Close this message

Hayley Steed

Hayley Steed - Editor

London, United Kingdom

Assistant at a leading UK agency with experience in 5 others working editorially on commercial fiction

Overview

I'm work at Madeleine Milburn Literary Agency, assisting Madeleine Milburn and working closely with her clients as well as working editorially and coordinating film, TV, audio and digital rights.

I have a First Class English Degree from Loughborough University and have previously worked as a proofreader and in a number of leading UK literary agencies as well as a bespoke PR company working on fiction and non-fiction books of all genres.

I read and edit in a number of genres and particularly enjoy crime/thrillers, YA and science-fiction though I am experienced in editing a wide range of commercial fiction. I love to work with an author to make their book the best it can be.

Services
Languages
English (UK) English (US)
Fiction
Crime & Mystery Dystopian Horror Inspirational Literature Mashups Science Fiction Thriller Women's Fiction Young Adult & Teen

Work experience

Agent's Assistant

Madeleine Milburn Literary Agency
July, 2016 – Present (over 1 year)

I've worked for over a year now at Madeleine Milburn, assisting on Madeleine's clients but also offering editorial advice, reports and working on early submissions. I also coordinate film, TV and digital for the agency.

We mainly work on commercial fiction, with authors including Fiona Barton, C.L. Taylor and Gail Honeyman who are all Sunday Times bestsellers.

Publicity Assistant

EDPR
May, 2015 – July, 2016 (about 1 year)

Books Dept. Assistant

Curtis Brown
March, 2015 – May, 2015 (2 months)

I assisted the books department at Curtis Brown, including various admin tasks, but mostly readers reports and early editorial letters for clients.

Intern

5 Leading Literary Agencies
October, 2014 – March, 2015 (5 months)

Interned at Toby Eady, Ed Victor, Hardman and Swainson, Mulcahy Associates and Darley Anderson where I worked editorially on manuscripts and assisted the team.

I also interned at DK, Random House Children's and Biteback.

Freelance Proofreader

Independent publisher
August, 2014 – October, 2015 (about 1 year)

I worked as a freelance proofreader for over a year, on several manuscripts, picking up errors in the process of production.

Portfolio (10 selected works)

Crowner and Justice (The Chris Tyroll Mystery Series Book 5)

Barrie Roberts

Chris Tyroll is a busy litigation lawyer in the West Midlands. He'd like to have long lunches, play golf and holiday in the Seychelles, but he puts up with early starts, no lunches and late nights. One morning three clients come to him with totally different problems. The first, an Employment Tribunal case against British Defence Systems, looks complicated. BDS manufactures a seek-and-destroy ... read more

Chris Tyroll is a busy litigation lawyer in the West Midlands. He'd like to have long lunches, play golf and holiday in the Seychelles, but he puts up with early starts, no lunches and late nights. One morning three clients come to him with totally different problems. The first, an Employment Tribunal case against British Defence Systems, looks complicated. BDS manufactures a seek-and-destroy ... read more

The Gathering Wolves

Elizabeth Darrell

Russia 1919.At the height of the Russian Revolution thousands of White Russians are fleeing the horror of Red Moscow. Former enemies became friends, old allies became hostile.One of the main routes of escape is the railway which heads north through hundreds of miles of arctic forest. British engineer Paul Anderson takes command of a remote Russian station with orders to repair the damaged brid... read more

Russia 1919.At the height of the Russian Revolution thousands of White Russians are fleeing the horror of Red Moscow. Former enemies became friends, old allies became hostile.One of the main routes of escape is the railway which heads north through hundreds of miles of arctic forest. British engineer Paul Anderson takes command of a remote Russian station with orders to repair the damaged brid... read more

Hunter Killer

Harry McCallion

A man, alone and exhausted, with a deep gash on his temple, has a bullet wound that has robbed him of his memory.He learns his name is Fraser and within moments, he realises he is being relentlessly hunted by an unknown number of trained, armed men.He doesn’t know why he’s running or who he is fighting against but within moments of coming to, he has killed the first of his attackers.Already, h... read more

A man, alone and exhausted, with a deep gash on his temple, has a bullet wound that has robbed him of his memory.He learns his name is Fraser and within moments, he realises he is being relentlessly hunted by an unknown number of trained, armed men.He doesn’t know why he’s running or who he is fighting against but within moments of coming to, he has killed the first of his attackers.Already, h... read more

Double Kill

Harry McCallion

Belfast’s Shankhill Road: In the darkness he waited, knowing she would come… Kane is not just a run-of-the-mill IRA gangster. He is the organization’s main hit man — a cold, ruthless loner. He is also something else even more terrifying…a suspected killer of women. Seductive young women who happen to be Protestant.Sergeant Nevin Brown has more than one crime to deal with: there’s the brutal IR... read more

Belfast’s Shankhill Road: In the darkness he waited, knowing she would come… Kane is not just a run-of-the-mill IRA gangster. He is the organization’s main hit man — a cold, ruthless loner. He is also something else even more terrifying…a suspected killer of women. Seductive young women who happen to be Protestant.Sergeant Nevin Brown has more than one crime to deal with: there’s the brutal IR... read more

The Trade

Christopher Nicole

The year is 1893.James Martingell is a self-made explorer, hunter and prospector, and few men know war-torn Southern Africa better than he does. He also sells guns to whoever can afford them. Offered a fortune to deliver a huge stock of weapons to would-be Boer rebels in the Transvaal, he believes he is about to be a rich man. Instead, he finds himself facing betrayal, imprisonment, open warfa... read more

The year is 1893.James Martingell is a self-made explorer, hunter and prospector, and few men know war-torn Southern Africa better than he does. He also sells guns to whoever can afford them. Offered a fortune to deliver a huge stock of weapons to would-be Boer rebels in the Transvaal, he believes he is about to be a rich man. Instead, he finds himself facing betrayal, imprisonment, open warfa... read more

After You

Jojo Moyes

Lou Clark has lots of questions. Like how it is she's ended up working in an airport bar, spending every shift watching other people jet off to new places. Or why the flat she's owned for a year still doesn't feel like home. Whether her close-knit family can forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago. And will she ever get over the love of her life. What Lou does know for certain is that... read more

Lou Clark has lots of questions. Like how it is she's ended up working in an airport bar, spending every shift watching other people jet off to new places. Or why the flat she's owned for a year still doesn't feel like home. Whether her close-knit family can forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago. And will she ever get over the love of her life. What Lou does know for certain is that... read more

Shot Through the Heart: DI Grace Fisher 2

Isabelle Grey

The second DI Grace Fisher thriller from screenwriter and novelist Isabelle Grey, for fans of Lynda La Plante's Prime Suspect and Sarah Hilary. 'Full of well-handled forensics and the brooding atmosphere of the Essex coast, this is an impressive second episode in a very promising series' Mail on SundayWhen a lone shooter claims the lives of five people on Christmas Day before turning the gun o... read more

The second DI Grace Fisher thriller from screenwriter and novelist Isabelle Grey, for fans of Lynda La Plante's Prime Suspect and Sarah Hilary. 'Full of well-handled forensics and the brooding atmosphere of the Essex coast, this is an impressive second episode in a very promising series' Mail on SundayWhen a lone shooter claims the lives of five people on Christmas Day before turning the gun o... read more

The Bridge of a Hundred Dragons

Elizabeth Darrell

Shanghai, 1927. Major Mark Rawlings is sent to Shanghai to investigate the collapse of an isolated railway bridge. From the moment Alexandra Mostyn, aspiring painter and emancipated Bright Young Thing of 1920s Shanghai society, literally bumps into Major Rawlings, she starts to learn what it is to suffer. Mark is haunted by terrible memories of the Russian Civil War and of the beautiful woman ... read more

Shanghai, 1927. Major Mark Rawlings is sent to Shanghai to investigate the collapse of an isolated railway bridge. From the moment Alexandra Mostyn, aspiring painter and emancipated Bright Young Thing of 1920s Shanghai society, literally bumps into Major Rawlings, she starts to learn what it is to suffer. Mark is haunted by terrible memories of the Russian Civil War and of the beautiful woman ... read more

I Am Watching You

Teresa Driscoll

What would it take to make you intervene? When Ella Longfield overhears two attractive young men flirting with teenage girls on a train, she thinks nothing of it—until she realises they are fresh out of prison and her maternal instinct is put on high alert. But just as she’s decided to call for help, something stops her. The next day, she wakes up to the news that one of the girls—beautiful, g... read more

What would it take to make you intervene? When Ella Longfield overhears two attractive young men flirting with teenage girls on a train, she thinks nothing of it—until she realises they are fresh out of prison and her maternal instinct is put on high alert. But just as she’s decided to call for help, something stops her. The next day, she wakes up to the news that one of the girls—beautiful, g... read more

The Chalk Man: A Novel

C. J. Tudor

The must-read thriller of 2018, this riveting and relentlessly compelling psychological suspense debut will keep readers guessing right up to the shocking endingIn 1986, Eddie and his friends are just kids on the verge of adolescence. They spend their days biking around their sleepy little English village and looking for any taste of excitement they can get. The chalk men are their secret code... read more

The must-read thriller of 2018, this riveting and relentlessly compelling psychological suspense debut will keep readers guessing right up to the shocking endingIn 1986, Eddie and his friends are just kids on the verge of adolescence. They spend their days biking around their sleepy little English village and looking for any taste of excitement they can get. The chalk men are their secret code... read more

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 700+ profiles.

737bab126b4762ee81e6e038f405a0e96ed2efa1

Andrew Lowe

Sharp-eyed but friendly copy editor with over fifteen years' editorial experience working with various publishers and genres.

London, United Kingdom

8b565732467ece33b85ec090cf629025d711619d

Dan Varrette

My editing helps authors develop polished writing, including personal finance, literary fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and poetry.

Toronto, Canada

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy