Emily Yau

Emily Yau – Editor

A Bookseller Rising Star and commercial fiction editor with 12 years editing experience at Penguin Random House, Hachette and HarperCollins

Overview

I love working with authors, helping them reach their vision and make their book shine. I can be as hands on as needed, from identifying the problem areas and suggesting solutions, to in-depth line edits. I'm passionate about finding the gold in a story and bringing it to the fore, whilst remaining sensitive to an author's voice and style. As a copyeditor and proofreader, I am incredibly meticulous with a high attention to detail.


My main areas of expertise are women's fiction, crime/thrillers, historical and, having worked at Del Rey, science fiction and fantasy.


Looking forward to hearing from you!


-


See what authors are saying about my previous edits:


"I couldn't have asked for a better editor than Emily. She has a fantastic eye for exactly those tricky problems that are hard for a writer to spot in their own work. Her feedback was always honest but sensitive." Beth O'Leary, author of The Flatshare


"There are many reasons why Emily is brilliant editor. She is calm, focussed and objective, and the feeling I had when working with her was that she was my guide rather than my judge. She never pushed me in one direction or another, just lent me fresh perspectives." Adrian J Walker, author of The End of the World Running Club

Services
Fiction
Dystopian Fantasy Historical Fiction Mystery & Crime Romance Science Fiction Thriller & Suspense Women's Fiction
Languages
English (AUS) English (CAN) English (NZ) English (UK) English (US)
Awards
  • Bookseller Rising Star 2017
Certifications
  • Proofreading - Publishing Training Centre
  • Copy-editing - Publishing Training Centre
  • Working with Authors - Publishing Training Centre

Work experience

Boldwood Books

Jul, 2022 — Present

I commission and publish a list of fiction across all commercial genres: largely crime/thriller, women's fiction, and historical.

Quercus (Hachette UK)

Aug, 2017 — Dec, 2018 (over 1 year)

I commissioned and published commercial fiction novels, including The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary, The Love Note by Tracy Rees and The Last Thing She Told Me by Linda Green.

Ebury & Del Rey (Penguin Random House)

Mar, 2012 — Aug, 2017 (over 5 years)

I commissioned and published commercial fiction novels, including The One by John Marrs and Final Girls by Riley Sager. I also worked with authors such as Andy Weir, Caitlin Moran and Rowan Coleman.

Orion Publishing (Hachette UK)

Sep, 2011 — Mar, 2012 (6 months)

Working in the paperbacks division, I checked and proofread ebooks.

Avon (HarperCollins)

Sep, 2010 — Sep, 2011 (about 1 year)

I spent most of my time here managing and collating proofreading jobs as well as some development and line editing. Here, I worked with authors such as Miranda Dickinson and Jaishree Misra.

Portfolio

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary

THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP FIVE BESTSELLER'Set to become the romcom of the year - a Sleepless In Seattle for the 21st century'Sunday Express'Funny and winning... a Richard Curtis rom-com that also has its feet firmly planted in real life. A real treat'Stylist'The la... read more
Dark Touch

Debbie Johnson

It’s not easy finding out you’re a Goddess. For Lily McCain, the move from local music journalist to being the incarnation of Mabe, Mother of Mortals was a surprise to say the least.Thrust into a game of gods and monsters, the rules of which she barely knows, ... read more
In a Golden Age where spark reactors power the airways, and creatures of Light and Shadow walk openly among us, a deadly game of Alchemists and Warlocks has begun. When an unusual cargo drags airship-pilot Elle Chance into the affairs of the mysterious Mr Mars... read more
The Shadow Throne

Django Wexler

"An immensely entertaining novel" (Tor.com) from the author of The Thousand Names...The King of the Vordan is on his deathbed. Soon his daughter, Raesinia will be the first Queen Regnant in centuries-and a target for those who seek to control her. The most dan... read more
The Lost Boys

Lilian Carmine

Fate has brought them together. But will it also keep them apart? Having moved to a strange town, seventeen-year-old Joey Gray is feeling a little lost, until she meets a cute, mysterious boy near her new home.But there’s a very good reason why Tristan Hallowa... read more
'Brimming with suspense and ghostly apparitions, Spring's scorching thriller moves at a cracking pace and has a stunning twist in its devil's tail' Lancashire Evening Post'Don't expect to breathe easily until the last page has turned' Pendle TodayBoleskine Hou... read more
A charming and romantic story about living the simple life and the joy of animals, from the author of THE VETS AT HOPE GREEN.Emma Nightingale needs a place to hide away. Fresh from the heartbreak of a failed relationship, she takes refuge in quiet Crickleford.... read more
The latest crime thriller featuring detective Maeve Kerrigan - winner of the Mary Higgins Clark AwardHe meets women.He gains their trust.He kills them.That’s all Maeve Kerrigan knows about the man she is hunting. Three women have been strangled in their homes ... read more
The Love Note

