Close this message

Edward Bettison

Edward Bettison - Designer

Brighton

Graphic Design professional specialising in cover design and illustration.

Overview

With over 10 years experience working in the publishing industry, my aim is to get the the coreof the briefand to deliver a cover that strikes the right chord with both the author and reader. I work in a range of styles and have the ability to work with both very 'open' briefs where ideas are key.

My previous position was with Penguin Books Uk as Deputy Art Director.

Services
Languages
English
Fiction
Classics Crime & Mystery Historical Fiction Horror Literature Thriller
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Business & Management DIY & Crafts Economics History Music Nature Philosophy

Work experience

Art Director

Edward Bettison is self employed

August, 2004 – Present (over 12 years)

Running a creative consultancy specialising in Illustration, art direction, branding and advertising solutions for a broad range of companies in the UK, Europe and the US.

Deputy Art Director

Penguin Books UK

August, 2000 – May, 2004 (over 3 years)

Designing book jackets, commissioning and art directing photo shoots.
Commissioning and art directing outside designers and illustrators.

Senior Designer

Warner Music

August, 1997 – August, 2000 (about 3 years)

Designing record and CD sleeves, ad’s, point of sale and merchandising. Taking projects from initial concepts through to print. Working directly with bands, photographers, illustrators, printers, and label managers.
Writing and compiling treatments and concepts for photoshoots. Working on projects internationally for bands such as REM, Citizen King, Green Day and Madonna. Liaising directly with our American Burbank Office. Commissioning photographers and Illustrators, working with stylists, setting up and art directing shoots. Sourcing locations. Creating visuals, illustrations and typeface’s. Designing corporate ads to extremely tight deadlines. Purchasing stock photography. Keeping the studio up to date with software fonts and equipment.

Portfolio (11 selected works)

The Death's Head Chess Club

John Donoghue

SS Obersturmführer Paul Meissner arrives in Auschwitz from the Russian front. After being badly wounded he is fit only for administrative duty and his first and most pressing task is to improve flagging camp morale. He sets up a chess club which thrives, as the officers and enlisted men are allowed to gamble on the results of the games. However, when Meissner learns from a chance remark that c... read more

SS Obersturmführer Paul Meissner arrives in Auschwitz from the Russian front. After being badly wounded he is fit only for administrative duty and his first and most pressing task is to improve flagging camp morale. He sets up a chess club which thrives, as the officers and enlisted men are allowed to gamble on the results of the games. However, when Meissner learns from a chance remark that c... read more

Pour Me: A Life

A.A. Gill

What Every Child Needs To Know

Toby Young, Bondy, Caroline Bondy

What Every Parent Needs to Know is the bestselling, step-by-step guide to the new primary school curriculum from Toby Young and Miranda Bondy. What is your child learning each day in school? How can you tell if they are doing well or badly? And what can you do to help? This practical, detailed and user-friendly manual contains absolutely everything you need to know about primary schooling and ... read more

What Every Parent Needs to Know is the bestselling, step-by-step guide to the new primary school curriculum from Toby Young and Miranda Bondy. What is your child learning each day in school? How can you tell if they are doing well or badly? And what can you do to help? This practical, detailed and user-friendly manual contains absolutely everything you need to know about primary schooling and ... read more

Not Forgetting the Whale

John Ironmonger

When a young man washes up, naked, on the sands of St Piran in Cornwall, he is quickly rescued by the villagers. From the retired village doctor and the schoolteacher, to the beachcomber and the owner of the local bar, the priest's wife and the romantic novelist, they take this lost soul into their midst. But what the villagers don't know is that Joe Haak has fled the City of London fearing a ... read more

When a young man washes up, naked, on the sands of St Piran in Cornwall, he is quickly rescued by the villagers. From the retired village doctor and the schoolteacher, to the beachcomber and the owner of the local bar, the priest's wife and the romantic novelist, they take this lost soul into their midst. But what the villagers don't know is that Joe Haak has fled the City of London fearing a ... read more

The Incorruptibles

John Hornor Jacobs

In the gritty fantasy world of the Empire, life on the edges is hard—and the men must be harder in order to survive In the contested and unexplored territories at the edge of the Empire, a boat is making its laborious way up stream. Riding along the banks are the mercenaries hired to protect it—from raiders, bandits, and, most of all, the stretchers, elf-like natives who kill any intruders int... read more

