Marcy Dermansky

Marcy Dermansky – Editor

I am a published novelist. I want you to become one, too. I specialize in literary fiction, YA, women's fiction, thrillers and memoir.

Overview

I am the author of the acclaimed novels VERY NICE, THE RED CAR, BAD MARIE and TWINS. I have worked as a developmental editor for the last twelve years, using my insider knowledge of the publishing world and writing fiction to help aspiring authors realize their dreams.

I offer private editing services for selected manuscripts. I work one-on-one with writers who are committed to their writing projects — novels, short stories, and creative non-fiction — helping them find their way from draft to finished manuscript. I have published three novels and know what works and what doesn't.
Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs
Fiction
Dystopian Fantasy Historical Fiction Humor & Comedy Literary Fiction Women's Fiction
Languages
English (US)
Awards
  • Barnes & Noble Discover New Writers

Work experience

Liveright/Norton

Oct, 2016 — Present

My most recent novel The Red Car was published by Liveright in October 2016. The novel was a New York Times Editor's Choice pick and featured in many Best of 2016 lists including The San Francisco Chronicle, Buzzfeed and Flavorwire,

Self-employed

Jan, 2010 — Present

I offer private editing services for selected manuscripts. I work one-on-one with writers who are committed to their writing projects — novels, short stories, and creative non-fiction — helping them find their way from draft to finished manuscript. I have published three novels. I know what works and what doesn't.

Dow Jones

Oct, 2000 — Nov, 2009 (about 9 years)

Reviewed, hand-selected and published news content to corporate web sites.

About.com

Aug, 1999 — Jun, 2010 (almost 11 years)

Maintained high-traffic site for major Internet portal as expert for world and independent film. Wrote weekly reviews of world/independent films.

Portfolio

In the Context of Love

Linda K Sienkiewicz

Finalist, 2016 Sarton Women's Book Award Finalist, 2016 Eric Hoffer Award for Fiction Finalist, 2016 Reader's Choice Award,Women's Fiction Finalist, 2016 Best Book Awards, Women's Fiction Can the secrets that haunt you ever be left behind? Angelica Schirrick w... read more
Bad Marie

Marcy Dermansky

“Reading Marcy Dermansky’s Bad Marie is like spending a rainy afternoon in a smaller, older movie theater watching a charming French movie with a woman (or a man) you’ve just met on the street and already like far too much. It’s sinful in all the right ways, d... read more
The Red Car: A Novel

Marcy Dermansky

A wildly imaginative, rebellious, and tender tale of independence from the critically acclaimed author of Bad Marie.With each new novel, Marcy Dermansky deploys her "brainy, emotionally sophisticated" (New York Times) prose to greater and greater heights, and ... read more
In the tradition of Rich Cohen’s Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey’s Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist’s struggle to find her way out of the ruins.Frances Stroh’s earliest memories ar... read more
The Dancer

Eric Bernat

New York City. 1985. So many are dying. Joey was only trying to flirt with his new neighbor, but instead stumbled into a homicide investigation. Now, the cops believe Joey knows more than he claims to know. And he does. And the police aren't the only ones who ... read more
Frederick is a demon living life to the fullest ... Except, it's other people's lives.KIRKUS REVIEWS reluctantly called it "A well-spun, engaging supernatural tale...with a devilishly ambiguous ending."UNPAID READERS ARE SOMEHOW SAYING:★★★★★ "Prepare yourself ... read more
Twins: A Novel

Marcy Dermansky

On the eve of their thirteenth birthday, identical twins Chloe and Sue agree to get matching tattoos to prove their bond is stronger than Dna. So begins Twins, Marcy Dermansky’s funny and disturbingly honest debut novel, the extraordinary story of blonde, beau... read more
Memory Is Our Home is a powerful biographical memoir based on the diaries of Roma Talasiewicz-Eibuszyc, who was born in Warsaw before the end of World War I, grew up during the interwar period and who, after escaping the atrocities of World War II, was able to... read more
A razor-sharp and deeply felt novel that illuminates the pivotal role of work in our lives—a riveting fusion of The Nest, Up in the Air, and Then We Came to the End that captures the emotional complexities of five HR colleagues trying to balance ambition, hope... read more
A Million Miles

Amy Fleisher Madden

A Million Miles is a novel written by Amy Fleisher Madden. It is a no-holds-barred coming of age story told with the burgeoning indie/emo music scene of the late '90s set as the backdrop. Get in the van and drive around America with Maddy Traeger and her favor... read more
What's Never Said

Susan Shapiro

It's dangerous to search for an old flame you never got over. What if you find him-and he doesn't remember you? In her captivating new novel, Susan Shapiro explores the perils of revisiting past passion. Lila Penn leaves Wisconsin for graduate school in the bi... read more
The Almond Tree

Michelle Cohen Corasanti

Gifted with a mind that continues to impress the elders in his village, Ichmad Hamid struggles with knowing that he can do nothing to save his friends and family. Living on occupied land, his entire village operates in fear of losing their homes, jobs, and bel... read more

Marcy has 5 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Christine E.

Christine E.

Mar, 2023

I had a wonderful experience working with Marcy. She is so great at what she does. Marcy helped me edit my first manuscript and gave great suggestions on how to make it flow better. She is a great support, always thoughtful when making edits and suggestions, and a real professional. I feel lucky to have worked with her!
Heather A.

Heather A.

Feb, 2022

Marcy's editorial letter was very complimentary and that has given me courage to keep going. Her detailed editorial comments on my manuscript are helpful and I have started rewriting to trial incorporating one of her big suggestions, which was about the time line of the story. Marcy's comments are very useful.
Marcy D.
Thank you, Heather!
K. A. K.

K. A. K.

Aug, 2021

Marcy returned my novel before the deadline! She left very considerate comments throughout--line by line about what she was thinking--in addition to a three page letter giving me things to think about in terms of character dynamics, areas for expansion, parts that weren't working for her. We also had a lovely phone conversation talking through ideas after the fact. She offered to keep in tou...
Read more
Tucson R.

Tucson R.

May, 2020

Marcy was spot on! Her edits removed the choppy dialogue and awkward pauses. She highlighted the parts that would be confusing for readers and gave suggestions on how to fix it. The reason I chose to go with her is because she gave a personalized response to my editor offer.
Lisa W.

Lisa W.

Mar, 2019

I felt so lucky to have a writer of Marcy's calibre as my editor. Her feedback was extremely helpful, particularly in explaining where the reader would have unresolved questions. After providing feedback she was also happy to answer questions, both granular and general. I'd send her future work in a heartbeat.

Professionals similar to Marcy

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Bonnie Hearn Hill

Bonnie H.

From memoir and self-help to crime, business, and women's fiction, I can help you find your vision and your voice. Outstanding references.

Central Cali

98% reply rate

View profile
Pauline Ricablanca

Pauline R.

Experienced copyeditor and proofreader interested in history, culture, and technology

Toronto, Canada

98% reply rate

View profile
Larry Rosler

Larry R.

Founding editor of Highlights for Children's Boyds Mills Press, now working independently with writers for young readers.

Honesdale, PA, USA

100% reply rate

View profile