Elana Seplow-Jolley

Elana Seplow-Jolley - Editor

New York City, NY, USA

Independent developmental and structural editor. Ghostwriting and manuscript assessment available upon request.

Request a quote
Verified identity

Overview

Elana Seplow is an independence book editor with a decade of experience in the publishing world. She is currently an editor at Ballantine Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House. Previously, she has worked at Other Press, Regina Ryan Books, MZPR, as well as Elwin Street Books in London. She has edited literary fiction, thrillers, literature in translation, women’s fiction, memoir, and narrative nonfiction.
Languages
English (US)
Non-Fiction
Health & wellbeing
Inspirational
Parenting & Families
Self-help & Self-improvement
Fiction
Mystery & Crime
Romance
Thriller & Suspense
Women's Fiction

Work experience

Editorial Assistant

Penguin Random House
August, 2014 – Present (about 6 years)

Managing Editor

Other Press
September, 2013 – July, 2014 (10 months)

Senior Associate

Regina Ryan Books
August, 2012 – September, 2013 (about 1 year)

Portfolio (11 selected works)

The Day We Met: A Novel

Rowan Coleman

For fans of Jojo Moyes’s Me Before You comes a beautifully written, heartwarming novel about mothers and daughters, husbands and wives. The Day We Met asks: Can you love someone you don’t remember falling in love with? A gorgeous husband, two beautiful children, a job she loves—Claire’s got it all. And then some. But lately, her mother hovers more than a helicopter, her husband, Greg, seems li... read more

For fans of Jojo Moyes’s Me Before You comes a beautifully written, heartwarming novel about mothers and daughters, husbands and wives. The Day We Met asks: Can you love someone you don’t remember falling in love with? A gorgeous husband, two beautiful children, a job she loves—Claire’s got it all. And then some. But lately, her mother hovers more than a helicopter, her husband, Greg, seems li... read more

As Night Falls: A Novel

Jenny Milchman

From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family—a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.Sandy Tremont has always tried to give her family everything. But, as the sky darkens over the Adirondacks and a heavy snowfall looms, an esc... read more

From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family—a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.Sandy Tremont has always tried to give her family everything. But, as the sky darkens over the Adirondacks and a heavy snowfall looms, an esc... read more

The Guest Cottage: A Novel

Nancy Thayer

New York Times bestselling author Nancy Thayer whisks readers back to the beloved island of Nantucket in this delightful novel about two single parents who accidentally rent the same summer house—and must soon decide where their hearts truly lie.Sensible thirty-six-year-old Sophie Anderson has always known what to do. She knows her role in life: supportive wife of a successful architect and ca... read more

New York Times bestselling author Nancy Thayer whisks readers back to the beloved island of Nantucket in this delightful novel about two single parents who accidentally rent the same summer house—and must soon decide where their hearts truly lie.Sensible thirty-six-year-old Sophie Anderson has always known what to do. She knows her role in life: supportive wife of a successful architect and ca... read more

Ever After: A Nantucket Brides Novel (Nantucket Brides Trilogy)

Jude Deveraux

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Jude Deveraux’s eagerly awaited third novel in her blockbuster Nantucket Brides trilogy continues the spellbinding saga of the Montgomery-Taggerts, set on an island steeped in beauty and unforgettable romance. Life is anything but perfect for Hallie Hartley, a young physical therapist who has given up nearly everything—even her love life—for her beautiful blonde ste... read more

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Jude Deveraux’s eagerly awaited third novel in her blockbuster Nantucket Brides trilogy continues the spellbinding saga of the Montgomery-Taggerts, set on an island steeped in beauty and unforgettable romance. Life is anything but perfect for Hallie Hartley, a young physical therapist who has given up nearly everything—even her love life—for her beautiful blonde ste... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Elizabeth Zack

Former Senior Editor at Ballantine Books; specializes in content editing of non-fiction (self-help, parenting, wellbeing) & fiction.

Morristown, United States

Teja Watson

A lifetime of reading, editing, and writing books—this work is my dream. It would be an honor to help you get your book ready for the world.

Arcata, CA, USA

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy