Joel Tippie

Joel Tippie – Designer

Book designer. Art director. YA fiction specialist. Doodler extraordinaire. Husband. Father. Reformed musician. Lousy fish caretaker.

Overview

I'm a book designer and digital artist who's been working in the publishing industry for over 15 years. I've spent the majority of my career at HarperCollins Publishers where I'm currently art directing, and have created covers and interiors for Little Brown, Delacorte, Algonquin, Bloomsbury, Razorbill, Greeenwillow, and Egmont.

I work primarily on YA fiction, and especially enjoy sinking my teeth into YA fantasy, sci-fi and thriller. I'm obsessed with typography and love rendering type in 3D!

I've had the pleasure of working on some very successful books, most notably Veronica Roth's Divergent and Carve the Mark series. Other heavy-hitting authors I've worked for include James Dashner, Michael Grant, Rick Yancey, Jodi Meadows, Kelley Armstrong, Megan Whalen Turner, and Tim Green.
Services
Fiction
Action & Adventure Dystopian Fantasy Horror Middle Grade Science Fiction Thriller & Suspense Young Adult
Languages
English

Work experience

HarperCollins Children's Books

Nov, 2005 — Present

I've worked on all manner of book creation from cover and interior design to art direction on countless YA and middle grade books including many award-winning and best-selling titles.

Self-employed

Jan, 2002 — Present

I've been designing on a freelance basis since 2002 for a variety of publishers in NYC creating custom artwork and typography.

Portfolio

Cut Off

Finlay, Adrianne

Fans of the Divergent trilogy by #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth will be thrilled by Four: A Divergent Collection, a companion volume that includes four pre-Divergent stories plus three additional scenes from Divergent, all told from Tobias'... read more
The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that captivated millions of readers and film fans in Divergent and Insurgent.One choice will define you. What if your whole w... read more
One choice can destroy you. Veronica Roth's second #1 New York Times bestseller continues the dystopian thrill ride that began in Divergent.A hit with both teen and adult readers, Insurgent is the action-packed, emotional adventure that inspired the major moti... read more
Divergent

Veronica Roth

This first book in Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy is the novel the inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet. This dystopian series set in a futuristic Chicago has captured the he... read more
Carve the Mark

Veronica Roth

Globally bestselling Divergent author Veronica Roth delivers a breathtaking fantasy featuring an unusual friendship, an epic love story, and a galaxy-sweeping adventure. #1 New York Times bestseller * Wall Street Journal bestseller * USA Today bestseller * #1 ... read more
New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes the gritty and powerful conclusion to the Front Line series and evokes the brutal truth of World War II: War is hell. An epic tale of historical reimagining, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and Sal... read more
For fans of Girl in the Blue Coat, Salt to the Sea, and The Boy at the Top of the Mountain, the second book of New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant’s epic alternate history is a coming-of-age story about three girls who are fiercely fighting their o... read more
Front Lines

Michael Grant

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with female soldiers fighting on the front lines.World War II,... read more
Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica's sports books and Dan Gutman's Baseball Card Adventures, New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green gives readers a thrilling new addition to his bestselling Baseball Great series.Josh's life has just fal... read more
Night Speed

Chris Howard

An addictive new drug fuels superhuman strength and speed in this action-packed sci-fi thriller that will have fans of Scott Westerfeld and Marie Lu on the edge of their seats . . .Only those young enough can survive tetra, a dangerous drug that creates a puls... read more
Deceptive (Illusive)

Emily Lloyd-Jones

This thrilling sequel to Illusive will have readers on the edge of their seats. You don't belong with us. These are the words that echo through the minds of all immune Americans-those suffering the so-called adverse effects of an experimental vaccine, includin... read more
An epic and funny outer space adventure from acclaimed science fiction author and screenwriter Stel Pavlou!Bestselling author of Artemis Fowl Eoin Colfer says of Daniel Coldstar: The Relic War: "Sci-fi has never been so much fun. I loved it!"Below the surface ... read more
R.L. Stine, author of the bestselling Goosebumps series, raved that Gravediggers is “my kind of book—fast, frightening, and all too real!”During a class hiking trip, Ian, Kendra, and PJ get lost in the mountains and discover that they are being stalked by a pa... read more
Break Us (Shade Me)

Jennifer Brown

Fans of Pretty Little Liars, look no further for your new favorite chilling mystery: the Shade Me series by New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Brown. This last book in a popular trilogy is a nail-biting, not-to-be-missed finale that will leave readers ... read more
Dare You (Shade Me)

Jennifer Brown

In the second book of the suspenseful Shade Me trilogy, perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's Pretty Little Liars and Kimberly McCreight's The Outliers, Nikki Kill becomes embroiled in another mystery with the gorgeous Detective Martinez when she discovers that t... read more
Shade Me

Jennifer Brown

The first book in bestselling author Jennifer Brown’s thrilling suspense series for fans of Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars, Shade Me is about a unique girl who becomes entangled in a mysterious crime and lured into a sexy but dangerous relationship with a ... read more
The gorgeous and darkly compelling sequel to The Crown’s Game—perfect for fans of Red Queen and Shadow and Bone. A New York Times bestseller!Magic is growing, shadows are rising, and the throne is at stake…Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha’s corona... read more
The Crown's Game

Evelyn Skye

"Gorgeous and richly imagined."—Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series"Teeming with hidden magic and fiery romance."—Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the AshesPerfect for fans of Shadow and ... read more
Discover the world of the Queen’s ThiefNew York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction... read more
Discover the world of the Queen’s ThiefNew York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction... read more
Discover the world of the Queen’s ThiefNew York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction... read more
Discover the world of the Queen’s ThiefNew York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction... read more
Discover the world of the Queen’s ThiefThick as Thieves is the eagerly anticipated new stand-alone novel set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to l... read more
“A fully realized fantasy world complete with dragons, treachery, and flawed characters discovering their courage. I couldn’t put it down!” —C. J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow QueenFrom the New York Times bestselling co-author of My... read more
The fate of the world is in the hands of detective of the supernatural R. F. Jackaby and his intrepid assistant, Abigail Rook. An evil king is turning ancient tensions into modern strife, using a blend of magic and technology to push the earth and the otherwor... read more
“Tread lightly, Miss Rook,” warned Mr. Jackaby. “It would not do to push Miss Cavanaugh too far or too fast.” Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the investigative services of her fellow residents to solve a decade-old murder--her... read more
“I’ve found very little about private detective R. F. Jackaby to be standard in the time I’ve known him. Working as his assistant tends to call for a somewhat flexible relationship with reality . . .” In 1892, New Fiddleham, New England, things are never quite... read more
Jackaby

William Ritter

“Miss Rook, I am not an occultist,” Jackaby said. “I have a gift that allows me to see truth where others see the illusion--and there are many illusions. All the world’s a stage, as they say, and I seem to have the only seat in the house with a view behind the... read more

Joel has 3 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Dennis T.

Dennis T.

Jan, 2019

This talented designer reached into my psyche and produced a cover better than what I even asked for. His vision is matched by his skills in graphic design and he works with you to 3D rendered models of whatever you need. I recommend him 150%
Glen S.

Glen S.

May, 2018

Once again, Joel did a great job for me adapting the cover he designed to work for an audiobook.
Joel T.
Glen is always a pleasure to work with! He's a great communicator and effusive with praise (my favorite part). I'm sure we'll work together again!
Glen S.

Glen S.

Mar, 2018

Joel is a great designer! He understood what I wanted for the cover and made it absolutely amazing. Very easy to work with. Can't recommend him highly enough.

Professionals similar to Joel

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Anastasiia Bielik

Anastasiia B.

Warm and sincere illustrations for children, filled with kindness, love and magic

Tallinn, Estonia

100% reply rate

View profile
Andy Bridge

Andy B.

I love flaky painted wood, rusty metal, old signs, my family and friends, nature, surfing and my 1954 VW Beetle.

Servian, France

99% reply rate

View profile
Dora Doubles

Dora D.

Illustrator and designer with 10+ years of experience in creative business. I will create visual words that will support your story.

Warsaw, Poland

100% reply rate

View profile