Cherie Chapman

Cherie Chapman - Designer

Thetford, UK

Specialising in fiction ranging from 9+ to adults. Previously worked for HarperCollins and Hachette UK. Lover of books, films and dogs.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

Reviews (7)
My name is Cherie Chapman and I'm a designer specialising in fiction book covers ranging from 9+ to adult.

Over the last six years, I've worked with Hodder & Stoughton, HarperCollins, Bookouture, Bonnier Zaffre, HotKey Books, Piccadilly Press, Avon, Head of Zeus and Canongate.

I am a highly organised and dedicated person. With every project I take on I am truly passionate from start to finish. I am more than happy to work independently or collaborate creatively with a team to meet tight deadlines and to create the best possible product.
Services
Languages
English
Fiction
Children's - Middle Grade
Crime & Mystery
Fantasy
Horror
Science Fiction
Thriller
Women's Fiction
Young Adult & Teen

Work experience

Senior book designer

Self-employed
July, 2018 – Present (about 1 year)

Designer

Bonnier Zaffre, Hot Key books and Piccadilly Press
November, 2016 – July, 2018 (over 1 year)

Designer

HarperCollins
December, 2014 – November, 2016 (almost 2 years)

Junior ebook designer

Hodder and Stoughton
January, 2013 – November, 2014 (almost 2 years)

Portfolio (13 selected works)

Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle, Book 1)

Jay Kristoff

Brand New & Collectible Hardback Edition. Limited Exclusive Edition (with black-sprayed page edges). First Edition / First Printing (w/ full numberline, '1'). Hardback (in dust-jacket). Rare. Fine/Fine Condition. Fast UK shipment. For international delivery please inquire.

Brand New & Collectible Hardback Edition. Limited Exclusive Edition (with black-sprayed page edges). First Edition / First Printing (w/ full numberline, '1'). Hardback (in dust-jacket). Rare. Fine/Fine Condition. Fast UK shipment. For international delivery please inquire.

After Anna

Alex Lake

No.1 EBOOK BESTSELLER. A SUNDAY TIMES TOP 10 PAPERBACK BESTSELLER. A USA TODAY PAPERBACK BESTSELLER.The real nightmare starts when her daughter is returned…A bone-chilling psychological thriller that will suit fans of Gone Girl, The Couple Next Door and The Girl on the Train.A girl is missing. Five years old, taken from outside her school. She has vanished, traceless.The police are at a loss; ... read more

No.1 EBOOK BESTSELLER. A SUNDAY TIMES TOP 10 PAPERBACK BESTSELLER. A USA TODAY PAPERBACK BESTSELLER.The real nightmare starts when her daughter is returned…A bone-chilling psychological thriller that will suit fans of Gone Girl, The Couple Next Door and The Girl on the Train.A girl is missing. Five years old, taken from outside her school. She has vanished, traceless.The police are at a loss; ... read more

The Eleventh Trade

Alyssa Hollingsworth

REFUGEE BOY for a new generation - a debut novel for 9+ about a young refugee from Afghanistan and his search to find his grandfather's precious musical instrument.Back in Afghanistan, before the Taliban came, Sami's grandfather was a famous musician. People would come from miles around and pay thousands to hear him play the rebab.Now Sami and his grandfather are refugees living in Boston. The... read more

REFUGEE BOY for a new generation - a debut novel for 9+ about a young refugee from Afghanistan and his search to find his grandfather's precious musical instrument.Back in Afghanistan, before the Taliban came, Sami's grandfather was a famous musician. People would come from miles around and pay thousands to hear him play the rebab.Now Sami and his grandfather are refugees living in Boston. The... read more

Just Jack

Kate Scott

It's not easy fitting in at a new school. It's even harder to be yourself. A warm and funny story about making new friends and being yourself. Perfect for young fans of WONDER and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.Jack knows LOTS about starting a new school. Since Dad left, he and his mum have moved house five times. He also knows all about fitting in. The trick is to act exactly like everyone else and mak... read more

It's not easy fitting in at a new school. It's even harder to be yourself. A warm and funny story about making new friends and being yourself. Perfect for young fans of WONDER and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.Jack knows LOTS about starting a new school. Since Dad left, he and his mum have moved house five times. He also knows all about fitting in. The trick is to act exactly like everyone else and mak... read more

The Twisted Tree

Rachel Burge

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.Determined to understand he... read more

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.Determined to understand he... read more

Sunflowers in February

Phyllida Shrimpton

Brand New!! Re-check ISBN before Purchase

Brand New!! Re-check ISBN before Purchase

Kill Me Twice: A compulsively gripping thriller perfect for fans of Harlan Coben (A Morgan Vine Thriller)

Simon Booker

'Booker's fast paced, twisting thrillers are a must-read for anyone who loves a good page turner' Simon Kernick'A must-read' Mark Billingham'Val McDermid meets Stephen King' Hadley FreemanKarl Savage is dead.He must be. His ex, Anjelica, is in prison for murdering him in an arson attack. Multiple forensic experts testified to finding his charred remains.So when Anjelica begs investigative jour... read more

'Booker's fast paced, twisting thrillers are a must-read for anyone who loves a good page turner' Simon Kernick'A must-read' Mark Billingham'Val McDermid meets Stephen King' Hadley FreemanKarl Savage is dead.He must be. His ex, Anjelica, is in prison for murdering him in an arson attack. Multiple forensic experts testified to finding his charred remains.So when Anjelica begs investigative jour... read more

Starship Troopers

Robert A. Heinlein

5,000 years in the future, humanity faces total extermination. Our one defence: highly-trained soldiers who scour the metal-strewn blackness of space to hunt down a terrifying enemy: an insect life-form known only as 'Bugs.' This is the story of trooper Johnny Rico, from his idealistic enlistment in the infantry of the future through his rigorous training to the command of his own platoon. And... read more

5,000 years in the future, humanity faces total extermination. Our one defence: highly-trained soldiers who scour the metal-strewn blackness of space to hunt down a terrifying enemy: an insect life-form known only as 'Bugs.' This is the story of trooper Johnny Rico, from his idealistic enlistment in the infantry of the future through his rigorous training to the command of his own platoon. And... read more

Stealing Into Winter (Shadow in the Storm, Book 1)

Graeme K. Talboys

A breathtaking tale of adventure, survival and loyalty.When the thief Jeniche finds her prison cell collapsing around her, she knows it is not going to be a good day.Certainly, the last thing she wanted once she escaped was to become involved with a group of monks and nuns being hunted by the Occassan soldiers who have invaded the city. Nor did she want to help the group flee by being their gu... read more

A breathtaking tale of adventure, survival and loyalty.When the thief Jeniche finds her prison cell collapsing around her, she knows it is not going to be a good day.Certainly, the last thing she wanted once she escaped was to become involved with a group of monks and nuns being hunted by the Occassan soldiers who have invaded the city. Nor did she want to help the group flee by being their gu... read more

Cherie has 7 reviews

Professionalism
Professionalism
Quality
Quality
Value
Value
Communication & Punctuality
Communication & Punctuality

Christina Martens
It was an absolute pleasure to work with Cherie. She was professional, a great communicator and creative, giving me multiple options and adapting my inputs exceptionally well, creating a fantastic cover for me. I would definitely recommend her to others and hopefully work with her again in the future.

Christina Martens, June 2019


Bex Morrison-Corley
Cherie was an absolute legend. I came to her with very little knowledge of how to create a cover for my debut novel and she helped guide me through the process with patience and professionalism and a sense of humour. I couldn't have asked for more, the design was beautiful and just what I envisioned. We had fun collaborating on ideas and Cherie provided eight imaginative, and stylish images for...
Read more

Bex Morrison-Corley, May 2019


dina abdoulaye
Cherie was an absolute joy to work with;not only i loved every design she made but she also realized how inexperienced i was and went out of her way to educate me and direct me toward the right choice.She will definitely be my next pick for any other design i might need in the future.

dina abdoulaye, March 2019


Merlin Ward
Cherie took on a poisoned chalice and turned my cover into the finest claret. Thank you Cherie... next time you will have a clean slate. It was such a pleasure to work with you - I am thrilled with the end result.

Merlin Ward, February 2019


Glen Sobey
Working with Cherie was an outstanding experience. She gave me several amazing initial options for my book's front cover, more than I expected. Choosing the best from this group was very difficult. She made minor changes very quickly. The final product is beautiful, eye-catching, and depicts the themes and characters of the book perfectly. Cherie is a master of design and very easy to work with...
Read more

Glen Sobey, February 2019

Read more reviews

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Andrew Tennant

Professionally typesetting and ebook authoring for large publishing houses, independent publishers and self-publishers for over 25 years.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Jeff Huang

Jeff is an Art Director from NYC. He specializes in the Fantasy, YA, and Sci-Fi genre. Known for creating cover for Snow Like Ashes series.

New York, NY, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy