Krista Vitola

Krista Vitola – Editor

Executive Editor that specializes in chapter books through YA novels, both fiction and nonfiction.

Overview

For fifteen years, I've worked in the publishing industry editing children's books. I started my career at Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children's Books, where I had the privilege of working on high- concept, commercial YA series such as FALLEN, THE MAZE RUNNER and THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH and with high profile authors like Tyra Banks and Bella Thorne. As I started to build my own list, I branched out into the middle-grade arena and edited award-winning authors such as Donna Gephart, Dana Alison-Levy and Alyson Noel. I also worked on a few dark YA mysteries by Amanda Searcy and a fantasy series by NYT Bestselling author, Colleen Houck. I'm currently an Executive Editor at Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers and the attached books are just a few of the novels I work on here at S&S. Both fiction and non-fiction, I seek quality writing with commercial appeal.


I love working with authors to bring their book to its highest potential. I will never tell an author what they should do, but rather illuminate the scenes in which there is an issue--either with pacing, character development, narrative arc, relationships, emotional depth, etc. I hope to help them craft a book they are proud of and can't wait to share with the world. I love asking questions and love books that make me cry. It's a joy to be able to do this job as a profession and I eagerly await the opportunity to share in this creative journey with you.

Services
Non-Fiction
Children’s Non-Fiction
Fiction
Coming of Age Contemporary Fiction Magical Realism Middle Grade Middle Grade Fantasy Mystery & Crime Young Adult
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

Simon & Schuster

Nov, 2016 — Present

Random House

May, 2008 — Nov, 2016 (over 8 years)

Portfolio

The Cobra's Song

Kelkar, Supriya

New from Here

Yang, Kelly

Spy School

Gibbs, Stuart

A charming, adventure-filled debut novel that’s perfect for fans of The Penderwicks series.Siblings Meg, Will, and Ariel Griffin are off on an adventure! They can’t wait to spend a week visiting their eccentric aunt and her giant, tongue-drooling Newfoundland ... read more
The Good Thieves

Katherine Rundell

From award-winning author Katherine Rundell comes a fast-paced, sharp-turning, and utterly thrilling adventure, one driven at its heart by an extraordinarily powerful evocation of the loyalty and love between a grandfather and his granddaughter. When the lette... read more
Meena Meets Her Match

Karla Manternach

Graduates of the Ramona Quimby series will adore Meena Zee as she navigates the triumphs and challenges of family, friendship, and personal secrets in this charming middle grade debut.Meena’s life is full of color. She wears vibrant clothes, eats every shade o... read more
In this young readers edition of the New York Times bestseller, Cat Warren and her canine companion, Solo, teach readers that the nose knows no bounds when it comes to working together, being persistent, and helping others.Solo has a fine nose and knows how to... read more
The Paris Project

Donna Gephart

Fans of the Nate series by Tim Federle and The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer Holm will love Cleveland Rosebud Potts in this poignant and heartfelt novel from the award-winning author of Lily and Dunkin.Cleveland Rosebud Potts has a plan. If she can check off... read more
Lifeboat 12

Susan Hood

“This page-turning true-life adventure is filled with rich and riveting details and a timeless understanding of the things that matter most.”—Dashka Slater, author of The 57 Bus “Brilliantly told in verse, readers will love Ken Sparks.” —Patricia Reilly Giff, ... read more
“An imaginative debut.” —Booklist “Hannah’s growth is organic and well earned.” —Publishers Weekly In the tradition of Crenshaw and The Thing About Jellyfish, ten-year-old Hannah copes with the bullies at school and troubles at home through the power of storie... read more

Krista has 6 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

David L.

David L.

Jul, 2023

Krista's critique of my (kids') novel was spot on! She pointed out what was good, what needed work, and offered specific instructions on how to improve it. She clearly knows her stuff. She was the consummate professional, telling me when she would get to work on my manuscript and what I could expect. I highly recommend her!
Krista V.
Thank you so much, David! It was such a pleasure working with you and reading Zack's story!
Robert S.

Robert S.

Jun, 2023

Krista was great to work with and had expert knowledge of the audience I was writing for, so her editing suggestions really helped.
Krista V.
It was a pleasure, Robert! Looking forward to seeing your series out in the world!
Lauren K.

Lauren K.

Aug, 2022

Krista was a pleasure to work with. I've benefitted greatly from her notes and suggestions. She helped me improve as a writer, and I'm forever grateful for her service. She went above and beyond—I highly recommend her. She's the best of the best.
Krista V.
Thank you, Lauren! It was a joy working with you as well!
Jenny M.

Jenny M.

May, 2022

Krista is wonderful to collaborate with! She's a superb editor, and gave me detailed, insightful editorial notes on my manuscript. I would absolutely work with her again on another project. Highly recommend!
Krista V.
Thank you so much, Jenny! I loved working with you too!
Ava F.

Ava F.

Oct, 2021

Krista is amazing! She left in-depth comments about my work and helped me with all the questions I had!
Krista V.
It was a pleasure working withy you, Ava!

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Krista and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Krista

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Christine Florie

Christine F.

I'm a seasoned and accomplished editor providing quality proofreading and copyediting services for the K-12, adult, and scholarly markets.

New York, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
Sorrel Pitts

Sorrel P.

I am a reliable and consiencious development and content editor, with twenty-five years' experience of working in the publishing industry.

Devizes, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Amy Kerr

Amy K.

Nonfiction sub + copy editor, formerly at HarperCollins. I specialize in Lifestyle, Memoir, and Children's books (gen. market + Christian)

Nashville, TN

100% reply rate

View profile