Max Swahn

Max Swahn

Pittsburgh, PA

Max Swahn is a 2018 Engineering graduate from the University of Pittsburgh. He values problem solving and has strong communication skills.

Follow author

About the author

Max Swahn attended the University of Pittsburgh, Swanson School of Engineering, where he studied Industrial Engineering with a concentration in Engineering Management. He graduated in April 2018.

Given the nuances of the engineering industry, Max spent a lot of his time in school gaining first-hand experience through internships, clubs and jobs - both on and off campus. Swahn worked as a researcher in the nanoproduct lab at the University of Pittsburgh. Max also began as a Project Manager for the Students Consulting for Nonprofit Organizations club on campus. Excelling in the role, he was promoted to Vice President of Recruitment and Development. In this role, Swahn honed his communication and management skills.

Outside of his work in engineering, Max enjoys weightlifting. In college he worked as a brand ambassador for Bodybuilding.com and ranked in the top tier of campus ambassadors all over the United States. Max Swahn continues to focus on bodybuilding and a healthy lifestyle.
Languages
English
Non-Fiction
Engineering
Engineering & Materials Science
Health & wellbeing
Photography
Travel
Writing & Publishing

Latest blog posts from Wordpress - Max Swahn

Thinking About an Engineering Degree? Which Branch is Right for You? | Max Swahn

Although there are a handful of well-known core engineering branches such as Industrial, Mechanical, Civil, Electrical, Chemical and Computer, there are scores more of other branches and sub-branches.  Regardless of which discipline you choose as an undergraduate, you will likely obtain a Bachelor of Science in Engineering (BSE). Each University has its own offering of degrees, programs, specialties and curriculums.  To be able to determine what is right for you, you must first understand what the different branches entail; the industry trends and needs, salary and growth potential, and most importantly – what interests you.  Earning an Engineering degree is not an easy task.  Typically taking 4-5 years of intensive coursework in math, science and technology; it will be less overwhelming if you choose a field that genuinely excites you.


As a 2018 graduate of  The University of Pittsburgh, Swanson School of Engineering, I will touch on some of the core options offered within their undergraduate Engineering program.  This is far from a complete list, but it will give you a good idea of the differences of the varied branches.  Further research will be needed to help you narrow down which University and program best suits your individual passions.


Industrial Engineering


As stated on the University’s website, “Industrial engineering (IE) is about choices – it is the engineering discipline that offers the most wide-ranging array of opportunities in terms of employment, and it is distinguished by its flexibility. While other engineering disciplines tend to apply skills to very specific areas, Industrial Engineers may be found working everywhere: from traditional manufacturing companies to airlines, from distribution companies to financial institutions, from major medical establishments to consulting companies, from high-tech corporations to companies in the food industry.”


Industrial engineering may also overlap with numerous other sub-disciplines such as: operations researchsystems engineeringmanufacturing engineeringproduction engineeringsupply chain engineeringmanagement sciencemanagement engineeringfinancial engineeringergonomics or human factors engineeringsafety engineering, or others, depending on the viewpoint or motives of the user.


Mechanical


According to Wikipedia, “Mechanical engineering is the discipline that applies engineering physics, engineering mathematics, and materials science principles to design, analyze, manufacture, and maintain mechanical systems.”


It is one of the oldest and broadest types of engineering.  Mechanical Engineers work in fields including engines and control systems for automobiles and aircraft, medical devices, consumer products like computers and athletic equipment, and electrical power plants.


If you like fiddling with mechanical devices, this could be the field for you!


Civil


Civil engineering is the professional practice of designing and developing infrastructure projects. This can be on a huge scale, such as the development of nationwide transport systems or water supply networks, or on a smaller scale, such as the development of single roads or buildings. Civil engineers conceive, design, build, supervise, operate, construct, and maintain infrastructure projects and systems in the public and private sector, including roads, buildings, airports, tunnels, dams, bridges, and systems for water supply and sewage treatment.


Often times, a Civil engineer will specialize in Structural engineering.  Drones are one of the latest technologies used by Structural engineers.


Electrical


Electrical engineers focus on applications of electrical power and learn to design devices and systems used in applications including communications, power generation and distribution, computers, sensing and measurement and automatic control.  Employment opportunities include research and development, system design, testing, manufacturing, and sales, while others continue to graduate studies.


As an electrical engineer, you could specialize in power generation and supply, communications and media, computer systems and robotic systems.


Chemical


This type of engineering concerns the use of chemical and biological processes to produce useful materials or substances. It’s a multidisciplinary subject, combining natural and experimental sciences (such as chemistry and physics), along with life sciences (such as biology, microbiology and biochemistry), plus mathematics and economics.


Chemical engineers work in diverse sectors including petroleum, polymer, biochemistry, the environment, and even food industries.


Computer


Computer engineering concerns the design and prototyping of computing hardware and software. This subject merges electrical engineering with computer_science.


You may find yourself as a software developer or a computer engineer with this brand of engineering!


Regardless of which path you pursue, to be successful you will no doubt need to possess strong analytical, technical, communication, critical thinking and leadership skills.  Although an Engineering degree sounds ‘singular’, the range of opportunity is endless.  From processes to chemistry, computers to mechanics, electrical to infrastructure – engineering runs the gamut.


If any of these branches intrigue you, dig deeper.  The perfect fit is out there.

Continue reading...


Jul 16, 2020 14:44

Portfolio (3 selected works)

Alumni Association: A Novel

Michael Rudolph

The acclaimed author of Noble Chase lays down the law with an irresistible tale of buried secrets and gloves-off legal combat at a secretive military school—for readers of John Grisham, Greg Iles, and Linda Fairstein. When young attorney Beth Swahn agrees to represent a former military academy facing demolition, what begins as a simple real estate litigation soon becomes a dangerously real thr... read more

The acclaimed author of Noble Chase lays down the law with an irresistible tale of buried secrets and gloves-off legal combat at a secretive military school—for readers of John Grisham, Greg Iles, and Linda Fairstein. When young attorney Beth Swahn agrees to represent a former military academy facing demolition, what begins as a simple real estate litigation soon becomes a dangerously real thr... read more

Noble Chase: A Novel

Michael Rudolph

Perfect for fans of John Grisham, Greg Iles, and Linda Fairstein—this action-packed legal thriller debut races from the gleaming canyons of New York City to the hurricane-lashed waters of the Caribbean. Michael Rudolph’s Noble Chase combines a smart, determined heroine and a storm of stunning surprises in a pulse-pounding morality tale of international intrigue that delivers suspense right up ... read more

Perfect for fans of John Grisham, Greg Iles, and Linda Fairstein—this action-packed legal thriller debut races from the gleaming canyons of New York City to the hurricane-lashed waters of the Caribbean. Michael Rudolph’s Noble Chase combines a smart, determined heroine and a storm of stunning surprises in a pulse-pounding morality tale of international intrigue that delivers suspense right up ... read more

Ryder: An Ayesha Ryder Novel

Nick Pengelley

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY LIBRARY JOURNALAyesha Ryder bears the scars of strife in the Middle East. Now her past is catching up to her as she races to unravel a mystery that spans centuries—and threatens to change the course of history. As Israeli and Palestinian leaders prepare to make a joint announcement at the Tower of London, an influential scholar is tortured and murdere... read more

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY LIBRARY JOURNALAyesha Ryder bears the scars of strife in the Middle East. Now her past is catching up to her as she races to unravel a mystery that spans centuries—and threatens to change the course of history. As Israeli and Palestinian leaders prepare to make a joint announcement at the Tower of London, an influential scholar is tortured and murdere... read more