This book will launch on Jan 28, 2021. Currently, only those with the link can see it. đź”’

Must read 🏆

Bone-chilling, jaw-dropping, action-packed thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Synopsis

Harmsworth.

A remote, mist-shrouded island in the Russian Arctic.

Archaeology Professor Callum Ross makes the discovery of a lifetime: a prehistoric ice mummy preserved for thousands of years by the sub-zero temperatures. Only, they didn't die of natural causes...

As Callum races to unravel the mystery of the mutilated corpse, others race to sabotage the expedition, and he and his team are left stranded on the island. And they are not alone. Someone, or something, relentless is stalking them.

As the arctic mist descends and the death toll rises, the team is thrust into a nightmare fight for survival, involving submarines, cyber warfare and Spetsnaz. But none of this can prepare them for the real terror that survives deep within the island’s heart: a secret so ancient it's been overlooked by time itself.

COLONY is an edge-of-your seat action thriller that will appeal to fans of Clive Cussler, James Rollins and Michael Crichton.

Multi-award-winning and #1 bestselling thriller author Avanti Centrae described Colony as: “Deliciously terrifying. Cross is a talented new voice.”

What a fantabulous thriller! Action-packed, bone-chilling, riveting thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Fasten your seatbelts coz you are in for one heck of a roller-coaster ride!


Having read the blurb, I thought this story is all about 'innocent people caught between the fight of two powerful and rich businessmen'. But I was so wrong! A folklore, a sinister secret and evolution plays a major role in shaping whatever is hiding in the mist.


Our main character Callum is perfectly imperfect. His dedication to work has cost him his family. He was assigned to the mission when he was vacationing with his son Jamie. Callum had to leave immediately and Jamie is not happy. Nor is Callum's ex-wife. When Callum reaches Harmsworth, he's not sure whom to trust. The wealthy Russian business man who's in charge of this expedition seems a little shady too.


As days pass by, one of his colleagues goes missing and a search party is sent. Meanwhile, a rival businessman wants to destroy the mission and he has a man on the inside to do the job for him. As people go missing and their mutilated bodies are found later, Callum and his mates realize they are not alone on the island. Also, whatever is hiding in the mist is stalking them and ready to attack when the time is right.


The suspense and the tension are at an all-time high throughout the story. Character development is impressive and the plot to story development is superb. I was hooked on to the story and could not put it down until the end. An action-packed thriller with a dash of horror makes Colony an engrossing read.


As a debut novel, Colony is too good to be true. I absolutely enjoyed every bit of the story and I am certainly looking forward to reading Benjamin Cross' next book. 

Reviewed by

A voracious reader who loves books of the genre Crime and Mystery. I also read chick-lit and literary fiction so as to balance all the mysteries I devour.

Synopsis

Harmsworth.

A remote, mist-shrouded island in the Russian Arctic.

Archaeology Professor Callum Ross makes the discovery of a lifetime: a prehistoric ice mummy preserved for thousands of years by the sub-zero temperatures. Only, they didn't die of natural causes...

As Callum races to unravel the mystery of the mutilated corpse, others race to sabotage the expedition, and he and his team are left stranded on the island. And they are not alone. Someone, or something, relentless is stalking them.

As the arctic mist descends and the death toll rises, the team is thrust into a nightmare fight for survival, involving submarines, cyber warfare and Spetsnaz. But none of this can prepare them for the real terror that survives deep within the island’s heart: a secret so ancient it's been overlooked by time itself.

COLONY is an edge-of-your seat action thriller that will appeal to fans of Clive Cussler, James Rollins and Michael Crichton.

Multi-award-winning and #1 bestselling thriller author Avanti Centrae described Colony as: “Deliciously terrifying. Cross is a talented new voice.”

6000 BC


The hunter’s whalebone skis tore across the drift, carving up the surface and thrusting clouds of snow into his wake. The slipstream lashed his cheeks as he accelerated. His eyes watered. His muscles ached. Beneath the thick fur lining of his jacket he could feel the bite of his talisman, the tips of the three teeth probing at his skin.

He threw a glance behind.

