Lisa Davis

Lisa Davis – Editor

Children's Book Editor and Publishing Consultant helping authors and publishers create books that kids love to read.

Overview

The books you read as a child are the ones that stay with you for a lifetime. But just because they’re short doesn’t mean they’re any easier to write.


And getting published can feel like a daunting process. The publishing industry has so many gatekeepers that most authors aren’t sure where to begin, losing confidence before they’ve even attempted to send their manuscript out.


With years of experience in the publishing industry and as a former buyer for a national reading charity, I know what makes a fun book that kids actually want to read. I aim to make the publishing process transparent for authors, and I provide advice that enables them to take the first steps on their publishing journey.


All my editing focuses on inclusivity, whether it's helping you create a brief for a new series, developmental editing a picture book, or proofreading final layouts of a title.


​Having worked across editorial, rights, production, and as a buyer at a national level, I have a unique set of skills that can help you develop and publish children’s books. While I focus on making books as inclusive and accessible as possible, I also aim to make them commercially viable. Because what good is an inclusive book that doesn't sell?


With over a decade of experience in the industry, including at some of the Big Five and small independent publishers, I'm flexible in my approach and able to tailor my services to your needs.


I work on books for children aged 0-12 and specialize in illustrated books. My rate varies based on the work involved. Please contact me with details of your project so I can provide you with a quote.

Services
Non-Fiction
Children’s Non-Fiction
Fiction
Middle Grade Picture Books
Languages
English (UK) English (US)
Awards
  • Donna Zurava Memorial Award
  • Berkhamsted Writing Competition (2nd)
Certifications
  • Basic Proofreading Certificate - The Publishing Training Centre
  • MA, Publishing - University of the Arts London
  • Copywriting Workshop - Hachette Children's Books
  • Foundations for Inclusion - Without Exception (training for improving inclusivity in children's books)
  • Introduction to Fiction Editing - The Chartered Institute of Editing and Proofreading
  • Getting to Grips with Grammar and Punctuation - The Chartered Institute of Editing and Proofreading

Work experience

Self-employed

Oct, 2018 — Present

I work with authors and publishers to address some of the main challenges in the children's book industry today – getting into the industry, making books authentically inclusive, avoiding unconscious bias in books, and ensuring readers hear from a diverse range of voices.

Clients include: NorthSouth Books, DK Books, Quarto, Big Picture Press, Hachette Children's Books, and Pushkin Children's Books

BookTrust

Feb, 2016 — Oct, 2018 (over 2 years)

I managed the selection and purchasing of all titles for BookTrust's book gifting programmes, which range from ages 0-14. This includes two titles that are given to every baby born in England, one title that is given to every toddler, one title for every child starting reception, and a set of books provided for free to secondary schools in England. I also purchased books for children with additional needs, and specially selected books for children in the foster care system. I purchased around 3.5 million books annually and worked closely with all UK children's publishers.

I helped set up and run an initiative to scout for books not yet published in English and assisted in getting them translated into English.

I also wrote reviews for the BookTrust website every month.

Hachette Children's Group

Oct, 2014 — Feb, 2016 (over 1 year)

Started off as Editorial Assistant, supporting the Publishing Director, Picture Book Publisher and the Fiction Editorial Director across the Hodder Children's Book list from picture books to YA.

Promoted to Editor at Hodder Children's Books, working specifically on the development and growth of the Enid Blyton brand.

Simon & Schuster UK

May, 2014 — Oct, 2014 (5 months)

Coordinated all foreign-language printings across the UK and US children’s lists, working closely with the editorial team and international publishers.

Make Believe Ideas

Jul, 2012 — May, 2014 (almost 2 years)

Dorling Kindersley (DK Books)

Oct, 2010 — Jul, 2012 (over 1 year)

Portfolio

Vincent van Gogh (Little People, BIG DREAMS)

Sanchez Vegara, Maria Isabel

Frances Lincoln Children's Books

Ways to Say I Love You

Madeleine Cook

Oxford University Press

Wish You Were Here: Postcards from Franz Kafka

Watts, Bernadette

NorthSouth Books

The Gray City

Kuhlmann, Torben

NorthSouth Books

Which Way to Anywhere (Which Way to Anywhere, 1)

Cowell, Cressida

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books.'A perfect animal double-act.'... read more
Tales of the Damned

Matt Ralphs

Big Picture Press

Take a Bite

Aleksandra Mizielinski

Big Picture Press

Which Way Around the Galaxy (Which Way to Anywhere, 2)

Cowell, Cressida

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Goth Moth (Band of Bugs)

Lüftner, Kai

NorthSouth Books

Taylor Swift (Little People, BIG DREAMS)

Sanchez Vegara, Maria Isabel

Frances Lincoln Children's Books

Ritu Weds Chandni

Narvankar, Ameya

Very Bothersome Bear
The first in a fun new series - 'Brilliantly original and hilarious ...it's nearly as good as one of my books' David Walliams. 'One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates' The Guardian Edwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit ... read more
It's Jones' birthday and as a special treat, Uncle Pepe is going to bake one of his famous apple pies! Eager to help, Wombat and Jones offer to go to the tree and pick the apples Uncle Pepe needs for his recipe, but they get a little carried away and bring hom... read more
My Funny Family Gets Funnier

Lisa has 132 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Nuvy S.

Nuvy S.

May, 2022

Pinned
Lisa was exceptional. I'm a first time children's book writer (and multicultural one at that!) and Lisa so graciously has offered such significant edits. She really took the time to engage with my story, offer critiques in how I can expand, develop the story structure, and characters. Additionally, she was kind to advise me and answer my follow-up questions. Would definitely recommend working w...
Read more
Lori D.

Lori D.

Jan, 2022

Pinned
Lisa was incredibly helpful. She answered every question I had and even answered some questions I didn't even know that I should have! Her edits were clear and decisive. Before working with Lisa, I was entirely unsure about how to write a query letter. After receiving her edits and insights, I felt confident to start sending it out.
Caitlin G.

Caitlin G.

Jun, 2021

Pinned
Lisa helped me by providing a Developmental Edit and help with the Query Letter process. I cannot recommend her enough! She was incredibly professional, helpful, kind, and timely and she was patient with my sporadic schedule and ignorant questions. She really seems to know the whole process very well and had lots of input and helpful information. I hope to work with her again. I certainly could...
Read more
Lara G.

Lara G.

Jan, 2024

Lisa has been very patient with my erratic request and very professional with all the advice. I hope 2024 brings me sometime to go over what she has advised me and going forward would definitely consider reaching out to her again. Thank you
Maria C.

Maria C.

Feb, 2023

Lisa was very friendly and gave great insight into my query letter. She was very prompt with her feedback and was a pleasure to work with.

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Lisa and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Lisa

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Elizabeth Ward

Elizabeth W.

I am a freelance editor with over eighteen years experience. My skills include proof reading, structural editing and copy editing.

London, United Kingdom

100% reply rate

View profile
Kimberly Broderick

Kimberly B.

Full time editorial freelancer (and former managing editor) working as a proofreader, copyeditor, development editor, and project manager.

Montvale, NJ, USA

94% reply rate

View profile
Neil Kelly

Neil K.

Non-fiction project editor/writer. All genres/ages. Movie/TV includes Game of Thrones, Battlestar Galactica, Marvel Avengers, Star Wars.

100% reply rate

View profile