In the gritty fantasy world of the Empire, life on the edges is hard—and the men must be harder in order to survive In the contested and unexplored territories at the edge of the Empire, a boat is making its laborious way up stream. Riding along the banks are the mercenaries hired to protect it—from raiders, bandits, and, most of all, the stretchers, elf-like natives who kill any intruders int... read more

Charlie Martz and Other Stories: The Unpublished Stories of Elmore Leonard

Elmore Leonard

When Elmore Leonard died in 2013, he left behind a 60-year legacy of crime novels, many of which have become modern classics. He also left behind a treasure trove of unpublished early stories. Largely written during his years as a copywriter at a Detroit advertising agency, these stories find Leonard exploring far-flung locations, from the bars of small-town New Mexico to a military base in Ku... read more

When Elmore Leonard died in 2013, he left behind a 60-year legacy of crime novels, many of which have become modern classics. He also left behind a treasure trove of unpublished early stories. Largely written during his years as a copywriter at a Detroit advertising agency, these stories find Leonard exploring far-flung locations, from the bars of small-town New Mexico to a military base in Ku... read more

Midwinterblood

Marcus Sedgwick

Have you ever had the feeling that you've lived another life? Been somewhere that has felt totally familiar even when you've never been there before, or felt that you've known someone even though you are meeting them for the first time? In a novel comprising seven short stories each of them influenced by a moon - flower moon, harvest moon, hunter's moon, blood moon - and travelling from 2073 b... read more

Have you ever had the feeling that you've lived another life? Been somewhere that has felt totally familiar even when you've never been there before, or felt that you've known someone even though you are meeting them for the first time? In a novel comprising seven short stories each of them influenced by a moon - flower moon, harvest moon, hunter's moon, blood moon - and travelling from 2073 b... read more

The Coincidence Authority

J. W. Ironmonger

For fans of THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, THE ADJUSTMENT BUREAU, Mark Watson and Mark Haddon, here is a cleverly written mystery about fate, circumstance, destiny and coincidence from COSTA AWARD-shortlisted author, John Ironmonger. This quirky read is hard to put down and spans philosophy, conflict, relationships and romance. Thomas Post is an expert on coincidences. He's an authorit... read more

For fans of THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, THE ADJUSTMENT BUREAU, Mark Watson and Mark Haddon, here is a cleverly written mystery about fate, circumstance, destiny and coincidence from COSTA AWARD-shortlisted author, John Ironmonger. This quirky read is hard to put down and spans philosophy, conflict, relationships and romance. Thomas Post is an expert on coincidences. He's an authorit... read more

Success, Your Way: Do What You're Meant to Do

G. Richard Shell

Wharton business school professor, G. Richard Shell, teaches you how to define your success personally in Success, Your Way. "Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life". (Steve Jobs). Everyone knows that you are supposed to 'follow your dream'. But where is the map to help you discover that dream? In Success, Your Way, award-winning author and Wharton School professor ... read more

Wharton business school professor, G. Richard Shell, teaches you how to define your success personally in Success, Your Way. "Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life". (Steve Jobs). Everyone knows that you are supposed to 'follow your dream'. But where is the map to help you discover that dream? In Success, Your Way, award-winning author and Wharton School professor ... read more

Superteams: How to Take Your Team to the Top!

Khoi Tu

When Disney shutdown production on Toy Story, how did Pixar save it? What turned sworn rivals into a winning Ryder Cup team? Why is the Stones' longevity down to Mick and Keith's rivalry? These are stories behind the world's greatest superteams. In seven fascinating case studies, Khoi Tu investigates why it is that some teams excel, endure, and overcome insuperable odds. He reveals how they de... read more

When Disney shutdown production on Toy Story, how did Pixar save it? What turned sworn rivals into a winning Ryder Cup team? Why is the Stones' longevity down to Mick and Keith's rivalry? These are stories behind the world's greatest superteams. In seven fascinating case studies, Khoi Tu investigates why it is that some teams excel, endure, and overcome insuperable odds. He reveals how they de... read more

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 200+ profiles.

B2fbced4fd9ff0007853f6c805a4ab17e54f9e8c

Jeff Huang

Jeff is an Art Director from NYC. He specializes in the Fantasy, YA, and Sci-Fi genre. Known for creating cover for Snow Like Ashes series.

New York, NY, USA

C229acf92efb25b9f8e5cf74d2a0cdda01aaf0b0

Alan Gilliland

Illustrator/designer. Subject range wide: fiction/non-fiction, children’s, covers. Ex-graphics ed., Daily Telegraph, 20 international awards

Lincoln, United Kingdom

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 200+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

Sign up to read the full review

and view 200+ profiles.