Louise Davies

Louise Davies - Editor

London, UK

Twenty years' experience editing Sunday Times bestsellers - commercial fiction & crime. I work with top publishers, authors and agents

Request a quote

Overview


Having worked at Little, Brown and Pan Macmillan, I'm now a freelance fiction editor with over twenty years' experience of working with bestselling authors on a variety of commercial fiction including saga, romantic comedy, historical fiction and crime thrillers.

I love working with authors to help them achieve the book they want to write, taking them from first edit to finished book. Some of the bestselling authors I've worked with include Lynda La Plante, Lucy Diamond, Karen Swan, Lucinda Riley, as well as saga writers Jean Fullerton and Elaine Everest.

Whether you need a complete structural edit, where I offer suggestions on structure, characterisation and plot, or a more in-depth line edit before publication or agent submission, I offer a personalised approach to help you tailored to your needs. I also work with authors who already have an agent and/or publisher but want a final edit before submitting it to a commissioning editor.

As well as editorial support, I can offer up-to-date advice on market trends, what publishers are looking for and how to navigate the publishing process from submission letter through to cover copy.

Collaborative, supportive and offering practical advice, I look forward to working with you on your book!
Languages
English (UK)
English (US)
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Humor & Comedy
Literary Fiction
Mystery & Crime
Romance
Women's Fiction

Work experience

Freelance Editor

Self-employed
May, 2019 – Present (almost 2 years)

A freelance fiction editor with over twenty years' experience of working with bestselling authors on a variety of commercial fiction including saga, romantic comedy, historical fiction and crime thriller. I've worked at Little, Brown and most recently as senior editor at Pan Macmillan.

Senior Editor

Pan Macmillan
May, 2018 – May, 2019 (about 1 year)

Senior editor working with brand authors including Lucy Diamond, Karen Swan, Lucinda Riley and with saga author Elaine Everest.

Editorial Manager

Quick Reads
May, 2015 – Present (almost 6 years)

Working with The Reading Agency to publish six original titles by bestselling and high-profile authors as part of an adult literacy programme. Authors include Jenny Colgan, Rowan Coleman, Dorothy Koomson and Mark Billingham.

Editor/Commissioning editor

Little, Brown
May, 2005 – August, 2008 (over 3 years)

Portfolio (10 selected works)

Something to Tell You

Lucy Diamond

Warm and witty, no one writes about love, family and friendship like Lucy Diamond, the Sunday Times bestelling author of The Secrets of Happiness and On a Beautiful Day. The perfect read for fans of Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell. ‘A new Lucy Diamond book is one of the happiest highlights of my calendar’ – Katie Fforde, bestselling author of A Country Escape'Multi-layered, compelling and beauti... read more

Warm and witty, no one writes about love, family and friendship like Lucy Diamond, the Sunday Times bestelling author of The Secrets of Happiness and On a Beautiful Day. The perfect read for fans of Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell. ‘A new Lucy Diamond book is one of the happiest highlights of my calendar’ – Katie Fforde, bestselling author of A Country Escape'Multi-layered, compelling and beauti... read more

The Spanish Promise

Karen Swan

The Spanish Promise is a sizzling summer novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Karen Swan, set in the vibrant streets of Madrid, for fans of Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore. One of Spain’s richest men is dying. But as he prepares his estate, his family is shocked to discover he is making plans to give away his wealth to a young woman they have never even heard of. Who is she and what... read more

The Spanish Promise is a sizzling summer novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Karen Swan, set in the vibrant streets of Madrid, for fans of Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore. One of Spain’s richest men is dying. But as he prepares his estate, his family is shocked to discover he is making plans to give away his wealth to a young woman they have never even heard of. Who is she and what... read more

The Butterfly Room

Lucinda Riley

Full of her trademark mix of unforgettable characters and heart-breaking secrets, The Butterfly Room is a spellbinding, multi-generational story from Sunday Times bestseller Lucinda Riley.Posy Montague is approaching her seventieth birthday. Still living in her beautiful family home, Admiral House, set in the glorious Suffolk countryside where she spent her own idyllic childhood catching butte... read more

Full of her trademark mix of unforgettable characters and heart-breaking secrets, The Butterfly Room is a spellbinding, multi-generational story from Sunday Times bestseller Lucinda Riley.Posy Montague is approaching her seventieth birthday. Still living in her beautiful family home, Admiral House, set in the glorious Suffolk countryside where she spent her own idyllic childhood catching butte... read more

Finding Hope at Hillside Farm

Rachael Lucas

Finding Hope at Hillside Farm is a heartwarming tale of loss, love and new beginnings by Rachael Lucas.'A heartwarming and enchanting read that reminds us of the value of patience, kindness and above all love' - Cathy Bramley'Wonderfully warm, brave and wise, it’s a gentle story that steals your heart and reaffirms your hope in life' - Miranda Dickinson'A gorgeous grown-up romance where loss c... read more

Finding Hope at Hillside Farm is a heartwarming tale of loss, love and new beginnings by Rachael Lucas.'A heartwarming and enchanting read that reminds us of the value of patience, kindness and above all love' - Cathy Bramley'Wonderfully warm, brave and wise, it’s a gentle story that steals your heart and reaffirms your hope in life' - Miranda Dickinson'A gorgeous grown-up romance where loss c... read more

