DiscoverYoung Adult

The Omicron Six

By

Loved it! 😍

Two teenage boys become fast friends after discovering extraordinary abilities in one another in this delightful coming-of-age adventure.

Cooper and Coupe have been in school together for years, but it isn’t until eighth grade that they discover how much they truly have in common. Cooper, who is nonverbal, is from a good home and is generally loved by teachers. Coupe comes to school bruised and in dirty clothes when he shows up at all. When Coupe takes a beating from a bully in Cooper’s place, their lives become intertwined beyond traditional friendship. The boys discover that each of them can do things their classmates cannot; including the ability to communicate with each other without speaking. Coupe is quickly welcomed into Cooper’s family, forcing Coupe to confront tragic monsters from his past, and opening up the two special boys to a future neither of them could have ever imagined.  


The Omicorn Six introduces the unlikely duo of Cooper and Coupe who, despite their names, could not have been raised in more different environments. Cooper is a super-strong, nonverbal boy without any friends. Coupe, wicked smart and silver-tongued, is treated poorly by teachers who mistake his frequent absences from school as apathy. As they embark on a coming-of-age adventure, they discover the power of choosing who to call family and the importance of loyalty in the face of uncertainty.


Our two protagonists are extraordinary, not only in what they can do, but in that they exhibit an impressive range of emotional skills. They communicate with each other and their parents, they care for one another and do emotional work to establish and upkeep a relationship that relies on both of them putting in effort. They care for each other before either of them has a real reason to, and while at times this seems like a fantastical proposal, the deep and urgent sense of connection they feel is the most hopeful and engaging aspect of the story. Cooper and Coupe are a powerful and exciting example of boys going on an adventure, coming-of-age, while putting an emphasis on both physical and mental wellbeing. 


This book occasionally leans into a mawkishness that is frequent in young adult literature, but every time the emotionally-charged storyline always straightens itself out. The villains, both science-fiction and very real, pose as a powerful challenge for the teens to overcome. Themes of found family, loyalty and brotherhood in the face of adversity make The Omicorn Six  an exciting addition to the cannon of YA adventure stories. This book is perfect for fans of James Patterson’s Maximum Ride series or Pittacus Lore’s I am Number Four, leaning slightly toward a middle grade audience.


The abuse Coupe endured in his upbringing is heart-wrenching and all too real, but the love and compassion Cooper exhibits, and brings out of Coupe, is the perfect counterpoint. The fast-friends adventure out into the adult world of truth, lies and intrigue all while keeping hold tightly onto the bond they share. This is an exciting start to a highly anticipated series.

Reviewed by

I am a book (and bread) lover based in NYC. I studied Monster Culture in undergrad, concentrating in Gender Performance across Monster Narratives. I love all things horror, science fiction, diverse and compelling. I'm passionate about reading weird, unexpected and emotional stories across platforms.

About the author

Endy Wright received a degree in English literature from Grinnell College and his juris doctorate from the University of New Hampshire School of Law. Before becoming an attorney, he was a counselor for at-risk children in New Hampshire and a cross-community worker in Belfast, Northern Ireland. view profile

Published on November 30, 2020

Published by Koehler Books

90000 words

Contains mild explicit content ⚠️

Genre: Young Adult

Reviewed by