Cherie Chapman

Cherie Chapman - Designer

Thetford, UK

Specialising in fiction ranging from 9+ to adults. Previously worked for HarperCollins and Hachette UK. Lover of books, films and dogs.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

My name is Cherie Chapman and I'm a designer specialising in fiction book covers ranging from 9+ to adult.

Over the last six years, I've worked with Hodder & Stoughton, HarperCollins, Bookouture, Bonnier Zaffre, HotKey Books, Piccadilly Press, Avon, Head of Zeus and Canongate.

I am a highly organised and dedicated person. With every project I take on I am truly passionate from start to finish. I am more than happy to work independently or collaborate creatively with a team to meet tight deadlines and to create the best possible product.
Services
Languages
English
Fiction
Fantasy
Horror
Middle Grade
Mystery & Crime
Science Fiction
Women's Fiction
Young Adult

Work experience

Senior book designer

Self-employed
July, 2018 – Present (over 2 years)

Designer

Bonnier Zaffre, Hot Key books and Piccadilly Press
November, 2016 – July, 2018 (over 1 year)

Designer

HarperCollins
December, 2014 – November, 2016 (almost 2 years)

Junior ebook designer

Hodder and Stoughton
January, 2013 – November, 2014 (almost 2 years)

Portfolio (13 selected works)

Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle, Book 1)

Jay Kristoff

Brand New & Collectible Hardback Edition. Limited Exclusive Edition (with black-sprayed page edges). First Edition / First Printing (w/ full numberline, '1'). Hardback (in dust-jacket). Rare. Fine/Fine Condition. Fast UK shipment. For international delivery please inquire.

Brand New & Collectible Hardback Edition. Limited Exclusive Edition (with black-sprayed page edges). First Edition / First Printing (w/ full numberline, '1'). Hardback (in dust-jacket). Rare. Fine/Fine Condition. Fast UK shipment. For international delivery please inquire.

After Anna

Alex Lake

No.1 EBOOK BESTSELLER. A SUNDAY TIMES TOP 10 PAPERBACK BESTSELLER. A USA TODAY PAPERBACK BESTSELLER.The real nightmare starts when her daughter is returned…A bone-chilling psychological thriller that will suit fans of Gone Girl, The Couple Next Door and The Girl on the Train.A girl is missing. Five years old, taken from outside her school. She has vanished, traceless.The police are at a loss; ... read more

No.1 EBOOK BESTSELLER. A SUNDAY TIMES TOP 10 PAPERBACK BESTSELLER. A USA TODAY PAPERBACK BESTSELLER.The real nightmare starts when her daughter is returned…A bone-chilling psychological thriller that will suit fans of Gone Girl, The Couple Next Door and The Girl on the Train.A girl is missing. Five years old, taken from outside her school. She has vanished, traceless.The police are at a loss; ... read more

The Eleventh Trade

Alyssa Hollingsworth

REFUGEE BOY for a new generation - a debut novel for 9+ about a young refugee from Afghanistan and his search to find his grandfather's precious musical instrument.Back in Afghanistan, before the Taliban came, Sami's grandfather was a famous musician. People would come from miles around and pay thousands to hear him play the rebab.Now Sami and his grandfather are refugees living in Boston. The... read more

REFUGEE BOY for a new generation - a debut novel for 9+ about a young refugee from Afghanistan and his search to find his grandfather's precious musical instrument.Back in Afghanistan, before the Taliban came, Sami's grandfather was a famous musician. People would come from miles around and pay thousands to hear him play the rebab.Now Sami and his grandfather are refugees living in Boston. The... read more

Just Jack

Kate Scott

It's not easy fitting in at a new school. It's even harder to be yourself. A warm and funny story about making new friends and being yourself. Perfect for young fans of WONDER and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.Jack knows LOTS about starting a new school. Since Dad left, he and his mum have moved house five times. He also knows all about fitting in. The trick is to act exactly like everyone else and mak... read more

It's not easy fitting in at a new school. It's even harder to be yourself. A warm and funny story about making new friends and being yourself. Perfect for young fans of WONDER and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.Jack knows LOTS about starting a new school. Since Dad left, he and his mum have moved house five times. He also knows all about fitting in. The trick is to act exactly like everyone else and mak... read more

The Twisted Tree

Rachel Burge

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.Determined to understand he... read more

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.Determined to understand he... read more

Sunflowers in February

Phyllida Shrimpton

Brand New!! Re-check ISBN before Purchase

Brand New!! Re-check ISBN before Purchase

Kill Me Twice: A compulsively gripping thriller perfect for fans of Harlan Coben (A Morgan Vine Thriller)

Simon Booker

'Booker's fast paced, twisting thrillers are a must-read for anyone who loves a good page turner' Simon Kernick'A must-read' Mark Billingham'Val McDermid meets Stephen King' Hadley FreemanKarl Savage is dead.He must be. His ex, Anjelica, is in prison for murdering him in an arson attack. Multiple forensic experts testified to finding his charred remains.So when Anjelica begs investigative jour... read more

'Booker's fast paced, twisting thrillers are a must-read for anyone who loves a good page turner' Simon Kernick'A must-read' Mark Billingham'Val McDermid meets Stephen King' Hadley FreemanKarl Savage is dead.He must be. His ex, Anjelica, is in prison for murdering him in an arson attack. Multiple forensic experts testified to finding his charred remains.So when Anjelica begs investigative jour... read more

Starship Troopers

Robert A. Heinlein

5,000 years in the future, humanity faces total extermination. Our one defence: highly-trained soldiers who scour the metal-strewn blackness of space to hunt down a terrifying enemy: an insect life-form known only as 'Bugs.' This is the story of trooper Johnny Rico, from his idealistic enlistment in the infantry of the future through his rigorous training to the command of his own platoon. And... read more

5,000 years in the future, humanity faces total extermination. Our one defence: highly-trained soldiers who scour the metal-strewn blackness of space to hunt down a terrifying enemy: an insect life-form known only as 'Bugs.' This is the story of trooper Johnny Rico, from his idealistic enlistment in the infantry of the future through his rigorous training to the command of his own platoon. And... read more

Stealing Into Winter (Shadow in the Storm, Book 1)

Graeme K. Talboys

A breathtaking tale of adventure, survival and loyalty.When the thief Jeniche finds her prison cell collapsing around her, she knows it is not going to be a good day.Certainly, the last thing she wanted once she escaped was to become involved with a group of monks and nuns being hunted by the Occassan soldiers who have invaded the city. Nor did she want to help the group flee by being their gu... read more

A breathtaking tale of adventure, survival and loyalty.When the thief Jeniche finds her prison cell collapsing around her, she knows it is not going to be a good day.Certainly, the last thing she wanted once she escaped was to become involved with a group of monks and nuns being hunted by the Occassan soldiers who have invaded the city. Nor did she want to help the group flee by being their gu... read more

Cherie has 17 reviews

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Emory Shepherd
Cherie was so amazingly helpful in the book cover process and delivered a cover that was so much more that I could’ve expected from anyone. The first proof copy of my book got delivered to my house today, and the sight of it brought tears to my eyes. I love the cover and everything about it. I highly recommend Cherie!! Emory Shepherd

Emory Shepherd, September 2020


Carlos Serna
I gave Cherie the input she needed to start thinking and a lot of freedom (since I am a useless designer), then she came back with an awesome concept, creative, unique and very fitting to my novel. And then, to top it all, she was flexible enough to take that concept and enhance it to fit my SIX parts (since I needed different covers for each of them). Cannot be happier.

Carlos Serna, September 2020


DS Quinton
This was my first time working with Cherie and I'm very happy with the designs she produced. It was a difficult concept I had in my mind and she methodically worked through them until we landed on just the right combination of elements. Great experience and will definitely collaborate with her again.

DS Quinton, August 2020


Eric Scott
Cherie was a pleasure! She gave me many choices for a cover and helped walk me through the entire process from start to finish. Would highly recommend her to anyone looking for design help on a cover or any other media items.

Eric Scott, June 2020


Lee Dorsett
Cherie diligently prepared a series of great covers for me to choose one of them for my supernatural thriller, The Faces of Ixchel. She is easy to communicate with, and flexibly altered elements and offered suggestions which helped to make the cover great. Cherie did a very professional job, producing a beautiful cover which I feel truly represents my book. I'm very happy with the job she did.

Lee Dorsett, May 2020

Read more reviews

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Andrew Tennant

Professionally typesetting and ebook authoring for large publishing houses, independent publishers and self-publishers for over 25 years.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Erling Saevarsson

Professional illustrator with a passion for creating compelling illustrations that evoke an emotional response with the viewer.

Kittery, ME, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy