Catherine Coe

Catherine Coe – Editor

Former Hachette editor of award-winning children’s and YA, with 20 years' experience. I want to help you get the very best from your MS.

Overview

I'm a specialist children's and YA editor with over 15 years' experience. My clients range from the Big 5 publishers and top literary agencies to small presses and indie authors. I've worked on many bestselling, award-winning books – both as a freelancer and in-house – and have an in-depth knowledge of the market and what appeals to readers.


I want to help you on your journey to publication in whatever way suits you best, be that an editorial assessment, a development edit or a long-term mentorship. I offer a full range of editorial services and always tailor them to each client. If you're not sure which service is right for you, I can help you to figure that out.


As well as being passionate about working with you to get the most from your manuscript, I also want to help demystify the publishing process. I'm very happy to include advice about navigating the industry as part of my service to you, e.g. submission tips and agent recommendations.


I specialise in young fiction (5–8), middle grade (9–12) and young adult (13+). I have commissioned and edited bestselling series including Rainbow Magic, Beast Quest and The World of Norm, and the NYT bestsellers The Last Dragon Chronicles and The Gallagher Girls. Books I've worked on have won a raft of awards, from the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award to the Carnegie Medal.


I'm also an author of young fiction (published by Scholastic, Hachette and HarperCollins), so I understand what it's like to be on the other side of the writer–editor relationship. I provide honest, constructive feedback with a sensitive but direct approach.


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I cannot thank you enough for this brilliantly helpful report. I must tell you – I’ve received editorial reports for other projects from other places over the years and I’ve never received back anything as insightful and helpful as your report. It’s amazing how you've nailed all the issues so precisely. What I particularly appreciate is that you’ve not only highlighted the problem areas but you’ve actually given me suggestions on how I can improve them. It’s just so extraordinarily helpful!"

– Simon James Green, award-winning author of Noah Can't Even, Noah Could Never, Alex in Wonderland and Heartbreak Boys.
Services
Fiction
Children's Young Adult
Languages
English (UK)

Work experience

Self-employed

Sep, 2011 — Present

• Manuscript reviewing, development editing, line editing and copyediting for writers pre-publication, many of whom have gone on to secure agents and book deals, including A. M. Dassu, Simon James Green, David Fennell, Jane Elson and Sarah Dodd.

• Development editing, line editing and copyediting for publishers, including Hachette, Egmont, Simon & Schuster and OUP.

• Development editing and reading for literary agents.

Barrington Stoke

Jun, 2017 — Present

• Structural editing and language editing on their wide range of dyslexia-friendly titles by high-profile authors including Malorie Blackman, Juno Dawson, Steve Cole and Elizabeth Wein.

David Higham Associates

Sep, 2013 — Present

• Reading and reviewing submissions.

• Editing both published authors and new clients.

HarperCollins

Jun, 2012 — Present

• Commissioning and editing for the Collins Big Cat reading programme, working with many top authors including David Almond, Mary Hoffman, John Agard, Bali Rai and Anne Fine.

Scholastic/Hachette/HarperCollins

May, 2012 — Present

Author of:
• The Owls of Blossom Wood series (Scholastic)
• The Unicorns of Blossom Wood series (Scholastic)
• The Puppies of Blossom Meadow series (Scholastic)
• Lucky Bunnies series (Scholastic)
• Kid Cowboy series (Hachette)
• How the Camel Got Its Hump/Wow Cow/Mog and Mim/Bad Luck, Dad/Zip and Zigzag (HarperCollins)

Hachette Children's Books

Jul, 2005 — Sep, 2011 (about 6 years)

• Commissioning and editing children's fiction from 5+ to YA, including the bestselling Rainbow Magic, Beast Quest, The Tiara Club, The World of Norm, Gallagher Girls and The Last Dragon Chronicles.

Portfolio

Casper is very excited about the lasso competition at the rodeo! His best friend, Pete, helps him to practise. But when Casper wins the contest, he gets lots of new friends. Will he remember who his true friend really is?
SOME BUNNIES HAVE ALL THE LUCK!Bounce-a-Lot Festival Day is the hoppiest day of the year! Sky has been practicing her springiest, fizziest moves so she can be one of the star bouncers. But when she isn't chosen, the funniest bunny in Bright Burrow wilts like a... read more
One Shot

Landman, Tanya

World Burn Down

Cole, Steve

Lark

Anthony McGowan

Clariel

Garth Nix

The highly anticipated and long-awaited prequel to Garth Nix's internationally bestselling OLD KINGDOM fantasy series.Sixteen-year-old Clariel is not adjusting well to her new life in the city of Belisaere, the capital of the Old Kingdom. She misses roaming fr... read more
Crongton Knights

