Close this message

Matthew Daddona

Matthew Daddona - Editor

New York, NY, United States

Book editor specializing in memoir, biography, and general narrative (sports, music, culture). Also reviewer and writer. Ah, stories...

Overview

I'm a nonfiction book editor who specializes in biography, memoir, pop culture, and general narrative nonfiction. I'm also a poet, fiction writer, and reviewer who lends a hand to several literary mastheads (Slice Magazine and The Scofield) and who has read prose at over twenty venues across Brooklyn and Manhattan. Happy to help with general questions, specific structural choices, or anything else!

Services
Languages
English (US)
Fiction
Humor & Comedy Literature Poetry
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Entertainment Music Sports & outdoor recreation

Work experience

Associate Editor

Dey Street Books/HarperCollins

September, 2015 – Present (about 1 year)

My upcoming titles include: Snake: The Legendary Life of Ken Stabler by Mike Freeman, the first biographical account of the legendary Oakland Raiders quarterback; The Close Encounters Man by Mark O’Connell, a narrative biography of Dr. J. Allen Hynek, an astronomer recruited by the United States Air Force to help disprove UFO sightings (only to believe in them himself); and Head in the Game by Brandon Sneed, an exploration of mental engineering of the world’s greatest athletes. I am also editing Sebastian Bach’s memoir, 18 and Life on Skid Row, and 18 Holes with Bing, Nathaniel Crosby’s memoir of his father, Bing Crosby, both of which will publish in 2016.

Assistant Editor

Plume Books/Penguin Random House

February, 2014 – September, 2015 (over 1 year)

In March 2014 I acquired Byers Shaw, MD.'s narrative memoir about organ transplant surgery; in May 2014 I acquired comedian Josh Gondelman and journalist Joe Berkowitz' You Blew It!, an irreverent and humorous look at faux pas in America; in October 2014 I acquired Ryan Britt's Luke Skywalker Can't Read, a collection of essays about pop culture and science fiction; In April 2015 I acquired a short story collection and novel by Ohio State MFA-grad Nick White.

Portfolio (5 selected works)

18 Holes with Bing: Golf, Life, and Lessons from Dad

Nathaniel Crosby, John Strege

In this love letter to his father, former professional golfer Nathaniel Crosby shares memories of Bing Crosby on the golf course, and the lessons he taught him about the game and about life. With a Foreword by Jack Nicklaus.“Bing Crosby was a great ambassador for our game, as well as a great man,” hails longtime friend and golf partner, Jack Nicklaus. The beloved singer and star was also an ex... read more

In this love letter to his father, former professional golfer Nathaniel Crosby shares memories of Bing Crosby on the golf course, and the lessons he taught him about the game and about life. With a Foreword by Jack Nicklaus.“Bing Crosby was a great ambassador for our game, as well as a great man,” hails longtime friend and golf partner, Jack Nicklaus. The beloved singer and star was also an ex... read more

Why Are You So Sad?: A Novel

Jason Porter

"Jason Porter could find a place on the shelf beside Richard Brautigan, George Saunders, and David Sedaris. This is a quick, odd, wonderful book, one that pinned me back on my heels and made me laugh."–Colum McCann, author of Let the Great World SpinHave we all sunken into a species-wide bout of clinical depression? Porter’s uproarious, intelligent debut centers on Raymond Champs, an illustrat... read more

"Jason Porter could find a place on the shelf beside Richard Brautigan, George Saunders, and David Sedaris. This is a quick, odd, wonderful book, one that pinned me back on my heels and made me laugh."–Colum McCann, author of Let the Great World SpinHave we all sunken into a species-wide bout of clinical depression? Porter’s uproarious, intelligent debut centers on Raymond Champs, an illustrat... read more

Last Night in the OR: A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey

Bud Shaw

For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better -- a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery’s most demanding fields The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr.... read more

For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better -- a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery’s most demanding fields The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr.... read more

You Blew It!: An Awkward Look at the Many Ways in Which You've Already Ruined Your Life

Josh Gondelman, Joe Berkowitz

A hilarious examination of faux pas for readers of Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half and Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened Humankind is doomed. Especially you. It’s already too late. From overstaying your welcome at a party, to leaving passive-aggressive post-its on your roommate’s belongings, to letting your date know the extent of the internet reconnaissance you did on them—y... read more

A hilarious examination of faux pas for readers of Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half and Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened Humankind is doomed. Especially you. It’s already too late. From overstaying your welcome at a party, to leaving passive-aggressive post-its on your roommate’s belongings, to letting your date know the extent of the internet reconnaissance you did on them—y... read more

Luke Skywalker Can't Read: And Other Geeky Truths

Ryan Britt

“Ryan Britt is . . . the Virgil you want to guide you through the inferno of geekery.” —Lev Grossman, author of the bestselling Magician's trilogy Pop Culture and sci-fi guru Ryan Britt has never met a monster, alien, wizard, or superhero that didn’t need further analysis. Essayist Ryan Britt got a sex education from dirty pictures of dinosaurs, made out with Jar-Jar Binks at midnight, and fig... read more

“Ryan Britt is . . . the Virgil you want to guide you through the inferno of geekery.” —Lev Grossman, author of the bestselling Magician's trilogy Pop Culture and sci-fi guru Ryan Britt has never met a monster, alien, wizard, or superhero that didn’t need further analysis. Essayist Ryan Britt got a sex education from dirty pictures of dinosaurs, made out with Jar-Jar Binks at midnight, and fig... read more

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 200+ profiles.

C3e62549a962eb366178b5c61ee3965bb46dd522

Kerry Laundon

Professional editor and writer, specialising in non-fiction (self-help and business), blogging and travel writing.

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand

Fbcc13349725688ab61d99aa70a7152d195d265d

Aja Pollock

Making sure your prose sings, your facts and story are straight, and your unique voice shines through.

Austin, TX

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

Sign up to read the full review

and view 200+ profiles.