Nothing; it was nowhere to be seen.

Ahead, the slope gouged a narrow aisle through the outcrops of rock before disappearing into the blizzard. The snowfall was thickening around him, the mist closing in fast. Gritting his teeth, he drove his ski poles hard into the snow and propelled himself onwards.

As he sped downslope, the storm fed him glimpses of the world ahead. And there was something there, at the bottom of the slope. Like a dark ribbon draped across his path, it grew wider, darker with every glance…

The hunter’s eyes bulged with terror.

It was a gorge, wide and deep, hewn into the valley.

With no time to lose, he swerved away, calling on every last fibre of skill to keep his balance, to weave amongst the scattered outcrops now littering the way ahead…

…his ski ploughed into a talon of rock. There was a crunch as the shaft split open. His heart sank, his legs buckled and he was slung forward. In the chaos that followed, the momentum toyed with him, twisting his limbs around his torso. As he hit the ground, his ski snapped off at the toe and the jagged splinter sheared into his gut.

He tumbled for what seemed like eternity. Then silence.

He blinked his eyes open. The world was now a brutal haze. Blood dripped from his nose and lips, freezing into trails in the snow. He waited, breathed, slowly unfolded himself. As the delirium subsided, pain flared in his stomach, sent a surge of adrenaline coursing through his veins.

He staggered to his feet. His ribs were fractured and his shoulder dislocated, but he had to keep moving. Instinctively he reached for the shaft of bone sticking spear-like from his gut. Then he thought better. Leaving it to plug the wound, he took off as fast as he could along the side of the gorge.

Up ahead he could make out a towering rockface. A low, narrow tunnel was worn into its base where the line of the gorge passed through. It wasn’t much, but it was shelter. As he limped towards it, the world bucked suddenly and he was thrown forward. On reflex, he rolled straight over, straining for breath and clawing the snow from his face. He scanned around, his head darting from side to side with every imagined movement, his eyes wide, frantic. But there was nothing, just a thick curtain of white that suffocated his senses.

He glanced behind, searching out the tunnel. It was only a few strides away, and he prepared to drag himself to his feet—

A guttural hiss broke the silence.

The air froze in his lungs.

It was there. Right in front of him. Its head cocked. Its mouth cracked open. Watching. He had never believed the stories meant to frighten him as a child. But here they were: every tale, every description, every warning that he had ever ignored, staring down at him through the flurry.

Plumes of condensed breath fired from its nostrils as it slunk forward a pace, bobbing its head and shaking the snow from its back. Then it froze, its lips curling, peeling back to reveal the teeth emerging from its bloodshot gums. With its face caught in a snarl, it stretched its neck towards him and bellowed.

The hideous sound seemed to bite into his skull, and the hunter scrabbled to his feet in sheer terror. His hand jumped instinctively to the bag hanging from his belt. He fought with the lashings, desperately wrenching them free, until he could tear the fibre sack loose and hold it before him.

The creature’s eyes flashed. It screamed out and lunged at him, sending the bag flying from his grip and skidding across the ice into the mouth of the tunnel. With the creature’s frenzied screeching ringing in his ears, the hunter dropped to his knees and scrabbled after it, dragging himself in through the narrow folds of rock.

The cold seeped up into his palms. Then the gut-churning stench of putrefying meat wafted in from behind him. Pain erupted in his ankles and panic took hold. He screamed out, struggling as unseen teeth hacked into his flesh and stripped the strings of muscle from his bones. Clouds of steam billowed up into the night as his blood spilt out in rivers, and the freezing air congealed with the crunching of bone.

As the world began to fade, he reached forward and dug his fingers into the surface of the ancient stone. Then, with all that remained of his strength, he heaved himself on into the dark.

About the author

I'm an archaeologist and writer based in the UK. Colony is my debut novel, a fast-paced action-thriller set in the Arctic. It's due for publication in January 2021 and is available to pre-order now from all good bookstores. view profile

Published on January 28, 2021

Published by Book Guild Publishing Ltd

110000 words

Contains explicit content ⚠️

Genre: Thriller & Suspense

Reviewed by