Alex Wheatle

Winner of the Guardian Children Fiction's Prize 2016Shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2017Living on the South Crongton council estate has its worries - and life for McKay has been even tougher since his mum died. His dad has been working all hours to keep the ... read more
Why is life never like it is in books? Nothing interesting ever happens to me. I am not adopted, my parents are not alcoholics or drug addicts, and I don't live on a council estate. Even my name sucks. In other words, my life is earth-shatteringly normal. This... read more
'If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it' Louise O'Neill, author of Asking For It What happened to me?Why can't I remember?Weeks after blacking out and waking up in hospital, Lux still has no memory of what happened.... read more
Run, Riot

Nikesh Shukla

SHORTLISTED IN THE YOUNG ADULT CATEGORY FOR THE SPECSAVERS NATIONAL BOOK AWARDS 2018.From the editor of The Good Immigrant, an adrenaline-fuelled, powerful YA novel about young people taking charge of their own destiny. A novel about standing up and being coun... read more
Dragon Mountain

Katie Tsang

The first book in the ROARsome DRAGON REALM series for 9+ readers! Perfect for readers who love fantasy, magic, adventure and DRAGONS!'Rollicking, escapist storytelling with a dragon-sized heart'– Kiran Millwood Hargrave, bestselling author of THE GIRL OF INK ... read more
Meet Toto: she's no ordinary cat, and she can't wait to have an adventure with you! From one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law.Toto the cat and her brother Silver l... read more
Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior with 52 episodes.Claude and Sir Bobblysock are excited to discover a Stonking Great Big Sports Day at their local sports centre! They are even more... read more
Osbert the Avenger

Christopher William Hill

Like Roald Dahl - but different!The first book in the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten series.Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious... read more
The Fire Ascending

Chris d'Lacey

Guaranteed to be incredible, fantastical and the ultimate page-turner, this final title in The Last Dragon Chronicles brings together the amazing characters and wonderful worlds that Chris d'Lacey has drawn on throughout the series - in one stunning finale.
Battle fearsome beasts and fight evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up. An evil wizard has enchanted the magical Beasts of Avantia - only a true hero can free the Beasts and stop them from destroying the ... read more
The Petal Fairies have a very important job - together with their magic petals they help to make sure that flowers grow and bloom in the human world. But after Jack Frost sent his goblins to steal the magic petals in the hope they would help to grow flowers in... read more
May Contain Nuts

Jonathan Meres

Why on earth did Norm's family have to move, anyway? In their old house he'd never tried to pee in anything other than a toilet. And when Norm is in bed, he's kept awake by his dad snoring like a constipated rhinoceros!Will life ever get less unfair for Norm?
Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses - but it's really a school for spies. Cammie Morgan is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways (three of which involve a piece of uncooked spaghetti). But the o... read more
A MYSTERIOUS island!A strange and mystical power called FLEMBER!A boy-inventor called DEV, who uncovers a long-forgotten secret...And a GIANT RED ROBOT BEAR!!The sleepy village of EDEN is about to descend into HILARIOUS CHAOS. Can disastrous Dev save his brand... read more
AS SEEN ON BBC's THE GREAT BRITISH MENU.***Winner of Peters Book of the Year 2015 and the Leeds Book Award.***Grace's fun-loving Mum has found a lump. Her north London world of sleepovers, tap dancing and playing the clarinet fall apart when she is sent to liv... read more
Noah Can't Even

Simon James Green

Painfully geeky Noah Grimes thinks his best chance at social normalcy is to strike up a romance with Sophie. But his delusional plans are hopelessly derailed when his best (and only) friend Harry kisses him at a party. That's when things go from bad to utter c... read more
Sami and his family are forced to flee their comfortable life in Damascus, via a smuggler's den in Turkey, to an uncertain life beyond. A story of survival, of family, of bravery ... and of how thin the line is between "them" and "us".

Catherine has 2 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

David H.

David H.

Jul, 2022

This was my first time working with an editor and I wasn't sure what to expect. Catherine exceeded my expectations throughout. The editorial assessment she provided was both thorough and thoughtful and has given me a lot to think about and work on which I am confident will help me take my project to the next level. I really hope to work with Catherine again in the future.
Tillie D.

Tillie D.

Jul, 2022

Catherine really helped turn my first manuscript, which in all honesty needed A LOT of work, into a story that appeals more to young readers. In our first conversation, I asked her to give me the cold hard truth about everything and not sugarcoat anything and she really did that with great constructive and honest feedback. I definitely feel like I'm in a much stronger place with my book and...
Read more

Professionals similar to Catherine

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Terri Lee Paulsen

Terri Lee P.

Freelance copyeditor/proofreader with strong editing skills, an eye for consistency, and a history of meeting (and exceeding) deadlines.

Waconia, MN, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Ross Angelella

Ross A.

Editor w/20+ years experience, specializing in literary, contemporary, romance, historical, sci-fi, supernatural, crime, thriller and YA.

Baltimore, MD, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
Luana Horry

Luana H.

On break!

98% reply rate

View profile