DiscoverFantasy

Overworld, The Dragon Mage Saga

By

Loved it! 😍

A fast-paced action-adventure that lovers of books like Ready Player One will be thrilled with

Jamie Sinclair is an avid gamer who loves the challenge of playing online games. When Earth is threatened with extinction and forced onto a new planet called Overworld Jamie will have to put all his skills to use, only this time it is no game. On Overworld there are life and death consequences to your actions and one mistake can mean the end for someone in the Trials. Jamie has a bit of a disadvantage in the Trials because he has a hobbled foot but he doesn't let that stop him from being as much of a hero as he can. He does have one thing going for him though--he can cast magic and that makes him valuable to his friends and potentially deadly to his foes.


At times there is a bit of overexplaining of how the Trials game system works but if you love playing video games or are really into hard magic systems in fantasy this won't be an issue. The enemies are deadly and dangerous and make for interesting foes. Jamie's character develops well in most parts of the book and keeps the reader engaged. The action is fun and frenetic with what feels like real stakes involved. There are some standard fantasy bad guys but there are at least a few enemies that were surprising and fun to read about.


The world is quite well thought out and it's easy to get an understanding of how it works even if the reader is not a gamer. The author does a good job of setting up the first book while laying the groundwork for a sequel.


For readers who love books like Ready Player One, Warcross, or fantasy books full of orcs, elves, and the like, Overworld, the Dragon Mage Saga is a book that will be thoroughly enjoyable.

Reviewed by

I am an avid reader. I love books and discovering something new to recommend to people. I love epic fantasy and horror the most but I will read anything as long as it is good quality.

The Day the World Changed

About the author

I'm Rohan M. Vider, a South African author who writes fantasy and LitRPG novels. In November 2018, I released my debut novel, Crota, The Gods’ Game Volume I. Between my day job and family, I spend my time writing, reading and playing computer games, especially CRPGs and turn-based strategy games. view profile

Published on December 31, 2020

120000 words

Genre: Fantasy

Reviewed by