Ashley Wu

Ashley Wu – Editor

Editor with 10 years of publishing experience in independent and corporate settings, specializing in crime fiction.

Overview

With a decade of publishing experience under my belt, and a love of reading that started early, I thoroughly enjoy the challenge of elevating a manuscript to a novel. I have experience with everything from working through the slush pile to coordinating the publication of a novel from start to finish.
Services
Fiction
Contemporary Fiction Historical Romance Humor & Comedy Magical Realism Mystery & Crime Short Story Young Adult
Languages
English (US)
Awards
  • Anthony Award Nominee (2014) - The Hard Bounce, Todd Robinson
  • Shamus Award Nominee (2015) - The Hollow Girl, Reed Farrel Coleman
  • Best Fiction Title, Entropy Magazine - Forest of Fortune, Jim Ruland
  • Shamus Award Nominee (2015); Association of Mormon Letters Award Winner (2014) - City of Brick and Shadow, Tim Wirkus

Work experience

Self-employed

Mar, 2016 — Present

Currently working with both debut and seasoned authors to makes their books the best they can be, whether for traditional publication or other methods of publishing.

Tyrus Books (a division of F+W Media, later a division of Simon & Schuster)

Jan, 2012 — Feb, 2015 (about 3 years)

Worked as the primary editor for our imprint, developing over twenty titles from submissions to publication. Worked with authors on the design, copy, and promotional aspects of creating a book as well as the developmental editing process. Also created catalog copy and cover copy, as well as publicity letters.

Bleak House Books (a division of Big Earth Publishing)

Sep, 2007 — Jul, 2009 (almost 2 years)

Worked on a variety of tasks, including submissions, publicity materials, mass mailings, and event coordination. Worked closely with the publisher and editor on a daily basis.

Portfolio

Excellent Book
An hour and a half outside Tucson, Arizona, The Commons is a luxury retirement community where no full-time resident under the age of fifty-five is permitted. Young professionals Seth and Alison Collier accept jobs there as a means of dealing (badly) with a re... read more
Country Hardball

Steve Weddle

A powerfully observed, evocative, and “downright dazzling” (The New York Times) portrait of the American working class in this collection of related stories, perfect for fans of Bonnie Jo Campbell and Denis JohnsonAfter more than a decade spent in and out of j... read more
"Logue writes beautifully about rural Minnesota life while telling a good mystery. For fans of J.A. Jance and Margaret Maron." --Library JournalDeputy Sheriff Claire Watkins has had an easy summer in Fort St. Antoine, Wisconsin; the only problem is that her da... read more
It's a bright summer morning in Loon Lake when Police Chief Lewellyn Ferris is called to the scene of a horrific accident that occurred in the dead of night at a local gentleman's club. The club is owned by one of the victims, a member of the private Deer Cree... read more
A Los Angeles Times Page-Turner "...populated with sympathetic, well-drawn characters... ouston also delivers beautiful descriptions of the bucolic setting, along with plenty of sharply rendered fly-fishing scenes." --BooklistIt's the dead of winter in Loon La... read more
It's mid-July in Loon Lake, and Police Chief Lewellyn Ferris has her hands full with the discovery of the skeletal remains of a missing bank executive and the murder of graduate student. To complicate matters, both victims were discovered on a hidden river dee... read more
In the midst of a catastrophic August rainstorm, a grisly discovery shatters the serenity of a summer evening in northern Wisconsin. Moving quickly to prevent a panic among tourists, Loon Lake Police Chief Lewellyn Ferris enlists the forensic and interrogation... read more
Laws of Migration

Suzanne Frank

How a search for an exotic bird became a quest for love, forgiveness, and a new life. Birds, especially the ibis, have always fascinated Elize--that's why she became an ornithologist. But when her boss at the private Texas coastal institute where she's spent h... read more
From the author of the New York Times bestselling Robert B. Parker’s Blind Spot comes a Moe Prager Mystery.It's 1967 and Moe Prager is wandering aimlessly through his college career and his life. All that changes when his girlfriend Mindy is viciously beaten i... read more
Nicolas Graves raised his sons to be lobstermen. Bill and Joshua (known as Jonah) Graves grew up aboard their father's boat--the Cinderella--learning the rules and rites of the antiquated business they love. But when their father is lost at sea and the price o... read more
Forest of Fortune tells the story of three haunted souls--an alcoholic, an epileptic, and a gambling addict--who try to turn their luck around at a decrepit Indian casino. But something's not right at Thunderclap Casino. As the three of them come to terms with... read more
Chum: A Novel

Jeff Somers

Mary and Bickerman are the center of their circle of friends—but these friends are strangers as well as family to them. In the course of a year, under the influence of a stressful wedding and a whole lot of alcohol, relationships and nerves are twisted and bro... read more
"Intimate, mysterious, magical...as accomplished and compelling as anything I've read in recent years." --T.C. Boyle, award-winning author of The Harder They Come"Beautifully conceived and beautifully written...rendered with a strong, confident voice that is s... read more
Brad Fingerman was an art director in the glamorous world of New York advertising. He had the respect of his peers, a beautiful wife, and a bright future. That is, his future was bright before he spectacularly nuked his career, discovered his wife's infidelity... read more
Christian Franco is embracing the despair of divorce, doing nothing to slow the implosion of his career, friendships, and relationships. He camps out at bars to pick fights, finding that getting his ass kicked allows him his only meditative moments, something ... read more
The final novel in one of the most critically acclaimed PI series in the annals of crime fiction!"Few writers working in any genre offer tales with such moral complexity, dark humor, and, most of all, heart." --Megan Abbott, author of Dare MeDrunk, alone, and ... read more
My Second Death

Lydia Cooper

"...will appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson and Gillian Flynn." --Booklist In Lydia Cooper's wry and absorbing debut novel, we are introduced to Mickey Brandis, a brilliant twenty-eight-year-old doctoral candidate in medieval literature who is part Lisbeth Saland... read more
The Hard Bounce

Todd Robinson

The debut novel from the creator of Thuglit.Boo Malone lost everything when he was sent to St. Gabriel's Home for Boys. There, he picked up a few key survival skills; a wee bit of an anger management problem; and his best friend for life, Junior. Now adults, B... read more

Ashley has 1 review

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Neil D.

Neil D.

Jun, 2020

Ashley is a total professional - courteous and thorough. Her critique was clear and extremely valuable, with deeply insightful analysis of the work and detailed suggestions about ways I could improve my writing. I felt that she was my editor, a member of my team who had pulled out all the stops to work on my behalf. Her sincerity was gratifying her work met all the highest standards.

Professionals similar to Ashley

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Catherine Lenderi

Catherine L.

Fiction Proofreader with 12 years experience. Worked for Bookouture (Hachette), Storm Publishing, Rebellion Publishing.

Syros, Greece

100% reply rate

View profile
Zeynep Sen

Zeynep S.

Experienced literary and freelance editor focusing on literary fiction, memoirs & biography and young adult novels and nonfiction.

97% reply rate

View profile
Dan Letchworth

Dan L.

Copy editor with 12 years' professional experience with Scholastic, Klutz, Penguin, and Hachette; 5-year copy chief of San Diego Magazine.

San Diego, CA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile