Lelia Mander

Lelia Mander – Editor

A former production editor in trade publishing, I offer proofreading and project management services.

Overview


For 15 years I worked as a production editor for Oxford University Press, HarperCollins, and Artisan. In this capacity I managed quality control for books through all stages. I supervised the design, copyediting, and proofreading processes to make sure the finished product was everything the author and editor envisioned from the start.

It’s my job to make sure that the writer’s voice comes across free of typos, grammatical errors, or factual inconsistencies. A writer should never suffer from a mistake that should have been spotted and easily corrected. I can drill down into the details while also looking at the bigger picture. Is the book designed in a pleasing, readable manner? Is the editorial process keeping to schedule? Did we build in enough stages to check and double-check for changes? I am diplomatic and collaborative, with sound judgment. Tell me about your project and let’s explore working together.
Services
Non-Fiction
Business & Management History Political Science & Current Affairs
Fiction
Historical Fiction Romance Young Adult
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

Self-employed

Oct, 2015 — Present

I provide proofreading and editorial consulting for the book publishing industry.

Artisan

Mar, 2014 — Oct, 2015 (over 1 year)

Managed the editorial and production process for Artisan’s list of beautifully illustrated 4-color nonfiction titles, including books on cooking, home décor, fashion, and crafts (14 to 16 per year)

HarperCollins

Jun, 2007 — Mar, 2014 (over 6 years)

I reviewed books at all stages of production to check quality control. I hired freelance copyeditors, proofreaders, and indexers, and coordinated with in-house designers from manuscript to bound books.

Portfolio

A thrilling account of the Cold War spies and spycraft that changed the course of history, perfect for readers of Bomb and The Boys Who Challenged Hitler.The Cold War spanned five decades as America and the USSR engaged in a battle of ideologies with global ra... read more
** INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER **USA TODAY BESTSELLERWSJ BESTSELLERINDIE BOUND BESTSELLER From the show's creators comes the groundbreaking novel inspired by the hit Broadway show Dear Evan Hansen. Dear Evan Hansen, Today's going to be an amazing day and... read more
"A supremely perceptive writer of formidable skill and intelligence," (New York Times Book Review), Tessa Hadley is the author of four critically acclaimed novels, including The London Train, a New York Times Notable Book. A regular contributor to The New York... read more
In the universally acclaimed and award-winning The Bottom Billion, Paul Collier reveals that fifty failed states--home to the poorest one billion people on Earth--pose the central challenge of the developing world in the twenty-first century. The book shines m... read more
A gorgeously illustrated companion to the fashion documentary of the same name, Scatter My Ashes at Bergdorf Goodman is an unforgettable collection of anecdotes, from the hilarious to the poignant, in commemoration of the internationally renowned luxury specia... read more
“All kinds of funny—raucously, wickedly, sweetly, saucily, surprisingly, profanely funny…a wonderful novel.”—Jess Walter, author of The Financial Lives of the Poets“Deft and funny, true and real. If you read one book this year, read this one.”—Molly Jong-Fast,... read more
Winner, IACP Cookbook Award A picnic is a great escape from our day-to-day and a chance to turn a meal into something more festive and memorable. The Picnic shares everything you need to plan an effortless outdoor get-together: no-fail recipes, helpful checkli... read more
Winner, IACP Cookbook Award for Culinary Travel Named a Best & Most Beautiful Cookbook of the Year by Bon Appétit, Cooking Light, Departures, Fine Cooking, Food52, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Los Angeles Times, San Francisco Chronicle, T: The New York Times Styl... read more
Who killed Dr. Harvey Burdell? Thoughthere are no witnesses and no clues, fingers point to Emma Cunningham,the refined, pale-skinned widow who managed Burdell's house and hisservants. Rumored to be a black-hearted gold digger with designs on thedoctor's name a... read more
Riveting real-life accounts of heroism from Medal of Honor recipients, including Clinton Romesha (author of Red Platoon: A True Story of American Valor) and exceptional civilians like schoolteacher Jencie Fagan How does an ordinary person become a hero? It hap... read more

Professionals similar to Lelia

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Laura Boon

Laura B.

I’m passionate about helping authors get their books to publication standard. I focus on genre fiction, mainly romance and crime, and memoir

Sydney NSW, Australia

100% reply rate

View profile
Nigel D'Auvergne

Nigel D.

My aim is to enhance the saleability (is that a word? . . . it is now!) of publications, by providing indexes of the highest quality.

Steyning, United Kingdom

100% reply rate

View profile
Becky Sweeney

Becky S.

Experienced editor of genre fiction offering support specific to the needs of each individual client and story.

Edinburgh, UK

98% reply rate

View profile