DiscoverMiddle Grade Fantasy

The Slug Queen Chronicles

By

Must read 🏆

This book is true magic! Characters you'll fall in love with and a story that makes you want to read just another chapter, and another!

Synopsis

"Audacious as it is inventive--and a mite horrific, to boot... Thomas' dark fantasyland is a page-turner... A highly original, well-illustrated fairy tale/horror story." - Kirkus Reviews

She never believed in fairies... until one set its sights on her little brother. Now, she must risk everything to get him back.

On her twelfth birthday, Cricket Kane uncovers a chilling secret - tooth fairies have stopped collecting single teeth and have resorted to kidnapping children instead. When her brother is taken, the fairy leaves a changeling and a toxic black dust in his place. The dust soon infects the rest of her family, but to her surprise, she's immune!

With the guidance of a mysterious cat, Cricket follows the fairy to a magical land where legendary creatures are real. When Santa himself takes her under his wing, Cricket learns she's the only one who can harness the power of the dust to rescue her brother and the other missing children. But doing so might cost her life.

Can she summon the courage and strength to save her family and herself?

Find out now in this middle-grade fantasy for fans of Nevermoor and The Land of Stories!

I love discovering children's books as an adult that I just instantly know would've been a favorite if I'd read it as a child! The Slug Queen is one of those rare finds.


I picked this book because I wanted something light and easy to read, but little did I know that it would take me on a whirlwind of an adventure where I would meet so many magical and wonderful (some even slightly terrifying) characters.


Cricket Kane is the kind of adventurous girl that you can't help but love instantly. She takes the reader by its hand and in a flash, you are whisked away to a land of magical beings and a female Santa. What's not to love?


The dynamic between the characters is as magical and wonderful as they are, and the whole world that S. Thomas has created comes to life so easy and it makes for a story that's really hard to put down. She's built a world that's filled with darkness, hope, love, terrifying creatures, magic, and quirkiness. I found myself sitting up at night, just needing to need another chapter, and one more, and one more.


Not only is this a magical, wonderful and fast-paced story, it also comes with gorgeous illustrations.


I have nothing but praise and love for this wonderful story. It's one that I instantly fell in love with, and one that I will add to my library, reread, and read to my children.


I would highly recommend The Slug Queen to any reader who loves magical worlds and beings. Let Cricket take you on an adventure you won't forget!


Thank you, S. Thomas, for sharing this magical story with the world.

Reviewed by

Writer, YouTuber, traveler, bookworm, and all around creative soul.

Synopsis

"Audacious as it is inventive--and a mite horrific, to boot... Thomas' dark fantasyland is a page-turner... A highly original, well-illustrated fairy tale/horror story." - Kirkus Reviews

She never believed in fairies... until one set its sights on her little brother. Now, she must risk everything to get him back.

On her twelfth birthday, Cricket Kane uncovers a chilling secret - tooth fairies have stopped collecting single teeth and have resorted to kidnapping children instead. When her brother is taken, the fairy leaves a changeling and a toxic black dust in his place. The dust soon infects the rest of her family, but to her surprise, she's immune!

With the guidance of a mysterious cat, Cricket follows the fairy to a magical land where legendary creatures are real. When Santa himself takes her under his wing, Cricket learns she's the only one who can harness the power of the dust to rescue her brother and the other missing children. But doing so might cost her life.

Can she summon the courage and strength to save her family and herself?

Find out now in this middle-grade fantasy for fans of Nevermoor and The Land of Stories!

About the author

With her infectious energy and a penchant for the peculiar, no one has ever accused S. O. Thomas of being mundane. She lives on the edge of a haunted forest in a small town in Massachusetts with her husband, their two cats, and a real life gremlin. view profile

Published on March 28, 2020

70000 words

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Reviewed by

Enjoyed this review?

Get early access to fresh indie books and help decide on the bestselling stories of tomorrow. Create your free account today.

or

Or sign up with an email address

Create your account

Or sign up with your social account