sex education from dirty pictures of dinosaurs, made out with Jar-Jar Binks at midnight, and fig... read more

“Ryan Britt is . . . the Virgil you want to guide you through the inferno of geekery.” —Lev Grossman, author of the bestselling Magician's trilogy Pop Culture and sci-fi guru Ryan Britt has never met a monster, alien, wizard, or superhero that didn’t need further analysis. Essayist Ryan Britt got a sex education from dirty pictures of dinosaurs, made out with Jar-Jar Binks at midnight, and fig... read more

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 200+ profiles.

Fc08e727f016c7178456ca101d78d3b129fd1df0

Anne Horowitz

Experienced freelance book editor with an interest in literary fiction and general-interest nonfiction, especially memoir.

Brooklyn, New York

33e6cc5c874c0399d97e5667068059a1fab5552d

Barry Lyons

I am a content editor, copy editor, and proofreader. I specialize in nonfiction books.

New York City

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

Sign up to read the full review

and view 200+ profiles.