DiscoverPoetry

moonchild

By

Worth reading 😎

Fans of Rupi Kaur and Amanda Lovelace will enjoy Muensterer's collection, moonchild.

Synopsis

Divided into part I (the darkness) and part II (the light), "moonchild" is Laura Muensterer's long-awaited second book of poetry, covering themes ranging from spirituality to self-love. Within its pages, "moonchild" invites you on a journey to wholeness, where the darkness is revealed so your light is finally able to shine. In moonchild, Muensterer aims to connect people from all walks of life with universal truths that bind us together and make us uniquely human.

With each poem, Muensterer reminds us that healing is within reach, we simply must confront the darkness to discover the light that lies within us. Above all us, "moonchild" reminds you of your infinite potential so you regain control of your life and recognize the amazing power that lies within you.

Muensterer's second poetry collection, moonchild, is perfect for those who enjoy the pithy poetry of Amanda Lovelace or the work of Rupi Kaur centred on the self and growth. Through two parts, Muensterer seeks to identify the darkness but welcome in the light; her words encourage the reader to usher in the same.


Poems such as 'anything is possible', 'curiosity' and 'wanderlust' evoke an inner freedom; the opportunity to welcome change rather than fear it.


"dilating my pupils
with my wildest dreams

filling my lungs with
oxygen so smooth

i feel like i have been
completely renewed"
- anything is possible


Muensterer does not deny the existence of sadness and depression either:


"i make the bed
do the laundry
wash the dishes

patiently waiting
for my moment
to feel something beyond
routine existence"
- purgatory


Thus, her work is incredibly relatable and at times her words hint at a talent which I unfortunately felt did not flourish in moonchild. This is because for me moonchild lacked the originality needed in an era of instant gratification and the boom in the publication of poetry. moonchild closely resembles several recent poetry releases with its focus on 'the dark' and 'the light' and the use of short form/statement-like poetry rather than longer form explorations of the complexities of human nature. In short, I felt as if I had read moonchild before; it does not feel original and nor does it differentiate itself from its contemporaries.


This said, what Muensterer seeks to achieve with her work means her words of truth, comfort and hope, will no doubt find readers in need of this. Muensterer writes from a place of honesty, so even if for me her work lacks sophistication, it does not the lack the healing many will find and enjoy in moonchild.


"the wind carries me
through new seasons
of growth"
- blessings

Reviewed by

I am an English teacher and a writer. I published my first poetry collection, Between the Trees, in May 2019. I read widely and avidly and review through Reedsy Discovery, Amazon Vine and individual review requests. All reviews are published on Amazon, Goodreads and my blog - My Screaming Twenties.

Synopsis

Divided into part I (the darkness) and part II (the light), "moonchild" is Laura Muensterer's long-awaited second book of poetry, covering themes ranging from spirituality to self-love. Within its pages, "moonchild" invites you on a journey to wholeness, where the darkness is revealed so your light is finally able to shine. In moonchild, Muensterer aims to connect people from all walks of life with universal truths that bind us together and make us uniquely human.

With each poem, Muensterer reminds us that healing is within reach, we simply must confront the darkness to discover the light that lies within us. Above all us, "moonchild" reminds you of your infinite potential so you regain control of your life and recognize the amazing power that lies within you.

the darkness and light
live inside me

creating a universe of
thoughts
expectations
and desires

that i try my best
to balance
despite the sun’s
constant absence

black or white
fact or fiction

it’s all the same
when you’re living
in the clouds

waiting for the sun to rise
so you can finally
open your eyes
and experience
life’s beautiful skies

— moonchild

sometimes it feels like
i’m more than one person
changing roles
as if my unfiltered soul
does not deserve
to be experienced whole

— internal conflicts

voices fill my head with
self-doubt and insecurities

so i push aside
happiness and fulfillment
to give them more room

sooner than later
there will be no more space
for good things to bloom

— barren

i am filled
with insecurities

often positive
always curious

and simply trying
to find my place
in this world

— please be patient

just like the sun
welcomes us
in the morning

i too will rise taller
brighter
and more powerful
than before

— rebirth

there are people who give up
lose hope
and find negativity
in everything

and then
there are people
like you and i

people who have experienced
pain
sadness
and betrayal

and choose to be
a light in people’s life
anyway

— where my hope comes from

i am a tree
rooted in simplicity
grounded in growth

and planted for a purpose
far beyond my own
limited perception

— divinity
About the author

Through poetry and illustration, Laura explores various aspects of the human experience while shedding light on the many ways our past shapes our present and future self. view profile

Published on August 14, 2020

Published by Kelley Creative

5000 words

Genre: Poetry

Reviewed by

Enjoyed this review?

Get early access to fresh indie books and help decide on the bestselling stories of tomorrow. Create your free account today.

or

Or sign up with an email address

Create your account

Or sign up with your social account