DiscoverWomen's Fiction

Rebuilding Alexandra Small

By

Must read 🏆

A page-turner full of gossip and intrigue that follows WAG Allie's day-to-day life.

This book was refreshing, but at the same time had me biting my nails with mild anxiety. I never knew what was going to befall the main character Allie next. Nothing terrible happens to her, but every day some new annoyance, mishap, snide comment, or bullying occurs. At times I felt sorry for Allie and at other times I blamed her. Allie is not perfect, hasn't always made great decisions, and sometimes lashes out. She's like one version of ourselves, the version we are always trying to hide. Yet even then, I envy her. Allie doesn't suppress herself. She reacts. She says what she shouldn't and acts on impulse... but not all the time. She is trying to pick up her pieces and move on with her life, except she's been thrust into a state of limbo. Mo Fanning has cleverly crafted this complex environment for Allie and I was enthralled watching the ups and downs of her everyday life within this environment. I was forever guessing what she would do or say next. I couldn't put the book down. I was very curious about what was going to happen next. My life feels like it's so different from Allie's and I found her absolutely fascinating.


Allie is a WAG, thrust into the media and spotlight (mostly for her shortcomings or any negative drama surrounding her) because she's married to a well-known athlete. Every time someone recognizes Allie on the street, I was not shocked at the interactions, but disgusted by the media's negative portrayal of her. This is a reality of pop news and it was maddening to see Allie have to deal with this type of bullying. Allie wasn't always nice to others growing up, so perhaps the way people see her and treat her now might be some kind of karma, but she doesn't deserve it! Nobody does. The small window into the nasty way celebrities and those in the media are treated was both fascinating and saddening.


I felt like I was reading a mid-life crisis in action. Allie runs the gamut of moods, from hopeful to impassive to angry and worked up.


I was intrigued by Allie's relationship with her husband, her friends, and people in the media. The book features heavy dialogue that is well-written and really tells the whole story.


For those who love some good gossip and day-to-day comedic tragedy, this is the book for you!

Reviewed by

Hello! I'm an author and a book reviewer. I've reviewed ~400 Indie books since 2013 and just reached over 1000 blog posts since 2013! I love lists and challenges. I especially enjoy contemporary young adult books. I'm a fast reader and love spotting typos when reading ARCs.

About the author

Standup comic and writer, Mo has taught French to dropouts, sold his soul in a telesales sweatshop, swept the floors at his local Woolworths and flipped burgers at a motorway service station. Mo's highly readable novels appeal to readers who enjoy Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes and Jane Fallon. view profile

Published on June 04, 2021

70000 words

Contains mild explicit content ⚠️

Genre: Women's Fiction

Reviewed by