Gudrun Jobst

Gudrun Jobst – Designer

Decades of experience designing book covers that sell, I will support you on your self-publishing journey.

Overview

As an experienced Graphic Designer, I have spent over fifteen years crafting content and campaigns for established book and magazine publishers. For the last seven years I have set up on my own as a Freelancer adept with a wide range of skills for print and digital media marketing, specialising in book cover design and illustration.

I will support you on your self-publishing journey, by designing three different covers according to your brief and then we take one design forward to refine and adjust according to your specification. By the end of the process, you will have a professional cover design that sells!
Services
Non-Fiction
Cooking, Food, Wine, & Spirits
Fiction
Literary Fiction Mystery & Crime Women's Fiction

Work experience

Self-employed

Apr, 2012 — Present

Experienced freelance Graphic Designer available to support you in all creative campaigns.

Portfolio

NOW A MAJOR HBO EUROPE TV SERIES'Tough, knowing, high-octane crime fiction... Los Angeles has James Ellroy, Boston has Dennis Lehane, Oslo has Jo Nesbo. And Warsaw has its own two-fisted crime laureate in Jakub Żulczyk. Already a massive bestseller in Poland, ... read more
The Truth Waits

Susanna Beard

'This novel bears all the hallmarks of a great thriller. It not only deals with huge issues like greed, guilt, evil and revenge, but with Anna’s deeply personal search for justice, reconciliation, forgiveness and trust. Her journey takes her to the very limits... read more
'Ryan Ruby has written a brilliant and captivating novel ... dark as Patricia Highsmith's Ripley novels, with ... a setting that reminds one of Evelyn Waugh, and ... texture that evokes P.G. Wodehouse. It's as sharp as a tack, and the pages turn themselves'--B... read more
She Chose Me

Tracey Emerson

For fans of The Girl Before, Into the Water and The Couple Next Door'Not having a child can change your life as much as having one.' Grace has returned to London after twenty years abroad to manage her dying mother’s affairs. When she receives a blank Mother’s... read more
In a southern Africa violently split during Apartheid, Koba is taken away from her Kalahari desert-tribe after witnessing her parents being murdered by a party of white hunters. She slowly learns to adapt and survive in a dangerous but beautiful environment. H... read more
Suspicious

Jens Laursen-Schmidt

A Nordic Noir crime drama with detective Martin Bay . In Brazil, a woman goes missing, and her boss is imprisoned for embezzlement and fraud. In Copenhagen, a dead man is found without his head and hands. Assigned to the murder case, Detective Martin Bay is ke... read more
The Dessert Deli brings beautiful desserts to their rightful place: the forefront of any meal. This cookbook doesn’t just offer cupcakes, but covers the full spectrum of tasty treats, from indulgent Belgian Chocolate Mousse and Honeycomb, to zingy Orange and P... read more
Letters From Yelena

Guy Mankowski

'It's unusual to find a young male writer who can write with such sensitivity and maturity. Guy Mankowski's portrayal of the ballerina Yelena is wholly convincing, taking us inside her thoughts and feelings as she describes the course of her life, from harrowi... read more
Murmuration

Robert Lock

"The starlings dance in mesmerising patterns. In and out they fold. Up and down. Below them a Victorian pier has stood the test of time, carrying each generation over a cold and relentless sea."This heartfelt historical drama follows the lives of five stranger... read more

Gudrun has 13 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Ellen B.

Ellen B.

Nov, 2023

Gudrun Jobst exceeded all expectations on the cover design for my book. Despite a tight deadline, her professionalism and clear communication made the process seamless. If you're looking for a top-tier designer who thrives under a short turnaround, Gudrun Jobst is the one. Thank you, Gudrun, for bringing my book to life with your outstanding design.
Gudrun J.
Thank you very much Ellen, lovely to work with you - you know how to turn up the pressure! All the best with your sales.
Jens L.

Jens L.

May, 2023

Absolutely brilliant work. I couldn't be more pleased. I received 3 very different proposals for my cover based on my initial information. My biggest hassle was choosing :-) Later in the process I contracted for extra material, which was delivered quickly and in the highest quality. Gudrun comes with my highest recommendations. My only challenge is writing a new book, so I can use her services ...
Read more
Gudrun J.
Hi Jens, many thanks for the great review and it was a pleasure working with you. I look forward to meeting Martin Bay again in the near future. All the best with the book sales.
Mayson B.

Mayson B.

Oct, 2022

Gudrun is "top drawer". She did a fantastic job on my book cover. Innovative and catchy ideas - it really did make my book go from "good to great"! Prompt to reply to my questions, cutting edge ideas - I most highly recommend her - and will certainly be going back to her on my future works.
Gudrun J.
Thank you for the kind words Mayson, it was a pleasure working with you and best thing: you laughed at my bad jokes! Good luck with the sales and looking forward to the second volume.
Vicky G.

Vicky G.

Sep, 2021

I worked with Gudrun on my second upholstery book. I had some quote specific ideas and I felt Gudrun interpreted them really well. When things didn't align, Gudrun was very professional and resolved the issues quickly. Gudrun wasn't the cheapest quote I got, but I really do think you get what you pay for. Really pleased and hope to be working with her on my third book.
Gudrun J.
Thanks for the review Vicky and looking forward to working with you on your next book.
Shlomi H.

Shlomi H.

Jun, 2021

Gudrun's designs, patience, and professionalism make her a designed to whom I'll return for future projects. Our collaboration on my novel's cover, in particular, was seamless and thoughtful.
Gudrun J.
Thank you Shlomi, looking forward to the next one!

Sign up to read more reviews

Create a free Reedsy account to connect with Gudrun and thousands of other publishing professionals on Reedsy.

Professionals similar to Gudrun

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Daniel Rembert

Daniel R.

Lifelong lover of books with decades of experience in packaging books seeks new opportunities working directly with authors, near and far.

New York, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
Robin Locke Monda

Robin L.

I do nothing but covers! So let's start your year with a fabulous cover tailored just for you! It's time to get your book out in the world!

New York, United States

100% reply rate

View profile
Brook Perryman

Brook P.

Over 6 years experience as a Senior Designer creating compelling book covers and interior designs. Certified book nerd to boot.

Winston-Salem, NC, USA

100% reply rate

View profile