Close this message

Rowan Stocks-Moore

Rowan Stocks-Moore - Designer

London, United Kingdom

I am a freelance illustrator and graphic designer with several years of experience working for companies such as Penguin, Disney and HBO.

Overview

I am a freelance illustrator and graphic designer. I create cover art, design and interior illustrations for a variety of genres. I have produced cover art and spot art for Penguin Random House, illustrations for children's text books and cover art for books by independent authors. I also work with theatres, film studios and musicians to create promotional art and design, both for print and online. In my spare time I create prints of my own work which sell on Urban Outfitters,, Not On The Highstreet, Etsy and more.

Services
Languages
English
Fiction
Children's - Middle Grade Children's Picture Books Horror Science Fiction Young Adult & Teen
Non-Fiction
Publishing Travel

Work experience

Freelance Graphic Designer

Self-employed
January, 2017 – March, 2017 (about 2 months)

Commissioned to design cover art and marketing materials for the recording artist ‘Omahrose'.
• Worked closely with the team to produce work that best suited the artist’s creative vision.
• Employed a three colour palette and typography to create simple yet striking imagery.

Freelance Illustrator

Self-employed
October, 2016 – January, 2017 (3 months)

Hired to create over one hundred line drawings for a children's text book series.

Freelance Illustrator

Self-employed
July, 2016 – September, 2016 (2 months)

Created a KV for the second season of 'The Pact', along with five poster designs for promotional purposes.

Freelance Illustrator

Self-employed
July, 2015 – August, 2015 (about 1 month)

I was asked to create a poster for the promotion of the Twentieth Century Fox film 'Hitman: Agent 47'​. The design was used for the films social media presence as part of a '47 days of Hitman' promotional campaign. The work involved both illustrative properties and graphic design elements.

Freelance Illustrator

Self-employed
June, 2015 – July, 2015 (about 1 month)

I was hired by Cohn & Wolfe to produce illustrative work for a pneumonia vaccination campaign run by Pfizer. The work involved creating numerous ideas for an image to be used internationally as part of the campaign. I was able to produce creative work that fit the brief within a tight deadline.

Freelance Illustrator

Self-employed
May, 2015 – June, 2015 (about 1 month)

I was hired to create twenty alternative film poster designs to be featured on the website of a gambling company. The work was done over the course of ten days and therefore required concentration, great communication skills with the client, and creative thinking.

Freelance Graphic Designer

Self-employed
November, 2014 – January, 2015 (2 months)

I created a poster design for the web-series 'The Walker' for the news and lifestyle site Refinery29. The poster achieved the aims of both appealing to the target audience and reflecting the tone of the show.

Freelance Illustrator and Graphic Designer

Self-employed
November, 2014 – January, 2015 (2 months)

I created cover work for a trilogy of books by author Martin Lastrapes. These involved work on Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop. Good communication and research was essential in creating a successful series of covers.

Freelance Illustrator

Self-employed
March, 2014 – April, 2014 (about 1 month)

I was commissioned by Random House to create artwork to be presented to the author Jo Nesbø to celebrate the millionth sale of his book 'The Snowman' in the UK. This was an exciting opportunity as the filmic crime novels of Nesbø, who has old twenty three million copies (and counting) of his books globally, were a good fit for my sometimes dark and contemporary style.

Freelance Illustrator

Self-employed
September, 2013 – January, 2016 (over 2 years)

In September 2013, Penguin Group USA asked if I would create artwork for a series of books. The books are aimed at an 11-13 year old female age group and are part of Penguin's Young Readers branch. The first of the book covers was completed by December 2013 but further titles will be ongoing, and I will be completing them in a freelance capacity while working on other projects over the coming months. All deadlines have been adhered to and communication between the company and myself has been excellent. I very much look forward to collaborating with them on future work.

Freelance Illustrator

Self-employed
October, 2012 – January, 2013 (3 months)

I was approached by The Walt Disney Company in 2012 and asked to create some artwork for merchandise to be released in the second quarter of 2014. The work consisted of four primary artworks in the Disney Villains theme, to feature on apparel and other merchandise to be sold by Disney. It was an honour not just to work for such an established company but to have also been approached by them in the first place. The company was highly understanding of my artistic vision and allowed me great freedom in creating work that both they and I were happy with.

Freelance Illustrator and Graphic Designer

Self-employed
July, 2012 – August, 2012 (about 1 month)

I was contacted by StickyEyes to create typographic artwork for the fitness brand Maxitone, creating eight typographic posters to promote the brand on both social media and in print advertisements.

Freelance Graphic Artist

Self-employed
May, 2012 – December, 2012 (7 months)

I was asked by The Royal Exchange Theatre to create artwork for all of the advertising materials for their winter production of Rats' Tales, written especially for the theatre by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy. I produced artwork for posters, flyers, banners, programs and static web advertisements. Working closely with the in-house designers I was able to produce work that met the theatre's high standards, met deadlines and was perfect for the target market. The production was very well received and the theatre is internationally renowned; as a result my work was featured widely in the press, which exposed my work to many new potential clients.

Freelance Graphic Designer

Self-employed
April, 2008 – October, 2010 (over 2 years)

Upon leaving university I took some time to decide what career path I would take. I was offered bar work and found the friendly, sociable atmosphere hard to resist. The job was a challenge as it wasn’t something I had experienced before but I quickly warmed to it. I was taught to value customer service and, working long shifts with few breaks, was taught the value of working hard for my wage. To further my design career I offered to produce promotional materials for the bar including posters, flyers and assisted in web design.

Freelance Graphic Designer

Self-employed
August, 2007 – August, 2009 (about 2 years)

This was the first job I had following university. I worked with staff members to design and
create advertising for events, manage web services and assist with corporate identity.

Portfolio (2 selected works)

The Vampire and the Hunter Trilogy (3 Book Series)

Martin Lastrapes

From Book 1: GRAND PRIZE WINNER (2015): SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA BOOK FESTIVALAWARD-WINNING FINALIST (2015): USA BEST BOOK AWARDSHONORABLE MENTION (2015): HALLOWEEN BOOK FESTIVALAdam and Jesus (the vampire and the hunter) have an innate antagonism, which is only heightened once they discover they're competing for the affections of the same girl. Olivia (the girl) is an aspiring author struggling to... read more

From Book 1: GRAND PRIZE WINNER (2015): SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA BOOK FESTIVALAWARD-WINNING FINALIST (2015): USA BEST BOOK AWARDSHONORABLE MENTION (2015): HALLOWEEN BOOK FESTIVALAdam and Jesus (the vampire and the hunter) have an innate antagonism, which is only heightened once they discover they're competing for the affections of the same girl. Olivia (the girl) is an aspiring author struggling to... read more

Pennyroyal Academy

M. A. Larson

Set in Grimm’s fairytale world, M.A. Larson’s Pennyroyal Academy masterfully combines adventure, humor, and magical mischief—perfect for fans of The School for Good and Evil.Pennyroyal Academy: Seeking bold, courageous youths to become tomorrow's princesses and knights… Come one, come all!A girl from the forest arrives in a bustling kingdom with no name and no idea why she is there, only to fi... read more

Set in Grimm’s fairytale world, M.A. Larson’s Pennyroyal Academy masterfully combines adventure, humor, and magical mischief—perfect for fans of The School for Good and Evil.Pennyroyal Academy: Seeking bold, courageous youths to become tomorrow's princesses and knights… Come one, come all!A girl from the forest arrives in a bustling kingdom with no name and no idea why she is there, only to fi... read more

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 700+ profiles.

595cf2ba33043ab3b07fda9185ff4de435a66312

Amy Harwood

Amy works in her home studio by the sea with her two bunnies, Charlie and Daisy. I find inspiration in nature, animals and pop culture.

Southampton, United Kingdom

F1cf3da84689b508f3c0760843a0164f0187fbf7

Louise Millar

I am passionate about design. Hard-working, imaginative and love to create beautiful books

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy