Kaitlin Severini

Kaitlin Severini – Editor

I have copyedited and proofread more than five hundred books, adult and children's, nonfiction and fiction, in all genres.

Overview

I am a full-time freelance copy editor and writer with experience in all genres; however, I specialize in children's literature. My clients include Penguin Random House, HarperCollins, Macmillan, Bloomsbury, Abrams, Simon & Schuster, Sleeping Bear, Page Street, Peachtree, Inkshares, and others.
Services
Fiction
Action & Adventure Fantasy Historical Fiction Humor & Comedy LGBTQ Fiction Middle Grade Picture Books Science Fiction Young Adult
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Children’s Non-Fiction
Languages
English (US)

Work experience

Self-employed

Oct, 2013 — Present

Simon & Schuster

Oct, 2011 — Oct, 2013 (about 2 years)

Macmillan

Apr, 2010 — Oct, 2011 (over 1 year)

Portfolio

The Punch Escrow

Tal M. Klein

It's the year 2147. Advancements in nanotechnology have enabled us to control aging. We've genetically engineered mosquitoes to feast on carbon fumes instead of blood, ending air pollution. And teleportation has become the ideal mode of transportation, offered... read more
This lively history of transportation follows our fascinating route from primitive technology like sandals to driverless cars and beyond! Since humans first stood upright, we've been on the move. Need food? Water? Land? A place to live? Survival depends upon m... read more
“An epic wonder”* from the bestselling author of Mosquitoland This is Noah Oakman → sixteen, Bowie believer, concise historian, disillusioned swimmer, son, brother, friend. Then Noah → gets hypnotized. Now Noah → sees changes—inexplicable scars, odd behaviors,... read more
Kids of Appetite

David Arnold

"A gorgeous, insightful, big-hearted joy of a book." —Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything The critically acclaimed author of Mosquitoland brings us another batch of unforgettable characters in this New York Times bestsel... read more
When Stephen's father passes away in 1861, he and his mother and brother are left at the mercy of a cruel uncle. As the Civil War intensifies to the south, Stephen's brother enlists to fight for the Union and help support the family. The war drags on and Steph... read more
Powerful, riveting, and real. Sixteen celebrated authors bring us raw, insightful stories that explore guns and teens in a fiction collection that is thought provoking and emotionally gripping. For fans of Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock and Give a Boy a Gun, and ... read more
After the humiliating events on the 4th of July, Gemma's trying to grapple with the fact that Hallie knew her true identity all summer, and that she was the one who stole Teddy from her.Gemma vows revenge, but things immediately get more complicated than she p... read more
Retired CIA assassin Kirk McGarvey faces the most formidable adversary of his long and storied career in End Game, the action-packed thriller from New York Times bestselling author David HagbergLangley is experiencing a series of gruesome murders. The CIA’s ow... read more
ONE OF PUBLISHERS WEEKLY'S TEN MOST ANTICIPATED MEMOIRS OF THE SEASON AND A REFINERY29 BEST BOOK OF THE YEARIF YOU THINK IT SUCKS TO LIVE WITH YOUR PARENTS WHEN YOU’RE THIRTY-SIX AND NINE MONTHS PREGNANT, JUST WAIT TILL THE DEA COMES KNOCKING (WITH THE IRS IN ... read more
From W. Bruce Cameron, the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel A Dog's Purpose, which is now a major motion picture!Ruddy McCann is back in Repo Madness--the laugh-out-loud, thrilling adventure from bestselling author W. Bruce Cameron!... read more
The thrilling prequel to Shroud of the Avatar from Portalarium!The world died during the Fall. Abandoned by the mighty Avatars and their Virtues, the people who remained were left defenseless in an untamed land. That is, until the Obsidians came. Through dark ... read more
Riverkeep

Martin Stewart

A stunning debut perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman!The Danék is a wild, treacherous river, and the Fobisher family has tended it for generations—clearing it of ice and weed, making sure boats can get through, and fishing corpses from its bleak d... read more
We Are the Ants

Shaun David Hutchinson

From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley comes a brand-new novel about a teenage boy who must decide whether or not the world is worth saving.Henry Denton has spent years being periodically abducted by aliens. Then the a... read more
The first novel in a brand-new series—from New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Abbi Glines—about a small Southern town filled with cute boys in pickup trucks, Friday night football games, and crazy parties that stir up some major drama.To everyone ... read more
Everyone in twelve-year-old Hale's family is a spy, going way back. They've all worked for the Sub Rosa Society, an elite organization that's so top secret that new agents aren't recruited; they're born. Despite the fact that Hale can defuse an explosive, don ... read more
In her witty and breathtakingly sexy novel, Emily Foster introduces a story of lust, friendship, and other unpredictable experiments. . .Data, research, scientific formulae--Annabelle Coffey is completely at ease with all of them. Men, not so much. But that's ... read more
Promise

Judy Young

Eleven-year-old Kaden has managed to stay under the radar for most of his life. With the exception of Kubla, a pet crow, Kaden doesn't have any friends his own age and he's okay with that. After all, friends can ask inconvenient questions. Questions like Why d... read more
The Caldecott Medal Winner, Sibert Honor Book, and New York Times bestseller Locomotive is a rich and detailed sensory exploration of America’s early railroads, from the creator of the “stunning” (Booklist) Moonshot.It is the summer of 1869, and trains, crews,... read more
I Was Here

Gayle Forman

The newest heartwrenchingly powerful novel from the bestelling author of IF I STAY. When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so h... read more

Kaitlin has 3 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Eric L.

Eric L.

Mar, 2018

Working with Kaitlin was a hugely positive experience. She is professional, fast, fair, an excellent communicator and an amazing editor. My book is leagues better thanks to her help. I have nothing but good things to say about her! If you're looking to improve the quality of your work in any way, Kaitlin is the right person for you.
Kaitlin S.
Thank you, Eric! It's been a pleasure.
S. S.

S. S.

Feb, 2018

I appreciate Kaitlin's honest amendments on my grammar and the way I used my words in my poetry. She is prompt in responding to my doubts and met the promised deadline. If ever I have opportunities next time to produce another book, she will be my choice.
Kaitlin S.
Thank you! It was a pleasure working with you.
Jennifer O.

Jennifer O.

Mar, 2017

I'll keep it simple. I have no doubt that the determining factor in my manuscript finding an agent--and an agent offering me representation--was Kaitlin's contribution and assistance. My work is very clean, not a huge challenge in that area, but Kaitlin picked up on a few key things that dragged down the narrative of my book. I addressed those issues in my manuscript and my query letter, and ta...
Read more

Professionals similar to Kaitlin

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Jennifer Duardo

Jennifer D.

I am a highly meticulous copy editor and proofreader who is well-versed in Chicago style.

100% reply rate

View profile
Lori Goldstein

Lori G.

Query and fiction specialist, including adult, YA, and MG. Creative writing instructor and author of five novels from major publishers.

Boston, MA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Michael S.

Michael S.

Versatile editor of award-winning fiction and nonfiction with 15+ years' industry experience.

Houston, TX, USA

100% reply rate

View profile