Caroline Hogg

Caroline Hogg – Editor

Friendly, positive women's fiction editor with over 15 years experience editing and publishing, including many Sunday Times bestsellers.

Overview

If your resolution for 2024 is to share the book you've written with the world, I could help you in that journey!


I specialise in structural and line edits for commercial women’s fiction, plus writing copy and shoutlines. After 18 years spent in-house within editorial teams at the UK’s biggest publishers (Little, Brown, HarperCollins and Pan Macmillan), I’m now enjoying a freelance career and being able to focus entirely on polishing up stories to their very best. Over my career I have worked with authors including bestsellers Karen Swan, Lucy Diamond and Rachael Lucas.


I can help you develop more pace and drive in your novel, make your characters feel rounded and genuine and bring out the very best in your story so that readers will have the very best experience reading it.


Testimonials

‘Caroline the best editor I’ve ever worked with. She is an expert in the craft of what makes a compelling story and gives thoughtful, clever and thorough notes while taking care to honour the author’s voice and ideas. I have no doubt that my high review scores online are in large part due to Caroline’s work on my novels. I believe Caroline is the best in the business and I highly recommend her.’

Kirsty Greenwood, bestselling author of The Love of My Afterlife



'Caroline is a first-class editor with spot-on instincts for story, character and concept. There's no doubt that her feedback enhanced and polished my novel beyond the point to which I could take it on my own and that the finished book is greatly improved as a result. Her enthusiasm for my ideas and writing made working on the novel a joy and her suggestions were intelligent and intuitive. She's also thoroughly lovely to work with!'

Tracy Rees, bestselling author of the Richard and Judy winner Amy Snow and The Rose Garden

Services
Fiction
Historical Fiction Romantic Comedy Women's Fiction
Languages
English (UK)
Awards
  • A Bookseller Rising Star, 2016
Certifications
  • BA (Hons) English Literature

Work experience

Pan Macmillan

Feb, 2013 — Jun, 2021 (over 8 years)

* Acquiring the best women’s fiction for the UK’s most successful imprint in this genre.
* Structural editing, copywriting, briefing covers, liaising with Comms teams, negotiating new deals, building strong and productive author and agent relationships.
* Devised original IP novels and saw them through to successful publication.
* worked with Sunday Times and internationally bestselling authors Lucy Diamond and Karen Swan. Part of the team behind the phenomenal Lucinda Riley.

Avon, HarperCollins

Oct, 2011 — Feb, 2013 (over 1 year)

* Part of a highly motivated team with responsibilities at each stage of taking a book from acquisition to publication.
* Worked with bestselling authors Trisha Ashley, Liz Trenow and Jacqui Rose.

Little, Brown Book Group

Sep, 2003 — Oct, 2011 (about 8 years)

* I started my publishing career at Little, Brown as an editorial assistant and worked up to become Senior Editor on the Sphere team.
* I published Ali McNamara’s debut which became an instant breakout success,
* Originated the idea for the novel The Vintage Tea Cup Club, which went on to be a UK sales success and sell in many foreign territories.
* Part of the team working on books by Louise Candlish, Dorothy Koomson and Nora Roberts

Portfolio

An old flame. A new spark.Love can find you in the most unlikely places.Sunday Times bestselling author Karen Swan returns with The Secret Path, taking us deep into the heart of the Costa Rican jungle – complete with her trademark romance, glamour, and jaw-dro... read more
At a car boot sale in Sussex, three very different women meet and fall for the same vintage teaset. They decide to share it - and form a friendship that changes their lives . . . Jenny can't wait to marry Dan. Then, after years of silence, she hears from the w... read more
'Sparky, fun and endearing' - Katie Fforde'Joyous and carefree, a souffle of a book that will lift the spirits of anybody who ever daydreamed about a different, more glam life' - Bernadette Strachan------------------------------She was just a girl, standing in... read more
The Missing Sister

Lucinda Riley

From the Sunday Times number one bestselling author Lucinda Riley, The Missing Sister is the seventh instalment in the multimillion selling epic series.They’ll search the world to find her.The six D’Aplièse sisters have each been on their own incredible journe... read more
A gripping, festive novel, Christmas Under the Stars by Karen Swan reveals the devastating power of secrets.Worlds apart. A love without limit.In the snow-topped mountains of the Canadian Rockies, Meg and Mitch are living their dream. Just weeks away from thei... read more
The Rose Garden is a richly imagined historical novel full of intrigue and secrets, spanning the luxury and poverty of Victorian England. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Rachel Hore.Every house has its secrets . . .For twelve-year-old Ottilie Finch, Lo... read more
The Teashop Girls

Elaine Everest

The Teashop Girls is a warm and moving tale of friendship and love in wartime, by the bestselling author of the Woolworths series, Elaine Everest.It is early 1940 and World War Two has already taken a hold on the country. Rose Neville works as a Lyon’s Teashop... read more
The Telephone Box Library is an uplifting story about fresh starts and new beginnings, set in a picturesque Cotswold village, by bestselling author Rachael Lucas.'A delightful slice of escapism tied up with a gorgeous, romantic ribbon.' - Cathy Bramley, author... read more
An Almost Perfect Holiday is a warm and witty story of friendship, family and hope by the Sunday Times bestseller Lucy Diamond, author of The Beach Cafe and Summer at Shell Cottage.The holidays are here, and down in Cornwall Lorna’s cottages are fully booked. ... read more

Professionals similar to Caroline

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Courtney Oppel

Courtney O.

Experienced editor specializing in biography, regional interest and history. Clients include Rowman and Littlefield and Pearson Education.

Helena, MT, USA

99% reply rate

View profile
Tom Feltham

Tom F.

Copy-editor and proofreader. 10+ years editing commercial, academic and literary content for publishers including Hurst and Hachette.

London, UK

100% reply rate

View profile
Kim Becker

Kim B.

Professional editor with over 30 years of experience editing general fiction, children's books, and elementary educational materials.

Orlando, FL, USA

100% reply rate

View profile