Emma Cole

Emma Cole – Editor

Editor and proofreader with 15 years experience at Wiley, ECW, Harlequin, etc. Currently focused on romance and mystery.

Overview

I started reading at the age of three, and started pointing out mistakes shortly after. Eventually, I realized that I could turn my love of polishing other people’s writing into a career. I have provided copy editing and proofreading services to a number of publishers, including Wiley, ECW Press, and House of Anansi. I have worked on textbooks, novels, nonfiction, and academic publications, and have enjoyed helping authors in each of these fields reach their full potential, and I'd love to do the same for you. I love working on books where authors have a distinct voice, and I like to keep that voice present first and foremost.


I have an eagle eye and can offer a quick turnaround for your projects, while still making sure they are as polished as possible. Always available for a more hands on approach if you prefer frequent check-ins, or I can work on your project with minimal questions if you'd rather just get everything back in one big chunk.

Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs Entertainment Humanities & Social Sciences
Fiction
Contemporary Romance Mystery & Crime Psychological Thriller Romantic Suspense
Languages
English (CAN) English (UK) English (US)

Work experience

Self-employed

Jul, 2007 — Present

I primarily provide copy editing and proofreading services. As a copy editor, I ensure copy is consistent, creating or working with existing style sheets. I fact check and offer suggestions to enhance readability and clarity in manuscripts. As a proofreader, I correct grammar and spelling, and flag typesetting issues that may cause confusion for readers. I make sure to retain as much of the author's style as possible; my job is to improve the author's text, so that their books can resonate better with their readers.

Key Porter Books

Aug, 2006 — Jul, 2007 (11 months)

I was responsible for several tasks, including: proofreading manuscripts and printer proofs; copy editing manuscripts; coordinating award submissions for Key Porter titles; applying for CIP information for new titles; sitting in on production and editorial meetings to stay up-to-date on the schedule for the upcoming season; reviewing submissions and making recommendations for acceptance or rejection.

Portfolio

As 1995 dawns in the North of Ireland, Belfast is a city of army patrols, bombed-out buildings, and “peace walls” segregating one community from the other. But the IRA has called a ceasefire. So, it’s as good a time as any for Monty Collins and Father Brennan ... read more
Unwilling to endure a culture of silence and submission, and disowned by her family, Nadia leaves her native Tunisia in 1984 amidst deadly violence, chaos, and rioting brought on by rising food costs, eventually emigrating to Canada to begin her life.More than... read more
Final Fire: A Memoir

Michael Mitchell

See the world through a photographer’s eyesFinal Fire is a companion piece to Mitchell’s much-praised 2004 memoir, The Molly Fire, a finalist for both the Writers’ Trust Drainie-Taylor Biography Prize and the Governor General’s Award for Non-fiction, and a Glo... read more
A fascinating, non-partisan exploration of an incendiary region Say the word “Israel” today and it sparks images of walls and rockets and a bloody conflict without end. Yet for decades, the symbol of the Jewish State was the noble pioneer draining the swamps a... read more
The final installment of the critically acclaimed memoir seriesDone Hunting brings Martin Hunter’s memoirs to a close, sharing adventures and observations from his sixth to ninth decades. With descriptions of theatrical productions he’s written and directed, i... read more
An inspiring book for readers of Sheryl Sandberg and Arlene Dickinson Lisa Lisson’s life seemed perfect: she had married her high school sweetheart, applied her marketing degree to a position at FedEx Express Canada, and risen to become a vice president (and w... read more
The Substitute

Nicole Lundrigan

The Substitute
**FROM THE MILLION-COPY SCANDINAVIAN BESTSELLER** ON A HOT SUMMER'S DAY. A car speeds through the streets of Helsingborg. When it reaches the harbour, the driver keeps going, straight into the cold, dark sea. A BODY IN THE WATER. But it is not a suicide. The a... read more
"An atmospheric and complicated saga of crimes that criss-cross the narrow strait between Sweden and Denmark...great cop characters...and some imaginatively grisly perps."― Sunday TimesWould you kill for the one you love? That's the question that international... read more
With six decades in show business, legendary director Ted Kotcheff looks back on his life Born to immigrant parents and raised in the slums of Toronto during the Depression, Ted Kotcheff learned storytelling on the streets before taking a stagehand job at CBC ... read more
The memoir of the creator of Doctor Who and a legend in British and Canadian TV and filmA major influence on the BBC and independent television in Britain in the 1960s, as well as on CBC and the National Film Board in Canada, Sydney Newman acted as head of dra... read more

Emma has 5 reviews

Professionalism

Quality

Value

Responsiveness

Denise D.

Denise D.

Sep, 2023

I can highly recommend her. She did a great job on a final proofread for my book. I will you her defiantly again!
Emma C.
Thank you so much for your kind words, Denise! It was a pleasure working with you.
Gilbert David L.

Gilbert David L.

Sep, 2022

It was a pleasure working with Emma. Upfront communication and early delivery--worth every dollar. I'll definitively consider her for future work.
Gregor R.

Gregor R.

Jul, 2022

Very friendly, efficient, on time and willing to take into account my ideas.
Robert S.

Robert S.

May, 2022

Quick turnaround and excellent work. Would definitely use again for future projects.
Paul B.

Paul B.

Nov, 2018

Emma was a pleasure to work with. She was responsive to messages, timely with updates and got the project completed ahead of schedule. Her questions, suggestions and edits were intelligent and made the manuscript she worked on flow in a way that I found cohesive and polished. She was patient with questions and honest with answers. When the next volume in the story comes around, she is the onl...
Read more

Professionals similar to Emma

Get a range of offers by requesting quotes from multiple professionals.

Carmen Smith

Carmen S.

NEA speaker. Published author. I've put NYTimes bestselling authors and Amazon #1 bestsellers through my self-help and memoir boot camp.

Austin, Texas, USA

100% reply rate

View profile
Ashley Strosnider

Ashley S.

A supportive and collaborative editorial professional with 10+ years’ experience across print and digital—and a total bookworm.

Jersey City, NJ, USA

98% reply rate

View profile
Tom Vowler

Tom V.

I am an editor, a prize-winning author and creative writing lecturer with more than ten years' experience.

Plymouth, United Kingdom

100% reply rate

View profile