Tracy Rees

A heartwarming tale of love, family and acceptance, The Love Note is a simply gorgeous read...In their townhouse in Richmond, Blue and her family are as happy and as close as can be - well, on the surface at least. But with the arrival of a young, destitute wo... read more
If you could change the past, would you?*As seen on ITV in The Zoe Ball Book Club*'Beautiful, well-written...I got goosebumps' Alex Jones'Portrayed 1977 so brilliantly...it would make an amazing movie' Zoe Ball -----------------------------------------------Ho... read more
'A chiller with a puzzling mystery that manages to be a tearjerker too. Prepare for sleepless nights' GraziaEven the deepest-buried secrets can find their way to the surface...Moments before she dies, Nicola's grandmother Betty whispers to her that there are b... read more
How to Build a Girl

Caitlin Moran

Soon to be a major film directed by Coky Giedroyc and starring Ladybird's Beanie Feldstein as Johanna Morrigan and Game of Thrones's Alfie Allen as John KiteMy name’s Johanna Morrigan. I’m fourteen, and I’ve just decided to kill myself.I don’t really want to d... read more
A powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The End of the F*cking World.'A real find' STEPHEN KINGWhen the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts.No one knows this more than Edgar Hill. 55... read more
Final Girls

Riley Sager

TO SURVIVE A KILLER, YOU NEED A KILLER'S INSTINCTAn unbelievably gripping psychological thriller to keep you awake at night full of twists you'll NEVER see coming. Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor's The Fear and Karin Slaughter's The Good Daughter'If you liked ... read more
The Martian

Andy Weir

_________________________A survival story for the 21st century and the international bestseller behind the major film from Ridley Scott, starring Matt Damon and Jessica Chastain.I'm stranded on Mars.I have no way to communicate with Earth.I'm in a habitat desi... read more
The One

John Marrs

NOW A MAJOR NETFLIX ORIGINAL DRAMAHOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO FIND THE ONE?A #1 ebook bestseller and featured on Simon Mayo's Radio 2 book club. Perfect for fans of BEHIND HER EYES and BLACK MIRROR.One simple mouth swab is all it takes. A quick DNA test to find yo... read more

Emily has 54 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

David C.

David C.

Sep, 2023

Emily is great. I’ve only worked on 3 of 16 chapters, but she does great work. Even if her queries are off base, which is seldom, she challenges you. You say, why does she say that? It makes you get in the mind of the reader! I run all my manuscripts through multiple writing software after her review and my revisions. The only thing that stands out is the software recommends more commas than Em...
Read more
Christopher T.

Christopher T.

May, 2023

I've been working with Emily on my first novel, and in all honesty I'm not sure if I would have reached the final draft stage if it were not for having Emily as my editor. Her approachable nature and clear feedback, coupled with the way she suggested areas of improvement/refinement have transformed my novel since its inception. I can't reccommend her enough to anyone looking for an editor. My ...
Read more
Kathryn C.

Kathryn C.

Jun, 2022

Emily provided valuable insight into a text I must have read a thousand times myself. She professionally edited my manuscript to streamline my sentences and found all those repetitive words I didn't realise I was using. As a new author, Emily offered invaluable knowledge of writing conventions that I can reflect upon to improve further scripts. She was helpful and kind, answering any questions...
Read more
Emily Y.
Thanks for the review Kathryn!
Sean S.

Sean S.

May, 2022

I'll keep this brief. As a debut author, Emily has set my standard for what editors ought to be like, and in the future, if for some reason I need to rely on a different editor, they'll have a lot to live up to. She keeps things detailed but concise when it comes to the line edit. And on the developmental side, she's critical but respectful, highlighting weaknesses while also seeking to hone ex...
Read more
Emily Y.
Thanks for the review, and all the best with the novel going forward!
DAN D.

DAN D.

Apr, 2022

I had no idea what to expect. I found her work to be very helpful. She offered ideas to go with her corrections and her work was right on time.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Emily and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Emily

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Rachel Solomon

Rachel S.

Experienced editor in fiction, non-fiction and academic publications. Passionate about stories and helping writers find their voice.

Dubai - United Arab Emirates

100% reply rate

View profile
Robert Astle

Robert A.

Editor and publishing consultant based in NYC. Edited American authors Theodore Weesner and John L'Heureux. Hardwired for storytelling.

New York City, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Rachel Kowal

Rachel K.

Professional mystery and literary fiction editor of eight years available for proofreading, copyediting, line editing, and more.

New York, NY, USA

100% reply rate

View profile