Close this message

Michelle Richmond

Michelle Richmond - Editor

San Francisco, CA, United States

New York Times bestselling author, experienced editor. Specializing in novels, memoirs, story collections, and general nonfiction.

Overview

I offer editorial assessment and content editing for novels, short story collections, memoirs, and individual short stories and essays. I also offer query letter review and developmental editing for nonfiction books to help individuals and brands tell their stories.


Whether you’re writing your first novel or story collection or you have a few unpublished manuscripts tucked away in a drawer, I can help you polish your book to send out to agents and publishers. If your goal is to publish independently, I can help make sure that your book stands out from the thousands of independent titles released each week.


I will look at the big picture of your manuscript–story structure, style, plot, characterization, point of view–and pinpoint where the narrative is lagging. I’ll suggest new scenes that need to be written, structural rearrangement, and specific ways to deepen character. I’ll also provide guidance to help you streamline the prose, tighten dialogue, banish cliches, and improve narrative pace.

We all have narrative ticks--things that we do repeatedly that we don't even notice. Do you use too many dialogue tags that draw attention to themselves? Are there certain gestures that you rely on too heavily? Do your scenes get bogged down in unnecessary description? On the other hand, is the description so sparse that readers have a difficult time feeling grounded in the narrative? How natural does your dialogue sound? Focusing on these and other issues of narrative craft can mean the difference between a decent manuscript and a great one.


I have taught numerous fiction writing workshops and craft seminars at the graduate level, in addition to leading private novel writing master classes. I have taught in the MFA programs in creative writing at the University of San Francisco, California College of the Arts, St. Mary's College of Moraga, and Bowling Green State University, and will soon be teaching a course on plot for Stanford Continuing Studies. As the founder and publisher of Fiction Attic Press, I curate short fiction and creative nonfiction for publication online and in print. I also am the author of four novels and two award-winning story collections.



Services
Languages
English (AUS) English (CAN) English (UK) English (US)
Fiction
Anthologies Crime & Mystery Literature Romance Short Story Thriller Women's Fiction Young Adult & Teen
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Nature Parenting & Families Publishing Travel

Awards

  • Hillsdale Award for Fiction
  • Associated Writing Programs Award
  • Mississippi Review Fiction Prize
  • James Michener Fellowship
  • Catherine Doctorow Innovative Fiction Prize

Work experience

Instructor

Stanford Continuing Studies

January, 2016 – Present (11 months)

I am teaching an online course I designed for Stanford Continuing Studies, The Art of Plot. The course focuses on plotting novels and narrative nonfiction.

Editor and Manuscript Consultant, Writing Coach

Bay Area Book Doctor

February, 2010 – Present (almost 7 years)

Portfolio (6 selected works)

Hum: Stories

Michelle Richmond

A new collection of stories by bestselling author Michelle Richmond, Hum presents a cautionary political fable, a celebration of the complexities of marriage, and a meditation on modern-day alienation.Thirteen years after the publication of her first story collection, The Girl in the Fall-Away Dress, New York Times bestselling author Michelle Richmond returns with Hum, a collection of ten stor... read more

A new collection of stories by bestselling author Michelle Richmond, Hum presents a cautionary political fable, a celebration of the complexities of marriage, and a meditation on modern-day alienation.Thirteen years after the publication of her first story collection, The Girl in the Fall-Away Dress, New York Times bestselling author Michelle Richmond returns with Hum, a collection of ten stor... read more

No One You Know

Michelle Richmond

Michelle Richmond dazzled readers and critics alike with her luminous novel The Year of Fog. Now Richmond returns with an intensely emotional, multilayered family drama—a woman’s search for her sister’s killer that spirals into a journey of secrets, revelations, and damaged lives. All her life Ellie Enderlin had been known as Lila’s sister. Until one day, without warning, the shape of their fa... read more

Michelle Richmond dazzled readers and critics alike with her luminous novel The Year of Fog. Now Richmond returns with an intensely emotional, multilayered family drama—a woman’s search for her sister’s killer that spirals into a journey of secrets, revelations, and damaged lives. All her life Ellie Enderlin had been known as Lila’s sister. Until one day, without warning, the shape of their fa... read more

Modern Shorts: 18 Short Stories From Fiction Attic Press (Fiction Attic Press Annual Short Story Anthology) (Volume 1)

Michelle Richmond

Modern Shorts: 18 Short Stories From Fiction Attic Press, is a diverse collection of thought-provoking, beautifully written stories by emerging and established writers. Recommended for writers of short fiction, students of contemporary fiction, and anyone who loves a good story. A great resource for fiction writing workshops. This anthology includes new fiction by Neil Mathison, Jane St. Clair... read more

Modern Shorts: 18 Short Stories From Fiction Attic Press, is a diverse collection of thought-provoking, beautifully written stories by emerging and established writers. Recommended for writers of short fiction, students of contemporary fiction, and anyone who loves a good story. A great resource for fiction writing workshops. This anthology includes new fiction by Neil Mathison, Jane St. Clair... read more

Flash in the Attic: 33 Very Short Stories (Flash in the Attic Flash Fiction Atnhology) (Volume 1)

Michelle Richmond

Featuring 33 stories under 1000 words by the winners of the Flash in the Attic Flash Fiction Contest. The very brief stories in this volume, by turns playful, provocative, poignant, fantastical, fearless, and wildly imaginative, prove just how much can be accomplished in 1000 words or fewer. As it turns out, 1000 words is plenty of room to make a scene, get people in trouble, get them out of i... read more

Featuring 33 stories under 1000 words by the winners of the Flash in the Attic Flash Fiction Contest. The very brief stories in this volume, by turns playful, provocative, poignant, fantastical, fearless, and wildly imaginative, prove just how much can be accomplished in 1000 words or fewer. As it turns out, 1000 words is plenty of room to make a scene, get people in trouble, get them out of i... read more

The Year of Fog

Michelle Richmond

Life changes in an instant. On a foggy beach. In the seconds when Abby Mason—photographer, fiancée soon-to-be-stepmother—looks into her camera and commits her greatest error. Heartbreaking, uplifting, and beautifully told, here is the riveting tale of a family torn apart, of the search for the truth behind a child’s disappearance, and of one woman’s unwavering faith in the redemptive power of ... read more

Life changes in an instant. On a foggy beach. In the seconds when Abby Mason—photographer, fiancée soon-to-be-stepmother—looks into her camera and commits her greatest error. Heartbreaking, uplifting, and beautifully told, here is the riveting tale of a family torn apart, of the search for the truth behind a child’s disappearance, and of one woman’s unwavering faith in the redemptive power of ... read more

Golden State: A Novel

Michelle Richmond

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, Golden State is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives. Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a strained relationship, ... read more

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, Golden State is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives. Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a strained relationship, ... read more

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 200+ profiles.

2051196e4cd374d8bb957ba82e9b9c6966c8d955

Hannah Sheppard

Development Editor and Literary Agent with over a decade's experience of trade publishing.

London

7457a002b96522a096205608a21a5eed86c3875b

Angela Brown

Editor of more than 400 published books. I specialize in thrillers, sci-fi, fantasy, mysteries, horror, romance, YA, and middle-grade books.

Los Angeles, CA

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

Sign up to read the full review

and view 200+ profiles.