Close this message

Alaina Waagner

Alaina Waagner - Marketer

New York, NY, United States

Experienced and creative publishing professional with 5+ years of experience specializing in digital ads, social media, and email marketing

Overview

I am an experienced marketing professional with more than five years of experience in the book publishing industry, across a variety of Big 5 houses, imprints and genres. I have created and assisted on campaigns for New York Times bestselling and award-winning authors, including, but not limited to, Adam Johnson, Paul Kalanithi, Jeffrey Eugenides, Salman Rushdie, Curtis Sittenfeld, Joyce Maynard, Piper Kerman, Elizabeth Berg, and more. I have expertise and experience in campaign strategy, digital and traditional advertising, content marketing, partnerships, social media and community management, direct-to-consumer outreach, as well as budget management.

Services
Non-Fiction
Biographies & Memoirs History Politics & Current Affairs True Crime
Fiction
Historical Fiction Literature Short Story Thriller Women's Fiction

Certifications

  • Digital Marketing
  • Google AdWords

Work experience

Marketing Manager

Penguin Random House
September, 2014 – Present (about 3 years)

Random House, Spiegel & Grau, The Dial Press, and Modern Library imprints (Sept. 2014 - July 2016)
Crown, Hogarth, Tim Duggan Books, and Broadway Books imprints (Aug. 2016 - present)

Marketing Coordinator

HarperCollins Publishers
December, 2012 – September, 2014 (almost 2 years)

William Morrow imprint

Marketing Assistant

Macmillan
December, 2011 – November, 2012 (11 months)

Picador imprint

Portfolio (10 selected works)

Eligible: A modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice

Curtis Sittenfeld

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Wonderfully tender and hilariously funny, Eligible tackles gender, class, courtship, and family as Curtis Sittenfeld reaffirms herself as one of the most dazzling authors writing today.NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR AND THE TIMES (UK) This version of the Bennet family—and Mr. Darcy—is one that you have and haven’t met before: Liz is a magazine writer... read more

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Wonderfully tender and hilariously funny, Eligible tackles gender, class, courtship, and family as Curtis Sittenfeld reaffirms herself as one of the most dazzling authors writing today.NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR AND THE TIMES (UK) This version of the Bennet family—and Mr. Darcy—is one that you have and haven’t met before: Liz is a magazine writer... read more

Fortune Smiles: Stories

Adam Johnson

The National Book Award–winning story collection from the author of The Orphan Master’s Son offers something rare in fiction: a new way of looking at the world. “MASTERFUL.”—The Washington Post “ENTRANCING.”—O: The Oprah Magazine “PERCEPTIVE AND BRAVE.”—The New York Times Throughout these six stories, Pulitzer Prize winner Adam Johnson delves deep into love and loss, natural disasters, the inf... read more

The National Book Award–winning story collection from the author of The Orphan Master’s Son offers something rare in fiction: a new way of looking at the world. “MASTERFUL.”—The Washington Post “ENTRANCING.”—O: The Oprah Magazine “PERCEPTIVE AND BRAVE.”—The New York Times Throughout these six stories, Pulitzer Prize winner Adam Johnson delves deep into love and loss, natural disasters, the inf... read more

The Marriage Plot: A Novel

Jeffrey Eugenides

A National Book Critics Circle Award FinalistNamed a Best Book of the Year byThe New York Times Book Review • NPR • The New Republic • Salon • The Seattle Times • Houston Chronicle • The Miami Herald • Publisher's Weekly "Remind[s] us with uncommon understanding what it is to be young and idealistic, in pursuit of true love, and in love with books and ideas."―Michiko Kakutani, The New York Tim... read more

A National Book Critics Circle Award FinalistNamed a Best Book of the Year byThe New York Times Book Review • NPR • The New Republic • Salon • The Seattle Times • Houston Chronicle • The Miami Herald • Publisher's Weekly "Remind[s] us with uncommon understanding what it is to be young and idealistic, in pursuit of true love, and in love with books and ideas."―Michiko Kakutani, The New York Tim... read more

The Return (Pulitzer Prize Winner): Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between

Hisham Matar

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE • The acclaimed memoir about fathers and sons, a legacy of loss, and, ultimately, healing—one of The New York Times Book Review’s ten best books of the year, winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award, and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Michiko Kakutani, The New York... read more

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE • The acclaimed memoir about fathers and sons, a legacy of loss, and, ultimately, healing—one of The New York Times Book Review’s ten best books of the year, winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award, and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Michiko Kakutani, The New York... read more

My Life on the Road

Gloria Steinem

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | ONE OF O: THE OPRAH MAGAZINE’S TEN FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Harper’s Bazaar • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • Publishers Weekly Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and inspiring leader—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of her life as a traveler, a listener, and a catalyst for change. Includ... read more

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | ONE OF O: THE OPRAH MAGAZINE’S TEN FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Harper’s Bazaar • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • Publishers Weekly Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and inspiring leader—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of her life as a traveler, a listener, and a catalyst for change. Includ... read more

When Breath Becomes Air

Paul Kalanithi

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST • THE NEW YORK TIMES • NPRBOOKS FOR A BE... read more

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST • THE NEW YORK TIMES • NPRBOOKS FOR A BE... read more

Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women's Prison

Piper Kerman

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES • #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER With a career, a boyfriend, and a loving family, Piper Kerman barely resembles the reckless young woman who delivered a suitcase of drug money ten years before. But that past has caught up with her. Convicted and sentenced to fifteen months at the infamous federal correctional facility in Danbury, Connecticut, the well-heeled Smith C... read more

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES • #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER With a career, a boyfriend, and a loving family, Piper Kerman barely resembles the reckless young woman who delivered a suitcase of drug money ten years before. But that past has caught up with her. Convicted and sentenced to fifteen months at the infamous federal correctional facility in Danbury, Connecticut, the well-heeled Smith C... read more

The Fifth Petal: A Novel

Brunonia Barry

Could a witch hunt happen again in Salem?For readers of Deborah Harkness's A Discovery of Witches, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader Brunonia Barry returns to Salem with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder.When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween night, Salem's chief of police, John Rafferty, wonders if there is a connect... read more

Could a witch hunt happen again in Salem?For readers of Deborah Harkness's A Discovery of Witches, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader Brunonia Barry returns to Salem with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder.When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween night, Salem's chief of police, John Rafferty, wonders if there is a connect... read more

The Dream Lover: A Novel

Elizabeth Berg

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY USA TODAY • Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert. At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a lovel... read more

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY USA TODAY • Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert. At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a lovel... read more

The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip

George Saunders

From the bestselling author of Tenth of December comes a splendid new edition of his acclaimed collaboration with the illustrator behind The Stinky Cheese Man and James and the Giant Peach! Featuring fifty-two haunting and hilarious images, The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip is a modern fable for people of all ages that touches on the power of kindness, generosity, compassion, and community. ... read more

From the bestselling author of Tenth of December comes a splendid new edition of his acclaimed collaboration with the illustrator behind The Stinky Cheese Man and James and the Giant Peach! Featuring fifty-two haunting and hilarious images, The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip is a modern fable for people of all ages that touches on the power of kindness, generosity, compassion, and community. ... read more

Share this profile :)

It's time to tell the world about this Reedsy profile!

Explore the Reedsy Community

Reedsy is a community of top publishing professionals. Join Reedsy today to browse 700+ profiles.

73f4702aa690247c00800e00b3beb25ea4d6f935

Nick Courage

Author, Experienced Book Marketer, Web Developer

New York, United States

8da5c854500e376debdb9e62585e7d45ad645923

Julia Forster

UK based book marketer, publicist, project manager and bursary panellist who specialises in fiction, poetry & writer development.

Machynlleth, United Kingdom

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

To view 700+ more profiles, Join Reedsy

Sign up to read the full review

and view 700+ profiles.