FeaturedYoung Adult

Two Like Me and You

By

Must read 🏆

Part heist story, part love story, part road trip — Two Like Me and You is clever, insightful, and a whole bunch of fun.

Chad Alan Gibbs' Two Like Me and You is a sharp, fast-paced, hilarious novel. The story follows Edwin Green, a teenager still recovering from a recent breakup (by text, and sent from his now-ex-girlfriend's father) as he agrees to follow his deliberately mysterious classmate Parker Haddaway on a group project that isn't turning out to be anything like the assignment.


All they were supposed to do was interview a World War II veteran — not break him out of the nursing home, fly him to Paris, and help him find his long-lost love.


They weren't supposed to steal a car.


They definitely weren't supposed to end up on CNN.


And Edwin is pretty sure he's not supposed to be falling in love with Parker.


Two Like Me and You is an excellent read for fans of John Green's Paper Towns or Ally Carter's Heist Society. Gibbs expertly weaves together the novel's two main stories — what's happening to Edwin and Parker in the present, and what happened to veteran Garland Lenox in the past — while keeping the plot taut and the twists unexpected.


A highly enjoyable novel, and highly recommended.

Reviewed by

Writer, editor, and teacher. I review one book a week at NicoleDieker.com as part of my daily posts on the art and the finances of a creative career. Am interested in books on writing and publishing, literary fiction, and SF&F.

Chapter One

About the author

Chad Alan Gibbs is the author of Two Like Me and You, which won the 2019 Rubery Book Award for YA & Fiction, and was named a Best Book of 2019 by Kirkus Reviews. He lives in Alabama with his wife, two sons, one dog, and an embarrassingly large collection of Star Wars action figures. view profile

Published on May 20, 2019

80000 words

Genre: Young Adult

Reviewed by