The Teashop Girls

Elaine Everest

The Teashop Girls is a warm and moving tale of friendship and love in wartime, by the bestselling author of the Woolworths series, Elaine Everest.It is early 1940 and World War Two has already taken a hold on the country. Rose Neville works as a Lyon’s Teashop Nippy on the Kent coast alongside her childhood friends, the ambitious Lily and Katie, whose fiancé is about to be posted overseas in t... read more

The Teashop Girls is a warm and moving tale of friendship and love in wartime, by the bestselling author of the Woolworths series, Elaine Everest.It is early 1940 and World War Two has already taken a hold on the country. Rose Neville works as a Lyon’s Teashop Nippy on the Kent coast alongside her childhood friends, the ambitious Lily and Katie, whose fiancé is about to be posted overseas in t... read more

A Ration Book Childhood

Jean Fullerton

In the darkest days of the Blitz, family is more important than ever.With her family struggling amidst the nightly bombing raids in London's East End, Ida Brogan is doing her very best to keep their spirits up. The Blitz has hit the Brogans hard, and rationing is more challenging than ever, but they are doing all they can to help the war effort. When Ida's oldest friend Ellen returns to town, ... read more

In the darkest days of the Blitz, family is more important than ever.With her family struggling amidst the nightly bombing raids in London's East End, Ida Brogan is doing her very best to keep their spirits up. The Blitz has hit the Brogans hard, and rationing is more challenging than ever, but they are doing all they can to help the war effort. When Ida's oldest friend Ellen returns to town, ... read more

Tennison

Lynda La Plante

From the creator of the award-winning ITV series Prime Suspect, starring Helen Mirren, comes the fascinating back story of the iconic DCI Jane Tennison. In 1973 Jane Tennison, aged 22, leaves the Metropolitan Police Training Academy to be placed on probationary exercise in Hackney where criminality thrives. We witness her struggle to cope in a male-dominated, chauvinistic environment, learning... read more

From the creator of the award-winning ITV series Prime Suspect, starring Helen Mirren, comes the fascinating back story of the iconic DCI Jane Tennison. In 1973 Jane Tennison, aged 22, leaves the Metropolitan Police Training Academy to be placed on probationary exercise in Hackney where criminality thrives. We witness her struggle to cope in a male-dominated, chauvinistic environment, learning... read more

Murder Mile

Lynda La Plante

Prime Suspect meets Ashes to Ashes as we see Jane Tennison starting out on her police career . . .The fourth in the Sunday Times bestselling Jane Tennison thrillers, MURDER MILE is set at the height of the 'Winter of Discontent'. Can Jane Tennison uncover a serial killer? February, 1979, 'The Winter of Discontent'. Economic chaos has led to widespread strikes across Britain.Jane Tennison, now ... read more

Prime Suspect meets Ashes to Ashes as we see Jane Tennison starting out on her police career . . .The fourth in the Sunday Times bestselling Jane Tennison thrillers, MURDER MILE is set at the height of the 'Winter of Discontent'. Can Jane Tennison uncover a serial killer? February, 1979, 'The Winter of Discontent'. Economic chaos has led to widespread strikes across Britain.Jane Tennison, now ... read more

Dilly's Lass

Rosie Goodwin

Years ago Dilly made the devastating decision to give her baby daughter to wealthy local family, the Farthings. She is still living with the consequences of her choice when the daughter she gave away all those years ago turns up on Dilly's doorstep, with a baby girl in tow, begging for help. Olivia has a secret she only feels safe telling Dilly.Sworn to secrecy, Dilly agrees to help, delighted... read more

Years ago Dilly made the devastating decision to give her baby daughter to wealthy local family, the Farthings. She is still living with the consequences of her choice when the daughter she gave away all those years ago turns up on Dilly's doorstep, with a baby girl in tow, begging for help. Olivia has a secret she only feels safe telling Dilly.Sworn to secrecy, Dilly agrees to help, delighted... read more

Just a Girl, Standing in Front of a Boy

Lucy-Anne Holmes

*Winner of the Romantic Comedy Novel of the Year RNA Award 2015*'My love story may not be the sort you read about in books or see in films . . . Love stories have glorious highs and ghastly lows. But when it comes to my own life, I'd have to say, you can keep your fabulous highs and I'll happily steer clear of the terrible lows.'After a rocky start in life, Jenny Taylor, 27, star receptionist ... read more

*Winner of the Romantic Comedy Novel of the Year RNA Award 2015*'My love story may not be the sort you read about in books or see in films . . . Love stories have glorious highs and ghastly lows. But when it comes to my own life, I'd have to say, you can keep your fabulous highs and I'll happily steer clear of the terrible lows.'After a rocky start in life, Jenny Taylor, 27, star receptionist ... read more

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 1000+ profiles.

Laura Dragonette

Copy editor and proofreader with years of experience working with fiction, memoir, and academic/technical texts.

New York, NY, USA

Karen Hoffman

Proofreading services from a book publishing industry professional with 15+ years of experience in Big Five houses.

New York, United States

To view 1,000+ more profiles, Join Reedsy