Lisa Davis

Lisa Davis - Editor Tick

Children's publishing specialist (Picture Book, Middle Grade & YA) with 9+ years' experience in editorial, rights and book buying.

Request a quote
Reedsy profile URL https://reedsy.com/l-davis
Verified identity Lock

Overview

Reviews (4)
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Want to make your book the one that will inspire a child to love reading? Or perhaps tackle a difficult subject that will really get kids thinking? Whether it's developing a picture book, copy editing a middle grade title or proofreading a YA novel, I'd love to hear from you!

I'm a children's publishing professional with over 8 years in the industry across several publishers and departments including editorial, rights and production. Prior to going freelance, I ran the purchasing and selection for BookTrust (the UK's largest children's reading charity), buying over 3.5 million books a year to give directly to children across the UK. Now I want to share my expertise on what makes a great children's book that will help develop a lifelong love of reading.

As well as freelance editorial work, I still consult with publishers helping them develop new series or feeding back on how they can improve books they already have in the works. Over the past few years, I've been in regular contact with nearly every publisher in the UK (and a few beyond).

Because I used to purchase books that went to every child in the UK, I look at books differently from a lot of editors. When I read a book, it's with children of all backgrounds in mind, and I can highlight subtle changes that will open up a book to more readers (and sometimes retailers). I'm experienced in all types of children's books (baby books, picture books, middle grade, YA), and specialise in books for ages 0-12.

I'm originally from the US but lived in the UK for nearly 10 years, so can comfortably work in both UK and US English. I currently live in Munich, Germany.
Languages
English (UK)
English (US)
Fiction
Children's - Middle Grade
Children's Picture Books
Young Adult & Teen

Certifications

  • Basic Proofreading Certificate - The Publishing Training Centre
  • MA, Publishing - University of the Arts London
  • Copywriting Workshop - Hachette Children's Books

Work experience

Freelance Children's Book Consultant

Self-employed
October, 2018 – Present (6 months)

Providing freelance editorial and consultancy services to authors, publishers and other organisations involved in children's books and literacy.

Book Selection & Purchasing Manager

BookTrust
February, 2016 – October, 2018 (over 2 years)

I managed the selection and purchasing of all titles for BookTrust's book gifting programmes, which range from ages 0-14. This includes two titles that are given to every baby born in England, one title that is given to every toddler, one title for every child starting reception, and a set of books provided for free to secondary schools in England. I also procured books for children with additional needs, and specially selected books for children in the care system. I purchased around 3.5 million books annually and worked closely with all UK children's publishers.

I helped set up and run an initiative to scout for books not yet published in English and assisted in getting them translated into English.

I also wrote reviews for the BookTrust website every month.

Editor / Editorial Assistant

Hachette Children's Group
October, 2014 – February, 2016 (over 1 year)

Started off as Editorial Assistant, supporting the Publishing Director, Picture Book Publisher and the Fiction Editorial Director across the Hodder Children's Book list from picture books to YA.

Promoted to Editor at Hodder Children's Books, working specifically on the development and growth of the Enid Blyton brand.

Rights Coordinator

Simon & Schuster UK
May, 2014 – October, 2014 (5 months)

Coordinated all foreign-language printings across the S&S Children’s UK and US lists, working closely with the editorial team and international publishers.

Production Coordinator

Make Believe Ideas
July, 2012 – May, 2014 (almost 2 years)

Global Sales Operations Assistant

Dorling Kindersley (DK Books)
October, 2010 – July, 2012 (over 1 year)

Portfolio (10 selected works)

The Loose Ends List

Carrie Firestone

A Very Bothersome Bear: Book 3 (Knight in Training)

Vivian French

Very Bothersome Bear

Very Bothersome Bear

The Cherry Tree Farm Story Collection (Bumper Short Story Collections)

Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's timeless collection of farm stories, perfect for holidays or rainy days, and an ideal gift for anyone who loved the stories during their own childhood to pass on to the next generation of readers.Benjy, Penny, Rory and Sheila are spending the holidays with their aunt and uncle at Cherry Tree Farm. They play with the animals and learn to feed them, roam the countryside and hunt fo... read more

Enid Blyton's timeless collection of farm stories, perfect for holidays or rainy days, and an ideal gift for anyone who loved the stories during their own childhood to pass on to the next generation of readers.Benjy, Penny, Rory and Sheila are spending the holidays with their aunt and uncle at Cherry Tree Farm. They play with the animals and learn to feed them, roam the countryside and hunt fo... read more

Dark Tide: Book 3 (Waterfire Saga)

Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world. Leaders of a resistance to the barbaric new regime, Serafina and Neela, are working hard to destabilise Vallerio, the new ruler of Cerulea. Becca, Ava and Ling are still hunting for their ancestors' talismans; the keys to keeping an ancient evil locked in its icy prison. Astrid finally returns home to Ondalina to find that all is not as she left ... read more

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world. Leaders of a resistance to the barbaric new regime, Serafina and Neela, are working hard to destabilise Vallerio, the new ruler of Cerulea. Becca, Ava and Ling are still hunting for their ancestors' talismans; the keys to keeping an ancient evil locked in its icy prison. Astrid finally returns home to Ondalina to find that all is not as she left ... read more

The Pest in the Nest: Book 2 (Rabbit and Bear)

Julian Gough

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books.'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)'PEACE AND QUIET,' shouts Rabbit. 'THAT'S ALL I WANT.'Owch. He's hurt his own ears again.What with Bear's ... read more

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books.'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)'PEACE AND QUIET,' shouts Rabbit. 'THAT'S ALL I WANT.'Owch. He's hurt his own ears again.What with Bear's ... read more

My Funny Family Gets Funnier

Chris Higgins

My Funny Family Gets Funnier

My Funny Family Gets Funnier

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor: Book 1

Andy Riley

The first in a fun new series - 'Brilliantly original and hilarious ...it's nearly as good as one of my books' David Walliams. 'One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates' The Guardian Edwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything., Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants... read more

The first in a fun new series - 'Brilliantly original and hilarious ...it's nearly as good as one of my books' David Walliams. 'One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates' The Guardian Edwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything., Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants... read more

Lisa has 4 reviews

StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Professionalism
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Quality
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Value
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
Communication
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey
StarStarStarStarStarStar greyStar greyStar greyStar greyStar grey

Rob Ansell

I have loved working with Lisa. She has been incredibly friendly and professional throughout and the whole process has been smooth and enjoyable. She cares about the success of each project and is willing to go the extra mile to make it come to life. My book is much better for her insights, encouragement and continued support. I would definitely work with her again and recommend her to anyone.

Read more

Rob Ansell, March 2019


Arran Dutton

I've absolutely loved working with Lisa on my project and would definitely work with her again and recommend to others. Right from the start Lisa showed tremendous enthusiasm and offered useful notes, whilst she also understood my objective for the project to work in audio form. The attention to detail and willingness to engage in further conversation and answer questions throughout the proce...

Read more

Arran Dutton, March 2019


Courtney Connor

Lisa is great to work with. She offers amazing insight and helped me mold my picture book. Her communication is clear, concise, and constructive. Each response comes in a timely manner. I would highly recommend Lisa to any author looking to edit their picture book.

Read more

Courtney Connor, February 2019


Mike McIntyre

Lisa was extremely responsive and professional. She demonstrated a good understanding of issues unique to children's picture books including the pros and cons of prose and rhymes. Lisa's feedback was rooted in solid principles and not rules which was appropriate for a project that did not easily fit into a standard. I also found that we established a rapport quickly and that helped make the wo...

Read more

Mike McIntyre, February 2019

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Thumb a12b408531004c10f09d93f9e181971131d2f5b6

Rachel Solomon

Experienced freelance editor with an eye for details. Specialties include MG, YA, romance. Multi-pubbed YA author at Simon & Schuster.

Seattle, WA, USA

Thumb 61398352a9f004dc9ba0e0ba00716717ee0b984b

Randi Abel

I worked at Random House and Macmillan and specialize in YA, children's books, self-help, and memoirs. Let me help you shine!

Denver, CO, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy