Alex Hammond

Alex Hammond – Editor

Publishing professional, editor and writing lecturer with 12 years experience, offering manuscript reviews, submission advice and mentoring.

Overview


I've worked in publishing for most of my professional life, and there is nothing I like more than talking to an author about their book, diving into the pages, and helping them identify any issues that might be holding their story back.

I hold a BA (Hons) in American Literature with Creative Writing from UEA, an MA in Creative Writing from the University of Lancaster, and a PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Southampton. After my MA, I worked at Rogers, Coleridge & White literary agency, working with authors such as Zadie Smith, Philip Hensher, Nick Hornby, Sandi Toksvig and Joe Dunthorne.

I've been an editor and literary consultant since 2014, and my clients include Ipsita Deb (Winner of the Arvon Mushens Prize 2021) and Ravindra Rathee (True To Their Salt, Amberley Publishing, 2022). I teach Publishing and Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia, and I teach short writing courses for Bloomsbury and regularly give talks and mentoring sessions for the Romantic Novelists' Association.

From literary fiction, commercial fiction across a range of genres, and narrative non-fiction, I would love to hear about your work and help you and your writing move forward. I'm more than happy to have an initial chat, so drop me an email and we can discuss your options.


"Alex is a skilled and empathetic editor and mentor. His knowledge of both the creative writing, and publishing process has been invaluable. He is also skilled at being able to put across complex messages with the power of good examples. It means that with his help I have developed as a writer at the same time as improving my manuscript." James Pearce, Cold, Mirador 2023

"Alex H’s insightful and supportive manuscript review was the boost I needed to fully realise all the work that I’d put into my novel. It was professional, thoughtful and right on the button in every way. He helped me gain the necessary distance from my work and see what needed developing and what my next steps should be. I feel extremely buoyant going forward with the next draft of my book, and confident that I can work it into a fit shape and ready to be submitted to agents." Adrian Harris

"After two years work on my first novel I was totally worn out but after receiving Alex H's book report I was full of enthusiasm, motivation and raring to go on what I hope will be the last edit. His comments on what I'd done well and what could be improved were spot on and I'm more than happy to recommend him." Kim Brooke

"Alex is an amazing editor. I have everything I need to revise the manuscript." Craig Moloney

Services
Fiction
Action & Adventure Contemporary Fiction Historical Fiction Romance
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs History
Languages
English (UK) English (US)

Work experience

University of East Anglia

Sep, 2018 — Present

Self-employed

May, 2017 — Present

Cornerstones Literary Consultancy

Oct, 2014 — Jun, 2017 (over 2 years)

Rogers, Coleridge & White Ltd

Aug, 2010 — Mar, 2013 (over 2 years)

Portfolio

Made with Reedsy
Yellow Bird's Song

Miller, Heather

Developmental Editing
Valentine Grey

Sandi Toksvig

The Quick

Owen, Lauren

Wild Abandon

Dunthorne, Joe

One takeaway dinner. Two lonely hearts. Did somebody order a rom com? ‘A really sweet, warm-hearted read – a winner for fans of Jasmine Guillory or Beth O'Leary!’ Niamh Hargan, author of Twelve Days in May ‘A delicious rom-com! ’ Kate Bromley, author of Talk B... read more
Cold

JIM PEARCE

The near future is a world in which scientists and their AI got it wrong. Rising temperatures have caused fires that burned landmasses, and the ash from these fires block out the sun. The resulting cold is extreme, like a nuclear winter, and was a mass extinct... read more
Entanglement

Thomas, Andrew J

Alex has 4 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Greg D.

Greg D.

Mar, 2024

Working with Alex was wonderful. He was both supportive but critical where he thought needed. He sent a long commentary as well as a track changes version of my manuscript. Even scheduled two zoom sessions. His input has helped me understand what needs changes/improvement, and I'm following up on all. All of this in a friendly thoughtful manner. I could not have picked a better mentor and would...
Read more
Luís Pedro B.

Luís Pedro B.

Mar, 2024

Quality review. Lots of added value.
Ed W.

Ed W.

Jan, 2024

I made a great choice with Alex. He is on the same wavelength as me and immediately bought into the plot and what I was trying to achieve. I found his coaching very encouraging: constructive, non-judgmental and with a light touch, i.e. little in the way of redlines but instead giving me some concrete examples of how to move from telling to showing and from narrative to a pacier and leaner dialo...
Read more
Bruce K.

Bruce K.

Jul, 2023

Alex is a nice guy, with lots of good ideas. He put me on the right track.

Professionals similar to Alex

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

jeremy fernando

jeremy F.

General Editor at Delere Press, and Curator for the thematic magazine, One Imperative. Specialises in working with creative non-fiction

Singapore

86% reply rate

View profile
Sohini Ghose

Sohini G.

Editor of award-winning and bestselling books, helping authors convey their voice and vision. I'm also an internationally published author.

99% reply rate

View profile
Anna Krusinski

Anna K.

Making your author dreams come true! Award-winning editor with 16+ years of experience working with beginners and seasoned authors alike.

Franklin, New York, USA

100% reply rate

View profile