Close this message

Jerry Shaw

Jerry Shaw - Editor

Vero Beach, FL, United States

Overview

I edit fiction and non-fiction books. Thrillers, adventure, romance, science fiction and fact, memoirs and history are part of my haven. One of my latest projects was copyediting Each One A Hero (Hellgate Press), which has been getting excellent reviews on Amazon (see my portfolio) and Goodreads. One reviewer writes: "Well written, edited, and descriptive." I also edit for ESL (English as a second language) authors and writers. My work includes proofreading, copyediting and substantive editing to help with structure. I have experience as an author, ghostwriter, copywriter and website content manager.

Services
Languages
English (UK) English (US)
Fiction
Adventure Crime & Mystery Fantasy Historical Fiction Science Fiction Thriller
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Business & Management Economics Entertainment Health & wellbeing Life Sciences Mathematics & Statistics Politics & Current Affairs Self-help & Self-improvement Social & Behavioral Sciences

Work experience

Book Editor/Writer

Gerald William Shaw
January, 2004 – Present (over 13 years)

Book Editor/Writer of fiction and non-fiction books.

Portfolio (10 selected works)

The Blood Feud: A Dardian Dreshaj Novel (Volume 1)

Shelley Young

Shelley Young’s The Blood Feud is the first book of the Dardian Dreshaj novels. When the highest paid killer in America falls in love with the daughter of a homicide detective it incites a war among law agents, the mafia, and a criminal organization called The Association. Homicide Detective Jesse Richards is facing the murder case of his career. With hardly any evidence, no witnesses and no i... read more

Shelley Young’s The Blood Feud is the first book of the Dardian Dreshaj novels. When the highest paid killer in America falls in love with the daughter of a homicide detective it incites a war among law agents, the mafia, and a criminal organization called The Association. Homicide Detective Jesse Richards is facing the murder case of his career. With hardly any evidence, no witnesses and no i... read more

The Blood Tie

Shelley Young

Shelley Young’s second book in the Dardian Dreshaj’s novels, The Blood Tie, is riveting, erotic and entertainingly dark.It’s been two years since Dardian Dreshaj has wrestled control of Harlow Industries. Now a legitimate business owner, husband and father things couldn’t get better. And they don’t. New enemies have come forward, enemies that may be Padukshëm’s equal. Leaving very little clues... read more

Shelley Young’s second book in the Dardian Dreshaj’s novels, The Blood Tie, is riveting, erotic and entertainingly dark.It’s been two years since Dardian Dreshaj has wrestled control of Harlow Industries. Now a legitimate business owner, husband and father things couldn’t get better. And they don’t. New enemies have come forward, enemies that may be Padukshëm’s equal. Leaving very little clues... read more

My Bridge Over the River Kwai: A Thriller

J.H. Allen

On September 22, 1979, in an empty stretch of the southern ocean, a nuclear bomb exploded. In spite of being recorded by U.S. spy satellites, the event never gained world attention. Nor has it ever been explained. To this day, no country has acknowledged responsibility for the explosion. (More information, search using “Vela Incident”)My Bridge over the River Kwai is a fictional account chroni... read more

On September 22, 1979, in an empty stretch of the southern ocean, a nuclear bomb exploded. In spite of being recorded by U.S. spy satellites, the event never gained world attention. Nor has it ever been explained. To this day, no country has acknowledged responsibility for the explosion. (More information, search using “Vela Incident”)My Bridge over the River Kwai is a fictional account chroni... read more

The Dream Chaser

Anne Higgins Petz

The Dream Chaser, a novel of hopeful perseverance in the face of continual adversity, combines dark humor, tragic intensity and suspense. Blake Doyle, a handsome, smart New York City newspaper writer, is haunted by memories of a horrific childhood trauma. As compensation, he drinks too much, ignores his responsibilities, and pins his hopes of fame and fortune on selling a board game he created... read more

The Dream Chaser, a novel of hopeful perseverance in the face of continual adversity, combines dark humor, tragic intensity and suspense. Blake Doyle, a handsome, smart New York City newspaper writer, is haunted by memories of a horrific childhood trauma. As compensation, he drinks too much, ignores his responsibilities, and pins his hopes of fame and fortune on selling a board game he created... read more

Vibrations - A Psychic Journey

Tammie Whalen Buckler

Some experiences simply lack scientific explanation as do these true stories which read like fiction... TRUE stories of psychic and paranormal events that will send shivers racing up your spine. You can only imagine a life barraged by ghosts, angels, spirits and the phenomenal vibrational energies that surround her. A Rare Glimpse Into the World of the Unseen! Vibrations - A Psychic Journey he... read more

Some experiences simply lack scientific explanation as do these true stories which read like fiction... TRUE stories of psychic and paranormal events that will send shivers racing up your spine. You can only imagine a life barraged by ghosts, angels, spirits and the phenomenal vibrational energies that surround her. A Rare Glimpse Into the World of the Unseen! Vibrations - A Psychic Journey he... read more

Blood of the Pure (Gaea): In Love with Light, Seduced by Darkness

Sophia CarPerSanti

--> Book Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXjmZBtHM6E--> Official Site: http://carpersanti.net/Gaea.engWhat would you do if in this World there were a Magic Spell able to make the one you love love you in return? And what would you do if, suddenly, what began as a joke, a mere expression of a hidden desire, ended up awaking a dangerous and cruel creature determined to make you bend to ... read more

--> Book Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXjmZBtHM6E--> Official Site: http://carpersanti.net/Gaea.engWhat would you do if in this World there were a Magic Spell able to make the one you love love you in return? And what would you do if, suddenly, what began as a joke, a mere expression of a hidden desire, ended up awaking a dangerous and cruel creature determined to make you bend to ... read more

Plain Dealing

Shelley Young

A small rural town that uses rumors as all the proof they need as evidence is turned upside down when a local nurse is found after being missing three days. In a town so small, where everyone knows every intimate detail about each other, thanks to the town’s ever-churning gossip mill, it should be easy to find the killer amongst them. From the beginning, fingers point at Dr. Tell, the owner an... read more

A small rural town that uses rumors as all the proof they need as evidence is turned upside down when a local nurse is found after being missing three days. In a town so small, where everyone knows every intimate detail about each other, thanks to the town’s ever-churning gossip mill, it should be easy to find the killer amongst them. From the beginning, fingers point at Dr. Tell, the owner an... read more

Rough Seas Ahead

Anne Higgins Petz

Prejudice, murder and intrigue beset Nancy O’Leary, who at the age of 17, journeys from Ireland to America. The crossing was hard, but the life before her has its share of hardships as well. Rough Ahead Seas follows not only the difficult and uplifting lives of intrepid Irish settlers in the late 1800s, but also intertwines the stories of all immigrants as the turn of the century unfolds durin... read more

Prejudice, murder and intrigue beset Nancy O’Leary, who at the age of 17, journeys from Ireland to America. The crossing was hard, but the life before her has its share of hardships as well. Rough Ahead Seas follows not only the difficult and uplifting lives of intrepid Irish settlers in the late 1800s, but also intertwines the stories of all immigrants as the turn of the century unfolds durin... read more

Each One A Hero: A Novel of War and Brotherhood

Michael March

In the tradition of Catch 22 and MASH, Each One a Hero stretches the limits and dynamics of serving in the military. By some odd chance, should the Big Lebowski and Platoon unite and decide to procreate, this tale of fiction, taking place during the Vietnam War, would be the product of such an imperfect union.In July of 1967, a rebellious college dropout finds himself serving with the Eleventh... read more

In the tradition of Catch 22 and MASH, Each One a Hero stretches the limits and dynamics of serving in the military. By some odd chance, should the Big Lebowski and Platoon unite and decide to procreate, this tale of fiction, taking place during the Vietnam War, would be the product of such an imperfect union.In July of 1967, a rebellious college dropout finds himself serving with the Eleventh... read more

Growing Up Green: Or How to Survive U.S. Army Basic Training and Live to Write About It

Khalid Saleem

Meet Khalid Saleem—a young, African-American Muslim growing up in a mostly typical suburban family, who, in 1998 at the age of seventeen, makes a major decision that will affect the rest of his life in ways he could not even begin to imagine. Without consulting his parents, he joins the U.S. Army —the “Green,” as he calls it. And it turns out to be the best decision he could have possibly made... read more

Meet Khalid Saleem—a young, African-American Muslim growing up in a mostly typical suburban family, who, in 1998 at the age of seventeen, makes a major decision that will affect the rest of his life in ways he could not even begin to imagine. Without consulting his parents, he joins the U.S. Army —the “Green,” as he calls it. And it turns out to be the best decision he could have possibly made... read more

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 200+ profiles.

8b2730b7c1e571601cc5dba47017039cecd20e62

Sue Copsey

Editor and award-winning children's author, 20+ years in UK and NZ publishing. Ex Dorling Kindersley and Pearson. Meticulous, fun and kind.

Auckland, New Zealand

E1faf6912396539a3953b65fced234894a7a8d5f

Geoff Smith

I specialize in developmental editing and copy editing. My job is to work with you until your book is in the best possible shape it can be.

Brooklyn, NY, United States

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

Sign up to read the full review

and view 200+ profiles.